About my work routine : Medical Equipment

5 45

Hello my #JustWrite friends. I am a Biomedical Engineer, my profession deals with many things, from design of hospital facilities, prosthetic design and specially in medical equipment (Repair and maintenance of medical equipment) well the latter, is my specialty. I work doing maintenance and repairs to medical equipment of all kinds in hospitals, clinics or in my work place.

www.istockphoto.com

REPAIR OF A POWER SUPPLY (AC/DC) OF A HEMATOLOGY EQUIPMENT:

Power supply? hematology equipment? yes, it may sound a bit technical and boring but let me explain it in a simple way so you can understand what I am doing.

An AC/DC power supply is a device that if not all, at least more than 90% of the electronic equipment has inside. This device is responsible for converting the energy that we have in the plugs or common electrical outlets (120VAC) to an energy or direct current (DC) the latter, is the one used by electronic devices to operate. It usually happens that with power outages and power cuts, they get damaged a lot, that is why I receive a lot of power supplies for repair.

Original photo of the power supply to be repaired

This electrical power supply is from a hematology equipment. Have you ever had a complete hematology done in a laboratory? Well, there is an equipment that is in charge of processing those blood samples that are taken from us in the laboratory, to then give us our results with the values of hemoglobin, white blood cells, red blood cells, hematocrits, etc...

www.istockphoto.com

REPAIR PROCEDURE :Voltage measurements and replacement of electronic components

I am not going to bore you too much at this point with technical details that you will not fully understand. What I can tell you about the repair procedure of an electrical power supply, is that the first thing to check is the power cable of the power supply (if it has one) and the input fuses, which are the ones that protect the device from power surges. After that, it is all about a lot of patience and measurements, more measurements, apply tin solder to solve any cold soldering of the electronic board, if we find any damaged components they must be replaced. In fact I found several damaged diodes and capacitors that I replaced immediately.

Some of the damaged electronic components

Done! Power supply repaired : Where is my money?

It seems that it was very easy hehe but the truth is that I already had about 3 days working with this power supply and on the third day I managed to find the solution. To work with electronic devices you have to analyze and proceed with patience and without desperation. It is a delicate and meticulous work. And in this case even more, because it is an equipment that is used for measuring medical parameters.

Power supply repaired

Well, here my work is done and all that is left is to mount the power supply in the hematology processing equipment, which I am sure will work properly. That's all that's left and I'll be waiting for my time to go to work soon. I really enjoyed sharing with you something of my day to day and my daily life.

That's all for today, you can support me by subscribing to my channel and liking this post. my user is @ozzycrypto Let me know what you think about this topic in the comments and if you found it interesting.

I want to thank my sponsors as always for their continued support.

8
$ 5.08
$ 4.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @zulfrontado
$ 0.05 from @mc5punk
+ 3
Sponsors of ozzycrypto
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Have you done any work into the security of these devices? Like preventing the hacking of the devices? Just curious as this is a growing concern in the cybersecurity and IT profession.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello my friend. I haven't really worked on the cybersecurity of this equipment. Although I could tell you that I have not heard of hacks to biomedical equipment. But it's definitely something that could be done, especially those equipment that need backup servers like RX units or MRI equipment. But since you mention it I will look into it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

¿Con los conocimientos que tienes puedes reparar consolas de videojuegos?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

He bro. Disculpa la respuesta tardía. Pues solo he reparado un par de consolas en mi vida. Una playstation 2 y una de las viejitas americanas. Pero si vale, solo que como todo uno se tarda porque hay que analizar mucho las tarjetas. De hecho es algo que quiero empezar a abarcar el mercado de las consolas

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Estaría genial que lo hicieras ya que puedes tener ingresos extras y buscarte para ver si puedes reparar hasta controles también.

$ 0.00
2 years ago