Urgent Help needed to provide for approx 1000 people for a week.(Updated see the bottom of article)

10 333
Avatar for ralak
Written by
4 years ago

So let me start with this post from my facebook timeline.

The lines which are in Urdu and can't be understood by all, I shall translate: "Sister do you have any food ? Anything will be ok no matter if it is fresh or old. My husband is not able to earn and my kids are starving since yesterday, we don't have any money in house."

I live in Karachi, Pakistan. Sadly Covid19 is spreading worldwide and here the situation is becoming dire. Since our government put two cities on lockdown, only pharmacies and grocery stores are allowed to be remain open. This means that thousands of people who survive on daily wages have no choice at all. In the city the situation is still controllable, but the suburb areas are facing worst. There are many people who live in villages along the sides of highways and motorways, and with no traffic through their town, they are starving . If 10 people die in the city then this is in the news, yet thousands may die in the suburb areas because of hunger before this is covered by the media. Witnessing this situation of desperation I called my friends and relatives to ask for assistance, but in this chaos every one is helpless at the moment, but somehow I managed to collect 200$ from my family which includes (My uncle, aunt and cousins) and went to the suburb area with food. This area is a village named "Mohammad goth Kathore" just after crossing the toll plaza, nearer to Bahria town. People were literally starving there, a population of 1000 people, but with my limited resources I only managed 1.5 day of food for 100 people. There was no point to get them a meal from a restaurant or one already made as it would be too expensive, so we bought potatoes, rice and spices and prepared "Biryani" by ourselves to cut the cost. With 1 kg of rice and potato 6 people can eat, which costs about 6$ to get it ready per kg, and with what we made we were able to feed 100+ men women and children.

These people had no idea that they will even get food. I talked with some of them and they told me they haven't eaten for 3 days, since the Covid-19 lockdown has been imposed. Our government is doing the best they can, but still people like them were left like this. Now, I have a situation while I am writing this at this very moment, I know almost 900 people whom I left today who have not eaten for over 3 days. I know these are tough times but if I am able to raise 2000$, I can arrange food so they can take a breath for 4 days, and after that they can come up with any thing else for this 15+ days shut down. I ask the community to help me in achieving that. I talked with eatBCH and had a long discussion and in this crucial time where they are also facing short of funds, they understood the urgency and wanted to help share.

2000$ is meant to be spent for buying groceries on a larger scale which will cut the cost efficiently, and this time we want to distribute uncooked food to families so they can survive for 4 to 5 days or one meal a day, whatever they can manage. This gives them a chance to stretch the food longer too. Our package for food for one family will be
4 KG rice 400 pkr 2.5 $
2 KG of oil 440 2.8 $
.5 KG Pulses 80 PKR 0.5 $
Salt 15 PKR .1$
2.5 KG Flour 175PKR 1.13$
so it will be 7$ / package which can be a lifeline for a family of 4 for about 4-5 days or if they stretch it will be for week.

These packages will be distributed to the families in this are, estimated to be about 300 families.

For verification purposes that I have used the money as promised, I am going to follow the eatBCH protocol of posting a photo with a picture of a sign with the hight and hash of a block at that time.

I have other ideology, I believe we should teach people how to fish instead of giving them fish, but these desperate times need desperate measures. I know these people, and if I can support them just for lockdown they will not be needing further support, as they all are hard workers but on daily wages. But right now I cant leave them starving when I know for sure they have no other source to be able to get fed. If every one of us plays our part with our small chunk of the world, then we can survive this. Thank you.

Map location : https://goo.gl/maps/qkzz1AbzS59WMPoY8

BCH Address : bitcoincash:qre0a8c9xfhr5xs9l2scwcq8rjlfxndq5ypfh7fg0q

Update! So far I have received 2.9BCH, still 6.2 BCH to go!

So Yesterday I collected 2.9 BCH from community I was able to arrange some money from my local help so yesterday Our state government announced lock down and it was a panic situation I spend my whole day in market to be able to get food every thing started to short from market but with my contacts I was able to get 180 bags for families. Today I was suppose to get out and distribute it but on city border they were not allowing any one to go so I arranged food to get through from their and with some local help I was able to manage the food distribution this I advice them to strictly maintain social distancing this is happening right now.

We distributed this food

In this I really want to thanks ali daduwala who responded on my phone call on urgent basis and reached out from his village to toll plaza and got the parcels from me and went to distribute it . In this time we need to support each other as much as we can . Their are still approximately 120 families are left out and I need to help them to please Try to donate any thing you can .Thank you

We needed 6.2 BCH but if we can get 3 BCH only I will make them work

Thank You
BCH Address : bitcoincash:qre0a8c9xfhr5xs9l2scwcq8rjlfxndq5ypfh7fg0q

5
$ 15.52
$ 5.00 from @quest
$ 5.00 from @Howelzy
$ 2.00 from @imkeshav
+ 3
Sponsors of ralak
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ralak
Written by
4 years ago

Comments

It feels so good to be able to send them something other than thoughts and prayers.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I have send you some BCH! Thank you so much for doing this. May all our brothers and sisters in Pakistan be blessed with this BCH.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

You are posting the block number, not the hash! Anybody can post just the block number of a block that will get hit in the future.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I received your BCH Thanks for the help , As I said I was not able to get through because of lockdown s I called for help from the other side to come and take the supply from me and I send him hash and block number as he didnt know much about it so he produced this sheet I am linking the message I sent him at that time that can be checked with hash http://prntscr.com/rk7b8h

$ 0.10
4 years ago

How are you exchanging BCH to rupee, can you share details?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Yes, We have many local exchangers here who do this right now I am using mobile money accounts like jazz cash and easy paisa to receive money in PKR.

$ 0.50
4 years ago

Allah kare k ye paisa gareebo ko hi mile ..Good luck... aap ne abhi tk koi proof nhi diya siraf picture hi share kr rahe ho hum kaisay yakeen kare k paisa gareeb logon pr lage ga(agar paisa garreb logon pr hi lagao ge aik penny bhi us paisay se nhi khao ge to salaam hai Allah aap k is ache kaam ka ajar aap ko de ga

$ 0.00
4 years ago

yar tum ho kon har waqt negativity pehlanai ajatai ho Khuda ka khof karo. merai sari profile link mojood hai banda kam az kam comment karnai sai pehlai aglai ko jan laita hai phir bolt hai. or yeah jo tasweerain lagain hain yeah mene apni jaib sai kia hai unki hai english me likha hai google translate karlo pata chal jaiga likha kia hai . baki jo yeah thori c raqam ikhati ki hai wo kal distribute hongai tu inshAllah unki pictures bhi yahi lagai gin

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I wish you the best. I donated a little here, and a little not on read.cash. I really hope people are generous and help you feed those in need. Things are going to get very bad over the next few months. We are one human people, and we all need to help each other out when we can in times like this!

$ 0.02
4 years ago

Thank you for donating on both sides I really hope I can reach the goal. and be able to help people who are in serious need. Lets humanity shows his best side. Thank you once again

$ 0.02
4 years ago