Rummaging Through My Notes And My Memory Chest

3 59
Avatar for oizaguirres
3 years ago

Friends, this year, the worst of my short life, I think for many too, imprisoned at home by the pandemic of COVID19, I started rummaging through my stuff, which I will call *trunk of memories* and I was surprised by a name *Zarzaparrilla* so....

<center><h2>*OIZA AND THE ZARZAPARRILLA*</h2></center>.

The first thing that caught my eye was the cover of the item in my hands, a folder loaded with loose yellowed sheets of copies of a magazine called *El Cojo Ilustrado*, from the early 20th century.

And in front of my eyes appeared this advertisement about Salsa Parrilla and it turns out and it happens, that being a child, maybe 8 or 9 years old, I remember that my grandfather, who was a traveling agent for the western states of the country, was the exclusive distributor of a product called *607* Depurador Sanguíneo, which was patented by Dr. Pastor Varela, pharmacist, my grandfather's nephew and owner of a pharmacy in Los Teques, Miranda - Venezuela.

The *607* was made by my grandmother, that is to say, it was a small family business! It was prepared with paprika syrup and *ZARZAPARRILLA* extract. My job, because I helped my grandmother, was to help fill the bottle and stick the label. These tasks were done by my grandmother, my aunt Magda and me.

- Today I am clear about the origin of Sarsaparilla and its benefits. It is a bushy plant (vine type) that can reach about 15 meters, being very appreciated in phytotherapies those of American origin (Smilax ornata; Smilax medica, Smilax febrífuga and Smilax siphilitica).

>ZarZaparilla is an excellent blood depurative, indicated to increase the emission of urine and to favor the elimination of excess uric acid. It relieves rheumatic pains and gout.

- It is recommended to combat the various impurities of the skin, such as acne, the appearance of eczema or boils, hives and dermatosis.

- European sarsaparilla has been used, although to a lesser extent, as a febrifuge and expectorant, in case of flu and chronic bronchitis.

- It is also effective as a digestive tonic, to alleviate heavy digestions and other intestinal disorders, with diarrhea or colic.

Drinks with sarsaparilla that benefit your health

INFUSION OF SARSAPARILLA FOR SKIN IMPURITIES

Combine sarsaparilla with other cleansing plants, such as burdock, dandelion and corn husks, in equal parts. Two level tablespoons of the mixture per half liter of water.

It can be made with European sarsaparilla, although it is more effective if you use Mexican sarsaparilla (Smilax medica). In this case it is also combined with guaiac wood (Guaiacum officinale).

How to prepare it: Boil it for 2 minutes, let it stand for 10 more minutes and strain it. Drink it in small doses throughout the day. It can be kept in the refrigerator, to take it as a refreshment.

INFUSION OF SARSAPARILLA FOR THE BLADDER AND KIDNEY

As a depurative remedy, to facilitate the elimination of toxins and as a support for bladder and kidney conditions, sarsaparilla can be mixed with nettle, fumitory, horsetail and walnut leaves, in equal parts.

How to prepare: Boil for 2 minutes, leave to infuse for 10 more minutes, strain and drink two cups daily on an empty stomach.

[SOURCE]( https://www.cuerpomente.com/guia-plantas/zarzaparrilla)

That's the way things are, if I didn't see this advertisement in the Cojo Ilustrado, it would not have crossed my mind to bring this short story of an experience back in the 50's...but it is true that the saying *Recordar es Vivir* (Remembering is Living***) is true.

Original photographic support by @oizaguirres, of course photos taken from Cojo Ilustrado magazine.

8
$ 2.27
$ 2.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of oizaguirres
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for oizaguirres
3 years ago

Comments

excellent memory to bring up, really very interesting that it has a history with that unique drink. and I am very pleased to see that it is already beginning to be successful as I told you on this platform. I'm very happy for you and welcome to your future!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You reminded me of my parents and grandparents, they solved everything by cleaning the blood with sarsaparilla.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Gracias Carolina por tu visita y comentario, a mi me gustaría tenerla!

$ 0.00
3 years ago