Accepting Criticisms

2 21
Avatar for rene.neverfound
1 year ago

How does a 17 year old girl handle corrections or criticism?

Growing up in an asian family, criticisms and corrections are like your coffee every morning. If it is not in a daily basis—it happens oftentimes. It could be sweet and mild sometimes, but it could be the same as bitter as that black coffee, with an aftertaste that will keep you anxious and awake.

Corrections are fuels for my system to keep at pace and working. And in my 17 years of existence, these keep me on striving to be better to correct all the things I do that are either not enough or wrong.

I accept corrections wholeheartedly: the more one can recommend or suggest things that would my life better, the better. Even if sometimes corrections could be fatal and blunt, accepting and reflecting on it would not cost you and make you less of a person.

I believe that being not egocentric would help a lot for an individual's growth.

Criticisms, on the other hand, have two types. So, I behave accordingly on the two.

Constructive criticisms helped me to improve as a writer, a student, and molded me to a fine woman in general.

I would genuinely accept those and reflect. Because we all need criticisms to help us see ourselves and the things we are making.

Meanwhile, destructive criticisms are different. Everything explains from the word itself. In my perspective, violence do not solve anything, it only worsen things. I get their reasons, "to wake them up with harsh truth and to make them work better", but I do not understand people giving destructive criticisms to one when being nice would not hurt. We all feel differently, but we feel hurt and get discourage all the same.

And for me, for my 17 years in an asian household, destructive criticisms ironically came from the mouth of those whom you called "relatives" and could be sometimes from the "family". It is just that the more they threw destructive ones, the high I build my walls.

The perspective is a compass and an ally when it comes to criticisms and corrections, the more you accept, the more you show courage, tough you are to do not let the negative pull you down, and positive you are on things—the stronger you get to keep going and the better you will be.


Renésmee Neverfound ㅤ

An aspirant writer and artist. To be found is my greatest dream and never be lost. Hi, I am @rene.neverfound, you can call me Rene or Esme if you like. I specialized in prose-poetry and poetry, and now I am trying new things and writing styles. I love learning! I am a 17-year-old girl living life in the Philippines. I am a total bookworm and a grade 11 student with an undying passion for writing and art. Having many dreams is a funny mess because I get confused most of time with regard to what course should I take in college. I want to be an astrologist, a doctor, a journalist, an author, a professional artist, an archaeologist, and many more I forgot to remember while writing this.

ㅤㅤ

4
$ 0.90
$ 0.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @tpkidkai
$ 0.01 from @Wrinkle
Avatar for rene.neverfound
1 year ago

Comments

I am openly honest that at that age, I didn't accept such critics, lol. I hate people correcting me though I know I am more uppermost than them, not until college, hehe. I began to get that critics are better than no correction at all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I strongly agree with you, either constructive or destructive criticism, they both have an effect on us, either positively or negatively. The best we should do is to observe the type of criticism and act accordingly

$ 0.00
1 year ago