I can be Miss Independent!

13 25
Avatar for renren16
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Experiences, Life
facebook.com

Are you lucky as a child? How much attention did you get from the people around you? Do you think you are worthy enough to have it?

Good day to one and all. Actually, I was not so sure about this article of mine today, because honestly, I'm out of idea or topic to be written to. And later on, I just decided to share this story to you.

A lot of people thinking of me as the luckiest girl in town. Why? Because as what I have already mentioned in my previous articles, I am an only child. They said to me, "Oh dear, you're pretty much lucky to be an only child." Well, as for me, honestly I would proudly say, "Yes, I am." And its because of this reasons;

-I get all their attention.

-I get what I want.

-I don't need to think about what to eat every meal.

-I don't need to worry about my laundry.

-I don't do the household chores. (My mama did all of it) Señorita frog!😂

-Most of all, I felt like I live as a princess, but I am not born with a silver spoon in my mouth tho, yet my parents give all their best to me.

You might say I just a lazy, spoiled-brat, hmm..be it!

Actually, I'm not. My parents just did all of that because of their love and care for me. Sometimes they became over protective too. And why would I say so?

They treated me like a princess because they want me to be like them. They show it to me, for me to do exactly the same when soon enough I become a parent too. But even though I live like that, they we're still given me the right scolding if I did something terrible or bad. I grew up in their influenced. They gave me pieces of advice on how to be stand up on my own foot. I will never forget this phrases,

"Nak, learn to be Independent."

"We we're not always at your side if you need us."

"Try to earn money for your own."

It's quit sad tho, but "Reality hurts!" People come and go. I already put it in mind. And so because I am not hard-headed girl, I tried to be like one. I started to cook rice and simple dishes when I was in my sixth grade, I do the laundry, I wash the dishes, clean my room, and a lot more of household chores. Lucky me! I have this ever supportive parents to help and guide me along the way. Eventually, I, little by little learn to do it on my own. And those teachings they provided me over and over again, really helped me a lot, especially when I went to college.

facebook.com

COLLEGE DAYS

Its unintentionally planned, but it was indeed one of the saddest moments I had in my entire life. I need to depart from them to pursue a degree in college and I need to be an independent as much as possible, because they were not with me all the time, at that time. So, in my first week in college, it was very unusual for me to be with other people, new people around me actually. And I need to adopt the new environment I have. I felt like, I just want to go home and be with my parents. I cried a lot at night, and asked, "Oh Lord, please help me, guide me all the way." 😭

When I go to sleep I had an alarm clock with me so that I could wake up early. I cooked for myself. I cleaned my bed on my own. I ironed my uniform on my own. I prepared my shoes on my own. I prepared my own water to take a bath before going to school. I used to be a money spender, but I need to save some. At first, its very unusual for me, I used to feel and live like a princess but at that time, I no longer felt that I am. But soon enough, I get to used to it. And thanks to my parents, because they taught me before about becoming an independent one. Until I finished my studies and happily, I went back home again. I am with them again. But, I am not coming back to be dependent again, I now learned to stand for myself, yet they were still at my side guiding me all throughout.

It takes time and effort to manage yourself. Especially when you were at the stage of transition. "Change is constant," as what they say. But anyways, at the end of the day, you should just go with flow. Life is full of roller coaster rides tho! 😉

Lead Image :qoutesgram.com

Thank you for spending your time with me. I hope you enjoyed it.☺️

Special thanks to @Princessbusayo , for being my new virtual friend here on read.cash.☺️

To my sponsors @dziefem , @Janz , @Bloghound , @bmjc98 , and @Zeshan3333, thank you for all your support in my work and journey on this platform..😍❤️

Have a blessed day my read.cash fam!😇❤️

9
$ 1.49
$ 0.75 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
+ 6
Avatar for renren16
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Experiences, Life

Comments

First time I became independent was when I got my first job. It's in Makati and I lived in the province so I had to look for a space to rent. I was lucky enough to find a cheap place that was close to where I work, as IN CLOSE! It's just a 5 minute walk. And it was a whole house which the owners left because they are living abroad. I rented a bed and shared a room with another co worker.

Although I know how to do the household chores, that's when I was really forced to do everything by myself. It was fun and it was eye-opening.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good for you then, to have your job.. As for me, right now, I don't but applying for it, waiting for the evaluation of documents and the EPT exam. Hoping to get 70 points and be given an Item to Teach eventually. SKL☺️

And it is really fun, especially when you have done silly things while into it, Like you forgot to plug in the rice cooker, or you mixed the white shirt with the colored one in washing.. Hahah😅

But later on, I learned how to do it right.

Thanks for dropping by and for the upvote..☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh cool. A teacher :) good luck with that! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you..☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow! You made my day seeing this and making a virtual friend. Do you know what? There are some children who feels they can be dependent on their parents and thereby entrusting all into their cares but most parents do not have time to lecture their kids on being independent just as your parent did.

We just have to be independent because they will never be there always for us. Look at me today, I stand on my own. I learn to do things on my own and to crown it all, I now have responsibilities that sometimes I imagined how could I have grown so well to have all these around me. Lol

But this is life, you can't escape from them and they will continue to live with you. Accept them now!

Thank God you were guided by your parent and you understand that they will not be there as before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you my friend..☺️ Indeed, I was then like that before, but after all this years that my parents change that perspective that I have before, it made me someone who can just rely on her own.

Have a nice day my friend.🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not an only child yet I can somehow relate coz i'm the youngest in the family and I was really spoiled, but never a brat. Lol

My brother in law is the one who taught me all the household chores that I should know. Glad that he's here to show me some tough love coz I if it's just my family, I don't think i'll even need to lift a finger at home. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes, we tend to become like one, but eventually as the day gone by, we also realized it and learn to deal with it..😊

Good for you then that you had your brother-in-law to taught you all of it. There's always a big difference in between tho. But, we also have different perspectives.☺️

Thanks for the comment..🤗❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. As we grow up we also learn things on our own. We may be spoiled but we can be independent. :) and btw, you're welcome. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Way to go, gurl. Your parents must be very proud of you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have to do a lot more to make it.. But I surely make it then.😁 Hopefully.😌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm an independent woman too ga. Hihi. Happy to know that your parents taught you to be. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, gladly langga. I am very happy that I have them in my life.🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago