Food Journal: My time in Culinary School

5 22
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Monday, September 20th 2021

Hello people, I'm Back!

This past few days I've been trying to do some research on how to upgrade my content here on Read.Cash, with no luck. Not because there is nothing helpful on the web, is just the electricity thing and the internet thing. On top of that, on Wednesday afternoon, the main National Back was out of service on every platform available, meaning that the people who have accounts there, including me, we were unable to use or move our money, period. Even now, as I'm sitting here writing, I still can't check my bank account or use my money, money that of course, I earned here.

This of course has not brought me down, on the contrary, I am determined to end this day with a new post, a new story, even if it means that I continue on the same format I've been using since I started this journey. So, bear with me and let me tell you my story about The Time I went to Culinary School.

Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty

It was the year 2011: I just move back home with my parents after dealing with a severe deppression due to my illness. My parents didn't object to this at all but stablished two main conditions:

1.- I had to get a J-O-B

2.- I had to get a college degree in ANYTHING

The first one was sort of easy because even though I wasn't trained in anything but music, I could always go back to it and I did and it was a sure thing. The second one was a bit more difficult because I didn't liked any of the career choices the local university had to offer; the only one that I considered when I graduate high school besides music was Criminalistics and Administration, but one was an internship kind of school and I didn't wanted to leave my orchestra and the other wasn't too appealing for me. But, things change and I knew that fibro probably wouldn't allow me to live from it forever so I made the choice of studying before my parents asked me to do it and Administration was the obvious choice.

A funny thing happened though, a month after I moved back, my mom got a call from a friend saying that a Culinary School called The Olive, was opening in our town. My mind was blown because since I was a little girl my other passion was all things related to food and cooking. I could spend hours in front of a TV or on Youtube watching recipes and Food Blogs, it's just too awesome. So I signed up for it, that was it: I was going to be a Chef! Or was I?

So serious...

The inscription process was easy, I submitted some paperwork and paid the initial fee and they gave me a set of knives, a hat, an apron and a white and green Chef's jacket, that was exiting, and when I got home I started to use it right away, like a little kid with a new toy.

This is quite easy

Then it came the first day of school, it was a Saturday since that was the only day the instructor could come to our town because he was from another city. It was a 4-hour class and he gave some basic instructions like how to hold a knife, the different ways to cut a vegetable (brunoise, julienne, dice, chiffonade, etc), what is a mise en place and that we always have to use a chopping board to peel and cut anything.

Wrapping these oily batons was not easy at all

The second Saturday the teacher was a no show and we were left to wait in the sun because nobody came to even open the school. The third Saturday the teacher came, but it was a different one, the first one had quitted! And this one started to give the same content that we had already been taught, and we told him, so instead of teaching us something different, he insisted on the same thing and asked us to bring some ingredients for the next class. Our first recipe! How exciting!It was a type of garnish thingy with potato, carrots, and green onions. Not that exciting after all.

The stuffing was yellow and red bell peppers, carrots, onions, and bacon.

But over the next month, I learned how to debone a chicken and make a Chicken and Pinneaple Roll Up. We also made Pabellóm Criollo and a Venezuelan Bread Cake (that one I already knew how to make). It was fun, and a little bit expensive mostly because we all were under the impression, well, not an impresion, the certainty that the school would cover all those expenses, but hell, we were learning and having fun. Then that teacher left and the new one wanted to start all over again and we of course refused because how many times we would have to learn the same stuff all over again?

My mom's are better haha

Not too convinced he made a quick test to see if in fact, we knew the basics and we all passed. Now we were near the Christmas Holidays and the classes revolved around the typical recipes of the season: Hallacas, Pan de Jamon (Ham Bread), and then, dum dum duuuum: He left!

After 4 months of this I decided to leave also, I wasn't learning as expected and I had already submitted my inscription in the local university, I was going to study Administration after all and that was fine. I did learn some stuff and I got awesome knives and a cool jacket, but what I learned wasn't very different than the stuff I learned watching the Food Channel. That being said, it was a fun experience overall and in the end it all turned out for the best, still got a college degree. I might not be a chef but I still enjoy my time in the kitchen even if it is to do a simple dish like a good traditional Hog Dog, well, two good traditional Hog Dogs...

This content is 100% original but I did a plagiarism test, just in case...

Thank's to my wounderfull sponsors and to all of you beautiful people for reading me!

✨✨Blessings✨✨

4
$ 1.42
$ 1.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.05 from @Just1dood
+ 1
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

What a bad streak those classes, the good thing is that you took the first step for the preparation of dishes on Youtube, I am an expert in that, from shushi in my style (cooked fish, shrimp and avocado), to pastry, chocolate and many others, I make peanut butter, chocolate bonbons filled with almonds and arequipe, you just touched a weak point, in short I like to do everything that has to do with food. hehehehehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cooking is therapeutic. It stimulates all our senses. But I'm too lazy to do it. LOL. I prefer to eat the creations. Btw, those hot dogs look scrumptious.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it is, and the best part is the eating afterwards hahaha sadly I didn't had the ingredients to make the traditional Venezuelan Hog Dog, but those were g.o.o.d

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also enjoy cooking, especially when I am not doing it out of duty. But I am self-taught. I've never taken cooking lessons.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Until that point I was self-taught also, but the experience, as short as it was, taught me a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago