Broke and Gratefull.

2 40
Avatar for rebeysa85
1 year ago

Wow, is amazing how a little money can make a difference in one´s life. Personally and professionally, money is essential to manage anything, and not having any money can break one´s spirit in a blink of an eye.

Hello! And welcome to another one of my ramblings haha. I just got home after a hard day´s work only to find that I have a sponsor! @Jento dear friend, thank you for the support and the sponsorship, it means the world.



Back to my rambling. Last week we had our first concert after a year, yes, a year. We still don´t have a musical conductor, don´t have all the instruments a symphonic orchestra requires, and don´t have a cent left in the Foundations account. We got an annual budget approved, and divided it into twelve fractions to be received monthly. We only got four and got the news that they won´t give us the rest. Because of that, we can´t pay for the basics, phone, water, cleaning products, toner and printing paper for the administrative procedures and sheet music, we don´t have money even to afford toilet paper. So when a conductor took an interest in us and decided he wanted to work with us as we are, we made some decisions and agreed that we would afford all the logistics with our budgets. 

The biggest hit was on my family´s pocket since we were the ones who bought and made all the meals for said guest for 5 days straight. Breakfast, Lunch, and Diner, in a country, where the cost of living increases by the day. So we put together 60$ and bought all the supplies we needed to make everything. I got the following:

Apples

Cheddar Cheese

Guyanese Cheese

Ham

Bread

Butter

Meat

Chicken

Pork

Wheat Flour

Sorted Veggies

Powdered Drinks

Styrofoam Containers

Napkins

Cutlery



With that, I made a menu for the week, a hardy one, because I wanted him well-fed and happy. My mom helped me of course and made delicious dishes. 

For breakfast (with an apple each day):

-Arepas with guayanese cheese

-Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

-Chicken Sandwiches

-Empanadas

-Pork Sandwiches

For Lunch:

-Carbonara Pasta

-Fried Rice and ChopSuey

-Fried Chicken with Coleslaw and French Fries

-Steak with Rice and Green Salad

-Pork Chops with Ceasar Salad and Potatoes.


For Dinner:

-Cachapas with Guayanese Cheese

-Burgers

-Falafel Shawarmas

-Beef Sandwich

Sadly, I didn´t take pictures of any of the dishes, I was in and out of the house because of my administrative duties, and I also had to play with the orchestra so, it was a very crazy week, and my body almost caved, on Wednesday I started shaking due to exhaustion, I got really scared, my body was collapsing by I managed to get through it, and so, I´m very proud of myself for that.

The guest conductor was absolutely happy and grateful not only because of the food we made for him, but he was also grateful because he knew the effort and sacrifice we had to make for him to be able to come here and make music with us. 

Of course, nothing went as smoothly as I would have wished. My ¨team¨ left me hanging with practically everything, not only the meals, I was in charge of getting the place for the concert, a collaboration we had to deliver to the owners of the place also came out of my pocket, the invitations, the programs to pass down to the attendance, and the meals of the other guests my boss had invited without telling me in advance. So at one point, when I was shaking with pain and exhaustion, my boss said, you need to rest, you can´t take upon everything yourself. To which I replied: I know I can´t but things needed to be done so? And she said: I thought you had everything under control so I didn´t think you needed help, and I was really busy myself so...

What was that? You assumed that I didn´t need help, so you didn´t help me, but you question me that I was taking everything on my shoulders? Don´t you have eyes? Don´t assume I don´t want or need help, help! It's your job too, not only mine. 

So anyways, it was a rollercoaster of emotions, and I learned a few things in the process. Safe to say I won´t do it again, I can´t, I have to come up with another strategy for next time, but in the meantime, I´m broke but grateful for the experience.



This is 100% Original Content.

The images are from Unsplash and are provided by this site. The other one is mine.



See you next time.

✨✨Blessings✨✨

@rebeysa85

Wednesday, October 19th, 2022.

4
$ 0.30
$ 0.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
1 year ago

Comments

Woahh, that would be busy week or month for you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes it has been very busy, I´m exhausted!

$ 0.00
1 year ago