A Hundred Year Old Banyan Tree!

13 21
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

Back then, people used to identify villages by the huge trees; there were huge white figs and Banyan trees everywhere. But things are different now, obviously. Many are down by natural phenomena, many are cut down.

When I got to know this tree is still standing I decided to take a look. It's been 19 years since I meet this tree!

This banyan is standing in the middle of the school campus. Or more precisely, the school campus builds around the tree. It used to be so big that it covered the whole campus. I came to know many of the branches are cut down because they were broken by the storm. Now what we are seeing is 1/3 of the tree.

The most attractive part of banyan trees is the roots they send down to smother their hosts and grow into stout. I can remember, I played swing with the roots. Now they look very small because the huge ones are not around anymore.

Last week, while visiting my aunt's house we went there. We sat on the grass ground, and hang out there for a while.

Now, let me introduce the best part of the tree.

Look how the stout became the branch-supporting pillars that resemble new tree trunks.

The last time when I checked, it was not the same. After many years, these roots spout new leaves as well and resemble a tree. It is quite surprising to see the surviving techniques of the banyan.

The shade of the tree, and the fig that it provides to the birds are enough contributions to the world. Moreover, this banyan became a social place for the locals. During the afternoon many come to play and hang out here.

It was such a wonderful experience there. People say that this tree is more than 100 years old. I don't know if I could get the chance to visit this place again soon. But these memories will be vivid forever.

8
$ 0.03
$ 0.01 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.01 from @Adrielle1214
$ 0.01 from @DrPsycho
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

That tree must be really old. It's so big! I'm just afraid to stay there at night coz in our culture spirits could be living in there

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe, people believe the same here too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Diba nakakatakot ahahhahaha para syang lagusan into another dimension

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😇😇😊😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

NGL, only watched in movies never in a real life but wish to see it in real life!!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good to hear I presented something new.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow the banyan tree is so old but still attractive. I love the way the branches formed a pillar has you said. It so beautiful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Isn't it? I live discovering these old trees.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love how the branches bend and make it and arch.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's great, no? Banyan is always great.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's my first time saw that kind of tree my friend. In my whole life what I observe every campuses or school I've visited I always saw a big trees.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know, banyan is kinda very southeast Asian tree. Good to hear I presented something new to you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah okay my friend. Yes my friend thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago