Trashtalking in Mobile Games: How should we deal with it?

5 18
Avatar for nathawriter
1 year ago
Topics: Games

I guess everyone knew that trashtalking is somehow already part of the game when you decide to play online games. I actually saw two study that discuss the two effect of trashtalking in playing games before.

The first study mentioned that trashtalking is part of the fun while you play the game. It can hype you up, as well as the players to do better so you cannot lose the game. On the other hand, the second study found out that it can affect the players game in a negative way which can lead to trauma, anxiety and low confidence. This things could possibly result to not play the game again—and I think it is better if that happens. Everyone should learn to stop doing things that can affect their mental health. We all know how important protecting our mental health because if we don't do it, it can lead to domino effect to our productivity and such.

Anyway, the game of mobile legends is actually considered to have the most toxic players among the online gaming community right now and I couldn't agree more. Even just by watching the MPL or any mobile legends tournament, you can see in the comment sections how they bash the players, so how much more if you really playing the game and as I say that, here are my recent trashtalking experience in a game.

I rewrite this article because earlier this morning, I decided to play ranked game in mobile legends. It's been a while since I played the game. I stopped playing it since I got busy doing important things in my personal life. Well, that is because I will be graduating soon.

But going back to my story, I chose Estes as my hero since my random teammates requested it. When the game began and one of my teammate, the hanabi user, was not performing well, one of my teammates began to say negative things about the player in the middle of the game and continued to do so until the game concluded.

Actually, in this type of situation, I prefer to report the trashtalkers rather than the low-skilled players—but it all depends on the situation, yet one thing is certain: as a solo ml player, I chose to report the player rather than involving myself to trashtalking. Afterall, you can't do anything about it since you are just playing with other random players in a server. The least we can do is to report the player.

ML and other mobile game players should learn the art of sportmanship. I know that this can't be avoided since we can't control others mind but I hope that we can somehow minimize the dirty talk during and after the game. During this time, I hope someday, online games can update the server wherein we can ban the toxic players too not just the hero haha I wonder how fun would that be.

Anyways, be kind and responsible enough to all your words, guys! You don't have an idea on how your words can affect someone. Afterall, mobile legends is just a game, there's so much to life outside it.

3
$ 0.87
$ 0.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Micontingsabit
$ 0.01 from @Dennnis
Sponsors of nathawriter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for nathawriter
1 year ago
Topics: Games

Comments

I tried playing ML before pero nag-stop na din ako since di sya goods for mental health ko hahaha. Nandon lang naman ako para mag explore at mag enjoy sa laro, bat kailangan nyo ako murahin 😭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

grabe ang mga trashtalk sa ML @nathawriter . kahit ako nakaexperience nyan eh, halos madalas kapag naglalaro araw araw. ganon talaga.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

naging part na talaga yan ng game lalo na pag patalo na haha mute na lang para di makita

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True hahahha as a hanabi, support and tank user quiet lang ako kapag may nagttrashtalk na. Okaya off ko ang chat. Less talk more gawa HAHAHAAH. Ano na rank mo papabuhat ako hahaa

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Legend 2, kakalaro ko lang ulit e. Support support lang din ako haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago