Death: Is this something to be afraid of?

6 28
Avatar for noisytoothie
2 years ago

One time in our philosophy class, we have discussed the concept of death. Too many questions were raised. "Is there really a life after death?", "Do we need to be afraid of it? ", "What is death?".

Many questions but still no answer. I, myself, wonder too if there is a life after death just like what has been taught in the church - that if we do good here on earth, we are likely to have an eternal life, but if we go against God's command, we will be in hell. Even a single person can testify if there's really that life waiting for us.

Haruki Murakami once said, "Death is not the opposite of life, but a part of it." Indeed, we are all born to die. Everyone will die and no one can change it.

WHAT IS DEATH?

From Oxford Languages, death is the action or fact of dying or being killed; the end of the life of a person or organism. In philosophy, death is the absence of life, just like dark as the absence of light. They said that there is no such thing as death, but instead, it is the absence of life. When we die, we don't breathe anymore, we don't do the usual things we do, and when we die, we are forgotten.

Remember the movie "Coco"? Miguel, a young boy, pursues his love for singing in spite of his family's ban on music. He stumbles into the Land of the Dead, where he learns about his great-great-grandfather who was a legendary singer. He had a chance to go to the Land of the Dead where he accidentally saw all the dead. There are two places - the Land of the Dead and the Land of the Forgotten which seems to be the heaven and hell. It showed the two possible places as our final destination.

This movie believes that there is life after death which is kind of a puzzle to us. There are also documentaries saying they have been to heaven and hell. I forgot the names of those who documented it but it really discusses the life above earth.

DO WE NEED TO BE AFRAID OF THE DEATH?

Like Mark Twain said, "The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man who lives fully is prepared to die at any time." I have a question for you. "ARE YOU READY TO DIE?"

Honestly, I am ready to die. I have been in several situations where I thought I will die. I have an asthma and it triggers every time I'm in a state of over emotional or exhausted. I've never been a normal person when it comes to sports and other breathtaking activities. My mom even prohibited me from having a boyfriend before because when if there's a chance that my partner will betray me, I might feel over emotional, which is not good to my health. As of now, my mom agreed to my partner but she's reminding me from time to time to not put my 100% trust and love because things are constantly changing.

There is no issue whether we are ready to die or not. Mostly, in our church, we are asked that kind of question because our future actions will depend on that. We are taught to do God's will for us to have an everlasting life. But, our choice will depend on what we believe in and what we think will be best for us.

WHAT CAUSES DEATH?

In our modern day, we have this one primary cause of unexpected mass death rates - the coronavirus. There are almost 3.7 million people who died because of this virus. Imagine? For almost 2 years, we have been suffering and many have died. This one is unexpected, but they leave us no choice.

Covid-19 is not just the primary cause of death. Here are several causes.

  • Illnesses

  • Accidents

  • Suicides

  • Murder-case related

Before the pandemic occur, illness and accidents are the most primary cause of death. They are unexpected and can never be manipulated. Being careful maybe one of the best solution to avoid this kind of causes. But as the saying goes, "Kung araw mo na, araw mo na".

You might be wondering why I suddenly talked about death. Actually, I have attended two mass funerals today. One is at 1pm and the other one is at 3pm. The name of the dead were Ruth and Jose. I don't know the cause of their deaths, but I think they are still too young to die.

During the mass, I can see their relatives crying and wiping their tears. They are all sharing the common emotion - sadness and mourning.

I still remember the day my grandma died. I was crying all over the day. Losing someone is one of the hardest thing to accept. We are used to be with them but the day will come when they have to leave - we all have to leave. It's hard to accept it but that's the cycle of life. In every death, a new born will come.

Death might be the hardest goodbye we can give, but let's just think that they are already in their peace state. They are not suffering anymore.


I have been wondering yesterday after I publish my last article on what topic I will discuss next. Fortunately, God gave me one. :) Another day, another article for all of you.

I'm kinda enjoying the feeling of writing. I even devoted myself to write here atleast every evening. It will be bonus if I can write during the day. But still, I'm looking forward for more articles to come. :)

For the sources, just click the images :)

5
$ 3.21
$ 3.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @heartbeat1515
$ 0.05 from @bheng620
Avatar for noisytoothie
2 years ago

Comments

Death is a really sensitive topic. As much as possible, no one wants to be asked if he or she is ready to die. Good read. You are really improving in writing, keep it up!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No one wants to be asked if he or she is ready to die, but we can't avoid death. Instead of avoiding and fearing death, we just need to be prepared.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sa Upvote Ate @bheng620 ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome po, we should be ready n prepared for dead though sometimes unexpected things happens po n we can't avoid it po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po. 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago