A Small Family Garden

6 54
Avatar for oizaguirres
3 years ago

Since I was very young I have been related to nature and very specially to the productive one, that is to say, agriculture and breeding, hence many of my writings will be referred to these areas.
Economic difficulties lead to social crises and our country does not escape them. Especially when we went from being an oil-producing, mono-producing nation, where everything was arranged by force of the income generated by that industry and we did not allocate resources to produce food, as was well pointed out by the illustrious Venezuelan Arturo Uslar Pietri, in his wise words still present "Sowing the oil", we did not do it and we have not done it!

Now we live in an extremely indebted country, where we are barely producing 20-25% of the oil that was produced some 20 years ago, political instability, a high unemployment rate, industrial paralysis, etc. All this has led me to make food production at the level of .... no longer for love but out of necessity.

Oiza and A Small Family Garden

Those of us who are lucky enough to live in a flat, house, can take advantage of any available space to grow some species and thus have the double satisfaction of producing for consumption and saving by not having to buy. Another advantage is that we know how healthy our products are because of the handling we have done.

Once the space has been selected, we proceed to prepare and replant our vegetable garden in it.

We will previously make a small project where we decide size of the orchard, material to use, land or soil, and most importantly what we are going to plant.

Step by step:
Selection of space, preparation and layout

Location, cutting and preparation of the material, in this case bamboo poles.

Assembly of the bamboo poles.


Filling of the space with black fertilized soil.

my son spreading the soil

Irrigation with seat hose:

Transplanting of horticultural species

My wife transplanting

Establishment irrigation.

Then comes the period of vegetative development time in which the orchard should be watered, 1 or 2 times a week, the presence of pests and damage is observed. A special distraction is to remove the weeds by hand, as these compete in space, nutrients, water and light with our plants ...

About 3 or 4 months later we will enjoy our effort, harvesting part of the food that make up our daily diet.

My aunt Ana is very happy with the garden we made her as a birthday present.

Original photographic support and writing by @oizaguirres for read.cash.

In the writing I have used Deepl Pro translator.

8
$ 0.79
$ 0.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.05 from @D.B.Cooper
+ 2
Sponsors of oizaguirres
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for oizaguirres
3 years ago

Comments

I also love nature, I am always capturing it in my photos.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm really happy for Ana, a very strong teamwork but everything went well, thank God, a very entertaining experience for me as a reader. I hope you have a great time there in that garden.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I admire you very much you are a genius!I would like to have a space and a house with a patio so that I can plant everything I want! but since I live in an apartment I can only have a baby punch bowl with oregano, an aloe vera and a mint plant 😃

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a very nice vegetable patch you have created there, the soil in my garden quite good so I just dig in the ground but I do dig in compost each year to give it extra nutrition. Hope you have a plentiful harvest. Thanks for your visit, but mine is a backfill with any kind of material and then I must place a 30 cm layer of backfill with good soil. I also apply home-made liquid worm humus!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I admire you very much you are a genius!I would like to have a space and a house with a patio so that I can plant everything I want! but since I live in an apartment I can only have a baby punch bowl with oregano, an aloe vera and a mint plant 😃

lol lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago