Food Journal: A taste of the Middle East...

21 48
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

When you think of the Middle East, what's the first thing that comes to your head?

For me is spices, the scent in the air of all the spices they use to cook all those wonderful dishes we know and love.

Image from Unsplash

I'll be honest, I don't know much about the Middle Eastern countries or their gastronomy, but what I do know is that they use a lot of grains, a lot of veggies and the flavors are varied and exotic.

The first time I tasted a Shawarma I was blown away by the complexity of the flavors, but, also, the way they complemented each other. From that moment, if I went to a Food Court I searched the Shawarma stall to get my beloved sandwich, and one of my favorite exercises was to try and figure out which spices they had. But Falafel, that didn't catch my eye at the beginning just because I knew the main ingredient is Chickpeas.

Image from Unsplash

Growing up I didn't like any type of legumes, black beans, red beans, green beans, they were all the same to me. Chickpeas were not very common in those days but still, they are legumes too.

One day, my eldest sister and I were having lunch at the mall and were craving shawarma, so we went to our favorite stall and I got Chicken-Beef as always and she asked for Falafel.

What? You have got to be kidding! Those are chickpeas!

But after a while, we compromised and I tried it. I was so wrong about it and I got up and bought a ration just for myself. Later on, I learned how to make them.

Hard to resist, huh? My sister's picture.

Yesterday I made them again.

On Friday I bought some chickpeas at the supermarket, at a very good price, and at the moment I laid my eyes upon them I knew that was Saturday's lunch.

So many memories came to my head as I was making them: the first time I made them, the first time my sister made them, FYI, a complete disaster!

One time my little sister's schoolmates came to our house and I was making Falafel, and I gave them some but as Sliders, with Tomato and Lemon-Garlic Mayo, and later on I regretted it because they left me without my share.

Building our Lunch-My sister's picture.

My sister's picture.

I also remembered the first time I made Tabbouleh, and the first time I used Bulgur wheat. Currently, I don't have it at hand, and yesterday I missed it because it gives a good balance of flavors in that particular salad.

Also, Hummus, I had to buy it because I don't have a food processer nor a blender, or anything to improvise. Let me tell you something that perhaps you already know: everything tastes better when is made from scratch.

It's not bad, but it's just not the same, there was something missing and it tasted just as mashed chickpeas, nothing more. A huge disappointment.

Nevertheless, we enjoyed our meal!

We sat down, mom, my sister, and I, to watch Netflix as we ate our Falafel Sandwich. Mom couldn't finish the whole thing but later on, she asked for some falafel alone, just the fritters.

It's fun when we get to do something different at home without having to go out or pay over the top just to taste food from a different culture. And in my town, there are some local restaurants that offer good quality middle easter cuisine, but they are way too expensive.

This cost me around 5 USD to make, and everything except for the hummus was homemade, even the bread!

That bread looks like Jabba the Hutt-My sister's picture.

That's why, if I can afford to do it, I always try different things in the kitchen, because I love to cook, I love to pamper my loved ones, and I love the memories we build around our kitchen table.

Ready to eat! My sister's picture...

If you want to try this, check out my recipe right Here!


Check out my wonderful sponsors and their awesome content!

Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty

See you next time!

Blessings

@rebeysa85

Sunday, October 17th, 2021

10
$ 5.47
$ 5.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
+ 4
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

It looks so yummy. I love falafel and all the middle east food. And the bread you made looks great, I have never tried to do it myself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you!!

Haha when I was uploading the picture I noticed Jabba the Hutt face on the bread haha

It's one of the most simple bread I have ever made, so if I have the ingredients I make it myself, you should try it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will try it, and you are right about the Jabba face, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Middle Eastern cuisine is something I hardly ever eat. Partly because it is not readily available a lot of the time here in the U.S., with most of the fare being Chinese, Japanese, Italian, Thai, and Mexican. There are Indian places as well, but they are not popular. And personally I am not a huge fan of Indian.

As for chickpeas, I guess it depends on how they are prepared. While I love legumes of pretty much any kind, chickpeas are way, way down on my list. But again, it might just be a preparation issue for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's understandable, I was like that too.

The preparation is actually easy, the thing is getting a good quality grain which is hard, at least over here. And in this case, the combination of veggies and spices makes you forget that you're eating chickpeas!

If you serve this to someone with a regular palate and don't tell them what is it, they won't know Haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I try to experiment with my cooking. If not, I let my daughter try different recipes. I remember the first time she made Tabbouleh. She made a lot and I was worried it was going to be wasted. It was not wasted! Everybody liked it! So now I let her experiment as much as she wants.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Practice makes the master! I was like that and now I'm in charge of the kitchen haha I love Tabbouleh, the freshness of the parsley and mint is indescribable, and it's so healthy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Shawarma was my favorite dinner when I traveled to Margarita, but I met a very friendly lady in CarĂºpano, the best shawarma I have ever eaten, her business was very prosperous, a must visit. Next month I am planning an Arabian style dinner; tabule, shawarma, tabaquitos with grape leaves and falafel. He also prepared both shawarmas and falafel with tomato sauce and mayonnaise, for my shawarma the mustard was a must.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love mustard but, not with Shawarma. That's why I onle eat them homemade or in Arab Food Stands haha they know what they're doing. Venezuelan food stands know about burgers and hot dogs and arepas, but shawarma, sadly no to my view. With that said, please, share some pics of your Arabian Style Dinner with us, please!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why I say that mine must have mustard, so I prepare it at home. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Excellent recipe. I had a friend from Iran. Their home was on the bank of the Caspian sea. We used to roast chicken under burning charcoal (during 1990-1994). We had prepared it with a lot of delicate spices and without spices. The taste was hardly any better with spices. We found that "salt" is an essential item to make it tastier.

Shared via Twitter https://twitter.com/debeshchoudhury/status/1449976398081249284

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you!!

For sure, without salt, the flavors are not enhanced.

By the way, that roast chicken sounds yummy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It makes me crave. I want shawarma, I wanna try it but always out of stock if I buy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is it too expensive were you live? I want some more too haha next time I'll make the classic beef-chicken shawarma xD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its not that expensive but I need to travel to the city to get one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's too bad :( but hey, maybe you can make them someday ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seeing the food that you prepared makes me hungry. I bet that's very delicious and I want to taste them. đŸ˜‹

I tried shawarma before with veggies inside and that was my first time trying it. I thought shawarma doesn't suit my taste but I was wrong, as soon as I got it for the first time, it makes me want to buy and eat shawarma again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you!! Glad you liked it darling!

When I was younger and had the budget to do so, shawarma was my go-to fast food. Haha and I used to eat too much of it, I always thought that I couldn't make me gain weight... I was wrong...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, just remembering that shawarma makes me crave for it as of now. But I can't go out to buy it because it's evening already here in the Philippines

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nooo, it's horrible having to wait until the next day to satisfy that craving!

$ 0.00
2 years ago