I think I got the Omicron variant.

5 20
Avatar for rayselp
1 year ago
Topics: Experiencies

Hello, everyone!

It's been days since I last posted an article here. Am I busy? Hmm, actually, I am not. The past few days I just decided to rest and from time to time, go to certain attractions near my area. In the last few days as well, we were able to celebrate the birthday of one of our dorm mates here. It was a surprise late birthday celebration for her, we decided to eat in an Indian restaurant, and it was way too good!

So, I just want to share that the other night, around 1 AM on Monday, we received a message in Line from one of our dorm mates, the bad news was she got infected with the coronavirus. :(

And I was like. Oh no, oh shit.

She is a French national, and together with another dorm mate, who is a German, last Saturday was their last day at the dormitory. They are going to spend their remaining days in Japan at a friend's house in Yokohama.

Anyway, since it was her last day, we gathered in the dormitory's kitchen, ate, drank some milk tea, and then waved our goodbyes with hugs to each other.

The whole Sunday I was feeling fine, but I feel a bit tired. But because another dorm mate who is a Korean national just got back from her trip to Nagoya, we planned to eat dinner together. She cooked rappoki (ramen+ tteokbokki) We ate it with my McDonald's chicken nuggets with another dormmate who is a Malaysian.

I did not mind what I was feeling, itchiness in my throat area. This type of symptom is familiar to me since this is the first symptom when I know that I am infected with flu. I did not mind and thought that the spiciness of the rappokki can actually "heal" the itchiness that I feel.

After a hours, we received the message in Line... and then, that time, I knew it... we are already considered close contacts. And since I am experiencing such symptoms, I asked the others if they feel something... and it was the same - mild sore throat, some even had a slight fever.

Since Monday (August 15), I have checked my temperature, and thankfully it's just in the normal range. However, there was a time that I have a 37.3 degrees Celsius, .2 more and that could have been considered a fever. Yesterday, I had a very itchy and sore throat, but since I am taking Vitamin C daily, and drinking lots of water, it has subsided today. What I felt yesterday was like a phlegm build-up at the top of my throat, which was the same explanation as my other dormmate.

We sent a message to the university to inform them of our situation and that we were exposed to an infected person. They gave us the guidelines which are to stay inside the dormitory to self-isolate for 10 days; get tested if we can, however, the testing centers and hospitals here are also fully-booked.

I, for one, don't wanna get tested because I am almost 99% sure that his is COVID-19, maybe the Omicron variant because of mild symptoms in the upper respiratory tract. However, there is a line of activities waiting for us. Like for example, in August 18, we are to have a consultation with our teacher regarding a presentation on August 30th; at 6pm of the same day, we are about to attend a "Matcha Tea-Making", a special ceremony that is being held for international students at the International Exchange Salon of the city, on August 21st, we are to be part of the Tanabata Procession, for more information, you can click the link here: https://www.gltjp.com/en/directory/item/13430/

Well, I am thinking, I have to cancel all of these so as not to risk people from getting infected with whatever infection that I have now.

Thankfully, I was able to have my booster shot just last August 1. I don't know, but some of you might disagree with me, I think that vaccines really work. If you think, they don't, then it's up to you. I think I have higher chances of fighting off the virus because of these antibodies that were in my system.

Anyway, it's my second day of isolation, and I feel much better, just a bit of a runny nose, the itchiness of the throat is still there, but it's not as itchy as yesterday. I was also able to expel some phlegm and tried to disinfect the room as much as possible.

I am also thankful to my dormmates who volunteers to buy food for us at the university cafeteria. Also thankful because last month, we were able to apply for free coupons worth 10,000 yen which we can use to buy food and other stuff from the University Cooperative/Cafeteria. Now, we're using these coupons to buy us bento or a term most appropriate now - "quarantine" food.

That's it. I hope and pray that my condition won't worsen in the next few days. Just like what my brother, who is a nurse, told me, don't be afraid of COVID-19... reminding me that I can withstand and overcome.

Stay safe, everyone! God bless!

6
$ 0.64
$ 0.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for rayselp
1 year ago
Topics: Experiencies

Comments

Friend how are you now? I'm glad that you are much feeling better now compare the other days. Your dormmates are really kind friend. They are always for you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello, I'm feeling fine. Still no fever, but my upper back feels heavy. I think my lung's filled with phlegm. :(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sorry to hear that friend. Take medicine my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you feel better soon. I got covid weeks ago too, i thought it was just an ordinary cough but I woke up having hard time breathing which made me think I got it. I had 2 boosters and the hard time breathing may be because I smoked a few times or when I had a chance which I shouldnt have. Lucky you that people around you are helping you too. 🫰🫰🫰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, hoping to feel better the soonest. Glad that you're okay. Please take care and stay safe!

$ 0.00
1 year ago