Homeschooling and Raising a Bilingual Kid.

9 32
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

Maybe it will sound like an overstatement but I love schooling my son. He shall go to pre-school by now but because of this pandemic, we are homeschooling. Actively involving myself with his educational process is also helping me in many ways.

But that's another thing, I might talk about it in detail another day. What I am about to say today is about our educational system and raising a bilingual kid in this.

I don't like our education system, especially primary-level education. It's too bookish. Kids have to learn all the letters, numbers, words, and everything even general knowledge, animals, vegetables; anything and everything in pre-school. When they are in first grade, we put them learning so many unnecessary bookish things, it makes me sad.

We fail to differentiate between what we can memorize and what data we can collect easily.

Image Source

Homeschooling is not a thing/option here. As it's not part of our culture so I wouldn't say, I know much about it too.

So what should be the alternative then?

For me, I'm not stressing at all about my son's education. He is learning gradually and will continue this. What matters most to me is making sure he is enjoying it.

And I'm proud to say that he does enjoy his educational process. And as he is a 'monitor time free' child so it's easy for me to connect him with educational materials.

But another problem is we are bilingual, schools prefer to teach two languages (English and Bangla) at a time/side by side. So for a kid, it's hard to take everything at once.

And Bangla is not an easy language, from writing to spelling, from reading to pronunciation; everything is hard in our native language. Also, bilingual kids mix up both languages very often.

What to do then?

As we talk in Bangla so my son is getting curious about reading some Bangla books/story books available around. But it's hard to make him understand the reading process. So I'm teaching him the basics and giving him some basic writing lessons, so he can memorize and understand the process better.

He is progressing too fast and we are hopeful in a few months he can read and write in Bangla.

But then, what will happen to his English learning?

Maybe I need to teach him that also/side by side. He can write the alphabet. But I'm more into teaching him reading. It will introduce him to a new world of reading books.

My son is 4.7 years now. I feel it's necessary to make it clear that I never give him any pressure to read/write. As he is a monitor-time-free child so it's easy for me to attach him with books. And that's what helps me most.

To date, learning is a fun game for him.

Lead Image link

4
$ 1.32
$ 1.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.05 from @LucyStephanie
+ 1
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I wonder at which age preschool is. Is that kindergarten or?

We have no kindergarten since at least 30 years. I agree they are forced into learning at a very young age but the older they get the worse schools/education is. The new generations will be raised stupidity and are brainwashed. It's all part of the game.

I hope homeschooling, preferable online schooling (homework sent) will start again. It would be better for us with the winter coming up. My guess is it is the new normal. From November/December we have lockdowns till May.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The education system is different in different countries/cultures. Mostly preschool means the kindergarten ages. I don't prefer homeschooling after an age. My son is almost growing up alone, he needs to be socialized. I understand your point. Now, we can prefer to do what we think is best for them. BTW sorry, I didn't notice this comment but now. I know it's too late. But better late than never. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe it is better to put him in school so you won't have any worries abt him learning your language. Hehe. Maybe there's some kind of homeschooling group in your country. Perhaps you can search in social media and connect with other parents.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have searched. As I have said, it's not in our culture so I didn't find anything helpful but some learning sheets. I know kids can learn easily and they will gradually. Nothing to worry about. But seeing my son struggle to capture two languages side by side makes me feel bad. It's mostly because of the education system. Before teaching them letters and spelling, we can make them more confident with speaking. Thanks for your suggestion.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well one thing for sure, its easy for kids that age to learn language. YOu can search it, they learn language easy than the older ones or adults.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it's true. Kids can learn language easily than us. But our education system makes it difficult for them as they are taught to know the letters and writing first than being fluent in talking. Here, you will find many who can write or understand English but can't talk even a sentence. That's where I'm trying to improve him. Thanks for your words. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, that's why they go home. U and ur son cn practise English at home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is good... Taking time to teach your son is cool as you'll getting joy as you see him assimilate or understand easily.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's so true. This helps me a lot to understand him and what will be easy for him to capture.

$ 0.00
2 years ago