Get out of the routine of life

2 37
Avatar for radenkusumo
2 years ago

It's late now, I have to get ready to go home. Today's work is very tiring for me, I feel like I want to go on vacation to the mountains or the beach to release the fatigue caused by this boring routine.

The clock is already showing 05.00 pm, it's time for me to go home. All right, I'm gonna shut down all the factory machinery, so I can get out of here.

"Anton, please lock the gates and fences," said Mr Ahong, a manager at this factory

"Okay sir," I answered

The bus stop is already crowded, it looks like I won't be getting a seat anymore. My home and work are not far, but it can take two hours. Do you know why? Because every afternoon and morning, the highway is always filled with vehicles that make traffic jams.

The sun had set, it was night. My stomach feels so hungry, but there is no food for me to cook, I have to go out to find a food seller. After walking for 300 meters, I arrived at a restaurant filled with visitors, I had intended to eat at this place, but because the table was full, I asked the restaurant staff to wrap it so I could eat at home.

After finishing eating, I burned the cigarette that was left. I enjoyed the cigarette smoke billowing out of my mouth. After I finished smoking, I felt tired and sleepy, I had to go to the bathroom to wash my face and brush my teeth. It's time for me to sleep so that tomorrow morning I can go back to work.

Ring! Ring! Ring!

The alarm sound from the clock has sounded, the hand has shown 05.30 am. I have to get ready to go to work. The sun had not yet shown its rays, it was still dark, but the bus stop was already filled with people who wanted to go to work and school. Damn, we're stuck in traffic again. I arrived at the factory at 07.30 am, there was still 30 minutes for breakfast.

After having eaten breakfast, it was time for me to work with the production machines. This is the routine I live in, my life is just in the same loop. Get up early, work, go home and rest. It's been 10 years since graduating from school, I feel life is very boring. I can't even collect the income from my salary every month, because my life needs are very large, starting from the cost of renting a house, the cost of electricity, water, daily meals. Not to mention unexpected costs like paying a doctor when I'm sick or expenses for buying household appliances such as a lamp that suddenly goes out.

"Anton, can you come with me for a moment," said Mr Ahong

"Okay sir," I answered

"So it's like this, our company is experiencing a decline in profits," said Mr Ahong who was sitting at his desk, "Because of this pandemic, very few goods were sold," he said again.

"Then how, sir?" I asked

"We have to reduce employees," he replied "There are 10 workers to be expelled, because we can't afford to pay salaries," he said again

"So, I am one of the employees who will be expelled from this company?" I ask again

"Yes," replied Mr Ahong

My manager gave me the allowance in a brown envelope. Starting tomorrow I no longer work in this company. I spent ten years of time and energy keeping this company operating, but they just kicked me out. I am very disappointed in this company. Tomorrow I have to find another job because I don't know how long the money Mr Ahong gave me can last in my hands.

The virus pandemic has made life even more difficult, 25 companies have rejected my job application, and even less money has been given to me by the company where I worked. I don't know what else to do. I kept praying to God, but God seemed deaf and didn't hear my prayer.

I've been unemployed for three months and haven't found a job, the last money I hold is only enough to pay the rent. It's useless if I stay here, I should just get out of here and sell all the equipment in this house.

OK, I've sold them all. I already have $300 in hand, I have to buy my necessities to survive. Now I'm at the bus stop to go to Karo Village, from there I can start my new life. Arriving at Karo Village, I stopped briefly at a coffee shop to rest for a while, the people in this village are very friendly and friendly, very much different from the city people who are very selfish and self-centred.

After half an hour of relaxing and enjoying coffee, I started climbing Mount Sibayak. The journey from Karo village to the top of the mountain takes 5 hours, I arrived at the top of the mountain at 06.00 pm, the air here is very cool and fresh, not like in a city full of pollution. After building the tent, I gathered sticks of wood to make a fire so I could boil water. It seems this is my final destiny, I have to live with nature. Now I'm starting to learn to live in the wild, I've bought a book on how to grow crops, so I can have the food I grow myself. I also learned to make weapons and animal traps for hunting.

Now that I have been living in the wild for 5 years, I feel a calm and peaceful life. Life without boring routine, no need to think about any expenses like in the city, now I don't need money, I don't need to obey work authority, now I'm free. This is absolute life for me, I love it.

The End

The Lead Image by Unsplash

5
$ 5.17
$ 5.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @dark_spirit666
$ 0.05 from @Luna1999
Avatar for radenkusumo
2 years ago

Comments

It's like real life. The covid pandemic has made many employees laid off, they become stressed and desperate. this short story is very good

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sir, this story is indeed inspired from real life during the covid-19 pandemic

$ 0.00
2 years ago