Food Journal: Second Attempt at the Zebra Cake

7 30
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

My parents always taught me that no matter what we do in life, we must do it right. That motto has been a constant in my personal and professional development because I believe that they're right, I mean, why bother doing something if it isn't done properly?

Of course, I'm not perfect, nobody is, but, the few endeavors I have done, I've tried to get them done proficiently and if from the beginning I see that I won't be able to do so, I don't charge in the quest. Luckily this wasn't the case.

Years ago, when I moved back home, I started a little business, I baked cakes and pastry goods to sell. I worked on a previous order sistem to ensure a minimum loss. I sold mostly to my colleagues in the orchestra and my classmates and teachers in college, and soon, I started to get bigger orders for parties and such.

You can find these in my Facebook Page https://m.facebook.com/rebeca.calderon.549

Sadly, I had to give it up because the crisis over here was getting worse every day, the prices of the ingredients were rising and I had to increase the prices of my products also, to the displeasure of many because there is a bad culture that states that small endeavors such as the one I had, can't be more than that, and so, people prefer to pay top dollar for the same product I offer but less quality but no worries because is coming from a big branch.

Nevertheless, I kept doing stuff at home because I love cooking, I love baking, and especially, I love eating, and in my head remained the dreams of learning new techniques and new recipes to be ready for the time when I start my business again, and the Zebra Cake was on the list of things to learn.

My neighbor loved it!

I have to be honest with y'all, it's literally a piece of cake, you don't need a special recipe or anything, is just a simple vanilla-chocolate batter alternating one with the other, the challenge for me was the setting. Like I said in Joy to you and me, the first one I made was for my neighbor a few days ago, and two things happened, at the time of alternating the vanilla chocolate batter, I noticed that I was doing it wrong and it could come out looking crooked, and two, I didn't see how it came out looking on the inside, if the stripes, in fact, came out crooked.

That's why I decided to make it again, to take a look inside it and of course, taste it which is the best part of all. As I said, the recipe is easy and I'll leave it at the end for you, but rest assured that I'll be doing it again because I'm not satisfied with the result. The taste is awesome, it's not too sweet, it's soft, it melts in the mouth, and with a cup of coffee is just food for the soul, but, the stripes, I can't see the stripes! So, next weekend I'll make it again, the third time is a charm! Take a look!

 

The recipe!

¾ of a cup of butter

¾ of a cup of sugar

1 tbsp. of vanilla

3 egg yolks

1 tsp. Of baking powder

1 tsp. of white vinegar

1 and ¾ cups of cake flour

1 cup of whole milk

4 tbsp. of cocoa powder

4 extra tbsp. of whole milk, just in case.

Procedure:

Mix the vinegar and the baking powder and set aside. Mix the sugar and butter until you get a creamy texture, then add the vanilla and the yolks one at a time. Then add the flour and the milk one bit at a time, then finally the vinegar with the baking powder. Take half of that mixture and place it into another bowl and add the cocoa powder and mix; add milk if necessary.

This is a little rudimentary explanation but bear with me: In a cake pan start with a little bit of the vanilla batter in the center of the pan, then in the middle of the vanilla batter you just put, add a bit of the chocolate batter. Alternate until you have no batter left. Bake in a hot oven at 180º Celsius or 350º Fahrenheit.

No decoration this time, I wasn't after that, maybe next time!

Check out my wonderful sponsors and their awesome content!

Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty

Thanks to all of you, until next time!

✨✨Blessings✨✨

@rebeysa85

Saturday, October 2, 2021

6
$ 1.12
$ 0.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @clixmoney
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
+ 2
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

Amiga , I love a cup of coffee with a piece of cake.... where do you live to visit you... hehehe... that looks simply delicious... and without stripes... jajaja.... greetings

$ 0.00
2 years ago

San Juan de los Morros my friend! You are welcome whenever you want to come hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It looks delicious. And I'll try to make it at home when I'm in the mood to bake. And yep, the stripes are seen, so congrats! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha thank's! It's yummy, today I had it for breakfast with a cup of coffee!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love to have breakfast with cake, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It has a nice view, missing the test, it looks delicious, I have to do it any time, thanks for the recipe. You have very good presentation, I like it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, Frank! Hope the third attempt looks even better haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago