The Truth About P!nk

3 26
Avatar for rayselp
2 years ago
Topics: Music

P!nk is one of the most versatile artists of this generation. I was in high school when I first heard her song "Get the Party Started" from her Missundaztood album way back in 2001. I honestly did not like the song as I was in the phase of loving alternative rock band songs, but I knew the song because it has this lingering upbeat and catching lyrics...

I'm coming up so you better get this party started. (I'm coming up, I'm coming!)

It was a very popular song at that time and P!nk is making a name for herself, not your ordinary pop star. She is one with angst, one with songs that speaks about the truth - turmoil that's happening inside a person. Her songs talk about the showbiz industry, that you have to change yourself for you to be able to get fame and fortune. Look at these lyrics from her song "Don't let me get me":

LA told me, "You'll be a pop star,
All you have to change is everything you are"
Tired of being compared to damn Britney Spears
She's so pretty, that just ain't me

As I've said, she is not the typical pop star that everyone was going gaga over during her days, but she revealed something that is deeper than fame and fortune, that there's a battle inside each one of us - to be yourself or to be someone else as the society is dictating.

It was not until 2011 that I re-discovered her beautiful artistry. I was too late, trying to be cool listening to alternative songs, punk-rock, and indie music among others. (Okay, they are good also by the way, but some pop songs are also worthy of our praise like P!nk's.). During this time, I became obsessed with her most recent album which is "The Truth About Love". I actually got myself a copy of her album and played all her songs from start to finish on loop! This was also the time that I realized that I've been missing a lot not knowing her ingenuity in music. I researched her albums in the past and found some favorites aside from Just Like a Pill which I sing in the karaoke all the time, btw.

I particularly liked her song "Stupid Girls" from her 2006 album "I'm Not Dead". The song Stupid Girls talks about how young girls lack great female role models who should be encouraging and empowering them instead of wasting their time thinking about their looks, how they present themselves to people, starving themselves, being unhealthy, and doing dumb things just to be noticed by guys. This is one hell of a wake-up call to the girls in that generation until today. You can watch the video here:

The album "Funhouse" is one of my favorites from her. The songs that really struck me are "So What", "Please Don't Leave Me", and "Funhouse". According to her, this album is the most vulnerable to her as most of the songs are coming from her recent separation from her husband Carey Hart. The music video of "So What" also features her husband. It was funny that it hurts. It's as if getting over a breakup but still loving the person, but you're angry, but you still love the person. Lol. I love you, P!nk. Here's the video, btw.

Then 2012 came with the album "The Truth About Love". THIS is my favorite album among all the other albums. As I've mentioned, this album is my turning point - I became obsessed with her music and artistry! I memorized everything from the first to the last song! I know you're familiar with the song "Just Give Me A Reason" featuring Nate Ruess from the band Fun. According to some interviews, this is another album that's an anthem of her complicated life, she drew inspiration from her exhausting experience of searching for love, she also said that writing the songs was an expression of what her life is at the moment and her newfound happiness which is motherhood. Gladly, she and Carey got back together before this album was released.

Another favorite song of mine from the album is "True Love". This one really hit me hard as I've experienced breaking up with my partner during this time. This song is talking about how much you want to hate a person who has hurt you, but it only goes to show that you love him/her too deeply. I especially like the song lyrics

Why I'm still here, or where could I go

You're the only love I've ever known

But I hate you, I reallyhate you,

So much, I think it must be

True love, true love

No one else can break my heart like you

Of course the song "Just Give Me a Reason" is the winner of it all. I was mending a broken heart from my heartbreak with my partner during that time. I know deep in my heart that the very reason why we broke up does not mean that we don't love each other anymore. It's just a season of growing apart, being mature without in each other's arms. These lyrics hit me hard, so so hard...

Just a second we're not broken just bent

And we can learn to love again

This song gave me hope that this time of being apart is only a bent or curved part of the road, and we will be together when the time comes... at the right time. After two years, we became together once again, and we are still together until now. :)

The next two studio albums she released were "Beautiful Trauma" which I really really liked too, she released the single with the same title and I think the melody is brilliant, it's a beautiful song showing how vulnerable are we when loving, but we keep on fighting for the one that we love. P!nk, you are genius!

The most current album she released was "Hurts 2B Human" with a released single of the same title featuring Khalid. This song talks about the vulnerabilities and pain that are part of being a human. In this song, P!nk is narrating as a pessimistic person, with negative perspectives about life. Khalid, on the other hand, is the more optimistic, reassuring her partner (P!nk) that they have already experienced "defeating all odds" and that "he has her back". The song's premise is finding a partner who can hold you and whom you can hold onto, and thinking that you'd be able to overcome adversity as long as you work together, supporting each other, loving each other.

P!nk's music and lyrics are the epitome of honesty, bravery, even vulnerability. She is able to incorporate all these types of emotions in her songs. I admire her ability to do such, her ability to speak up and sing her hearts out, expressing herself, sharing her music, and letting the world know it's alright to be hurt, to be angry, to love, to feel pain, to cry, to laugh, to celebrate, to be who you are. :).

If you're willing to be my

[sponsor]

Please let me know.

Thanks for reading!

3
$ 3.24
$ 3.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @kingofreview
$ 0.05 from @LucyStephanie
Avatar for rayselp
2 years ago
Topics: Music

Comments

Yeah P!nk is one of my favorite foreign artist. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I first knew her with her song 'Fuckin' Perfect'

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah! I love that song, too! :) She is brilliant!

$ 0.00
2 years ago