Traveling to a not so distant memory.

10 31
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Hello dear friends of Read. Cash! How was your day??

Me? I've had a hard long day.

Rehearsal was moved to much earlier and that screwed up my whole schedule for today. To add to this wonderful mixture, my fibro is really getting on my nerves, the pain is everywhere and I'm getting pissed off by it. But hey, this girl's gotta work, this girl's gotta eat.

So I left early to my rehearsal, meet up some friends to go all together, and upon arrival, we were the first ones there, and guess what? The rehearsal started late, very late. Man, if I would decide to be late the rehearsal probably had started on time, but nooo.

Did I tell you what are we playing? I think not.

We are having a concert tomorrow for the National Guard, as they are celebrating the festivities of the Virgin of Chiquinquirá, its Patron Saint, and November it's her month.

I just love Chiquinquirá, she is also the Patron Saint of all zulians, I mean, the people who are from Zulia state in Venezuela. And my mom's name is María Chiquinquirá, so all more reason to love her.

Zulia it's also the birthplace of Gaita. It's a musical genre typical of Venezuela and mostly played at Christmas time. Tomorrow our concert has some Gaitas and Carols, or what we call Aguinaldos, cheerful songs about the holidays and the Baby Jesus.

As we were going through the repertoire, the conductor said to the percussionists were they had to change to Gaita Rhythm.

Ta tucu Ta tucu Ta tucu Ta tucu....

I was having a hard time rehearsing because I wanted to dance and sing the songs, but I got lost on my part and missed some important entries haha gladly I wasn't the only one doing that, and the conductor is a very patient man and he was also enjoying himself, so no harm no foul.

Then, I remembered last year, we also had a Christmas Concert and the Gaita Drum was left in my house and I kept it for more than a month. This allowed my sister and me to finally learn to Ta Tucu Ta tucu ourselves.

The madness!!

I didn't get the special drumsticks for that kind of instrument, so I got a hacksaw, cut a broomstick, and made some myself. For a moment there my mom was mad because she thought that I had used the new one haha. But no, it was an old one, and I made two sets, one for me and one for my sister. We studied with some youtube videos and practiced whenever we could.

By Christmas Eve, we tried our new skill, practice didn't pay off too well, although my baby nephew was thrilled and wanted to learn too. Then my brother-in-law asked us to play something, so my sister assigned me the drum and she got a cheese grater to play the Monay, I can't explain to you what it is, but it's an instrument from the percussion family.

Well, later I learned that mom recorded our little performance and three months ago I decided to share it on Hive, but for that, I had to upload it on YouTube first. There are only three videos on my channel, hopefully, there will be no more, but since i's there, I'll share that one with you now.

I look terrible!

I was still recovering from Covid and was carrying extra weight due to all the steroids I had on my body. Also, I didn't feel like brushing my hair or anything.

Hahaha I have no shame showing you this, we had fun, which is the most important thing, and who knows, maybe this year I'll get that drum againg and get better! One can only dream haha.

And you? Do you have fun Christmas-related anecdotes? I'd love to hear them!!



Check my wonderful sponsors and their awesome content!

Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty


This is 100% Original Content.

The images are both mine and from Unsplash and provided by this site.



See you next time!

✨✨Blessings✨✨

@rebeysa85

November 25th, 2021.

9
$ 4.13
$ 4.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Belozoriana
$ 0.03 from @Porwest
+ 3
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

We have a very long months celebration in the Philippines starts from ber month -September up to December.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's cool!! I just love Christmas ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Designing and creating your drumsticks requires a lot of love for hands-on experimentation. It is commendable. You are the VERY FEW creators on this platform with a real-world and verifiable digital identity. I have followed the YouTube channel. Upload more videos.

I appreciate for clicking my auto-flagged comments!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I really needed those drumsticks hahaha something hard enough to make the right sound on the drums. Thank you for your words, dear friend. Don't worry, I appreciate your comments and inputs!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wonderful family mini orchestra)))) do not worry so much about the appearance is not the main thing in a person.I really laughed when I read about the broom🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha yes! The little one later joined the group permanently, he was so excited! My looks are one of the flaws I still have to work on, for me, I never look good so I tend to feel bad about it, not always, but often. Haha you should have seen my mom's face when she saw me cutting the broomstick lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our christmas here in the Philippines starts at September. Yes, we have a very long celebration. I believe because majority is a Roman Catholic. Christmas is one of the biggest celebration in our country.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Over here as well! In fact, when you hear the first gaita song on the radio you know December is coming haha that can be in August or mid-September.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't worry, you look just fine. Take care of yourself. I hope the festival/concert will be going great.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you! I feel terrible today, but with high spirit to get the job done ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago