Some Memories of our long lost 'Tortoise' 🐢🐢🐢 that we had as a Pet.

5 29
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

Tortoise as a pet?

Moreover, I would not say they are my favorite animal. To be honest, they freak and sometimes gross me out. But for a little bit of time, they also look cute. Maybe this is the feeling that led me to buy Indian Star Tortoise and keep it as a pet!

Sounds crazy, I know. But I had a friend who owned a snake as a pet. He used to keep that in a glass jar. Can you believe that? So our pet was not as wired as him, I guess.

Anyway...Moving to tell you how it started...

Image Source

Back in 2007 when my younger brother finished his college study, I asked him what he wants as a gift. I said don't ask for anything usual, you can get it from Mom and Dad or from other relatives; rather ask for something that no one will buy for you. And he asked for a Tortoise!

And I bought it for him!

We had no idea how to take care of it, even where can I buy one. I went to the biggest pet market and found a little cute one. He was so small, used to fit in my palm. At that time, I used to live in the capital and my family used to live in another city so I had to take care of the Tortoise for 2/3 days before I can see my family.

No need to say, I used to gross out about that little creature. I'm too scared about snakes and when that Tortoise raises his neck it always reminded me of snakes. But guess what? It didn't take me even a day to fall in love with the Tortoise. I happily took care of him.

We used to keep it in an aquarium. I carried him the whole 350km road trip to my brother!

My parents had no idea what two siblings planned. When I brought the Tortoise home, they were pretty surprised and freaked out like how could it be a pet. And again, it didn't take them long to fall in love with our little pet.

My brother named him TinTin.

Image Source

             This photo is almost similar to what we had.

Tintin used to roam around freely in our home. Sometimes we had to search for where he is actually because he was so small. But as he was very slow so even if he walks for the whole day, he couldn't go farther.

My mom used to feed him happily, my brother used to pet him in his palm while watching TV or doing random things.

TinTin was with us for one and a half years as I can remember. He became part of our family.

You may be wondering where he is now?

I wish I have a certain answer to this question.

One day, like any other day TinTin was roaming around the house. Our back porch door was open unintentionally (we never used to keep the open because Tintin will go outside the home) and we believe, he went outside. We searched for him the whole day, day after day but couldn't find him.

It was an Indian Star Tortoise so it was only like 5 inches long. We guessed maybe a crow/eagle took him. Or maybe he found the drainage outway of our home and flashed himself away. Whatever happened to him it made us so sad. We looked for him many many days in the hope of finding him all of a sudden. Even after a few months whenever we used to go to the back porch, we unintentionally used to look for him.

This is quite a memory, no?

TinTin if you are alive somewhere somehow, I pray for you. And if you didn't make it, I know you are resting in peace.



7
$ 2.89
$ 2.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Adrielle1214
$ 0.05 from @ZehraSky
+ 3
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

We have a pet tortoise too that roam around the house. Sadly he passed away already. I am so sorry about what happened to you pet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to hear about your pet. Don't worry, I hope he is doing fine in his afterlife (if there are any for animals).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is true that the slow of Kachp teaches us a lot. The results of patience are always good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, I'm so sad hearing about tintin .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray for him. Thanks :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago