My first Christmas with a Chronic Illness

14 27
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Hello everyone!!

Two days of December have come and gone and we are already half through the third one.

Time really flies, and I'm guessing that I'm not the only one who is trying to manage things in preparation for the festivities.

Like my dear friend @CoquiCoin and @Probinsyano I have an upcoming birthday celebration, well two actually: my mom's, which I next weekend and my nephew's which was yesterday but they are celebrating it here next week.

So, between that, Christmas decorations and work, I'm already drained of almost all my energy. Which makes me remember the first Christmas I celebrated after my Fibro diagnosis...

After a year of doctors, tests and wrong diagnosis, I finally got the answer for the questions I had. My pain and tiredness was caused by a Chronic Illness called Fibromyalgia.

Fun fact: I tapped Fibromyalgia on the images searcher of this site and all I got was Cannabis pictures 😅🤫

I had a hard time copping with the news that I have an incurable illness and that my life would not be the same anymore.

Until a year earlier I was a very energetic woman, I could keep up with long hours of work, household chores, partying, playing sports, helping others with their stuff, and suddenly that was not the case anymore. I couldn't do any of those things because the pain was too great, the fatigue and exhaustion was overbearing for me an for those around me who didn't understand what I was going through.

My family had a hard time too, they didn't understand it either specially because of this: I looked fine. Nothing on my appearance suggested that I was ill, so they had to take my word for it, an it was hard, because, how can you believe on something that you can't see?

Of course that made things even harder because I couldn't proof to them what I had, or so I thought...

I decided to do all the things I wanted despite the pain I felt. The medication had me nauseous but in pain but I didn't said anything.

I painted, went to get groceries, sat 4 to 6 hours on rehearsals for the Christmas Concert and kept my complaints for myself.

They thought that I was fine, that Fibro was no biggie and that all I had to do was keep living my life as always, with my medication of course. By the time Christmas Eve came I was way over the top but I put on my poker face and pretended for a while.

My brother George got me a tall glass of Coca-cola while he got a beer, an we sat on the porch and started talking. Out of the blue, he sees me with his eyes wide open and asks:

Are you alright?!

Yes, I'm fine, why?

He then started screaming for my mom to come, and at that point I didn't realized what was happening. As it turns out my right harm had started to get bigger and it was trembling. I was used to that but they hadn't seen it before because I kept it hidden from them, so it was a shock for all that saw what happened, and more shocking was my coolness about it.

After they calmed down and I broke two glasses because of the trembling, they asked me why I was so calmed, so I explained that it was a frequent occurrence and it was a body reaction to excessive pain and fatigue.

Why didn't you say anything? My brother asked.

Because when I did you looked me like I was exaggerating so I kept it hidden from all. But it has happened before an surely will happen again.

From that moment on, all realized that it was serious and that I wasn't the same anymore, and significant changes were made to ensure that I wasn't overworking my body, and because of that, we ended up having a very Merry Christmas.

After twelve years, I've learned to manage my condition even without meds, and try to keep a steady but quiet pace so that won't happen again.

Of course, easy said that done because my fibro has evolved and that's not the only thing that happens, but now, my family is well aware that I'm not jocking or exaggerating, and became my support sistem, my rock.

This Christmas it's just my mom an my little sister, but between the three of us we'll paint (already started) and decorate and cook delicious meals for us and for those who want to join us as well.

And as I've doing snice the first one, I'll do my best to keep up and make sure everyone has a very Merry Christmas 💕💕



Check out my wonderful sponsors and their awesome content!

Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty


This is 100% Original Content.

The images are from Unsplash and provided by this site.



See you next time.

✨✨ Blessings ✨✨

@rebeysa85

December 3rth, 2021.

9
$ 4.57
$ 4.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.03 from @TengoLoTodo
+ 2
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

With all that experience, you know how to control it, you started the decorations of your house, how nice. We haven't done anything yet, let's see if next week we can do it. Happy day to you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I hope to finish this week. Happy day Frank!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sorry about the experience and fibro but at the same time I'm glad you have learned to deal with it. Take it slowly and enjoy the birthday celebrations and don't stress yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I'm doing my best, yesterday I had a concert, a college ceremony of some sort, and we had to play Venezuela twenty seven times! Not a very good stress reliever haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What is the most important thing in life? Well, of course, health. So let it be in life to the full, let it be enough to fulfill the most daring desires and achieve important goals. I sincerely wish you that in the first place. Well, and the rest will come. If you have health, you will have strength and other conditions for a happy life. Be strong and take care of yourself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True, without health it's hard to accomplish our goals, although there are many many people that have very full lives despite having a health condition, those are the first ones I look up to, people without limbs, or blind, or deaf, or unable to speak, or with conditions worst than mine and became succesful and are happy with themselves.

That being said, I know I have to take it one step at a time, to, as you said, have strength and other conditions to live a happy life. I get strength from all of you guys, so thank you 💕💕

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know the feeling of people not believing you only too well. Big hugs Rebeca.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is hard, and it still happens to this day, nobody knows what it's like to have your own body as your enemy. But life goes on hehe so, cheers to that!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes life goes on Rebeca, and we keep fighting , power to us 😁😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your brother looking at your twitching for the first time and you breaking glasses are too painful to read. I'm so sorry girl.. even though it doesn't have recovery, am gonna pray that it should be completely controlled and yous should be able to be normal again.. Bless you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It was painful to say the least sis, and that was the start of a dark period in my life even if they as my family did their best to support me and be there for me.

It wasn't until I moved back home when I pulled myself together and became who I am today.

Now those memories are learning experiences that I treasure deeply. God bless you too 💕💕

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Celebrating Christmas with an ailment is quite horrific, as you can't really enjoy the festivities

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Five christmas eves ago I was so bad that my BP dropped to five and I had to spend it in bed resting and avoiding the hospital. It was bad :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago