Android Island - Part 4 of 12

0 14
Avatar for muratkbesiroglu
3 years ago

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

I stood up, forcing myself and leaving aside the shame, asking, "Can you find me something to eat?"

"I don't think we've met before. My name is Tempor," said the android.

"My name is Barış. I'm an employee of Cognity."

"I can feel your pain, fellow. If you were running on electricity, I'd be happy to share my battery with you. If you give me a little time, I can fix your problem. Because people can eat a variety of things."

"Don't go anywhere! Can you fix my arm, which was broken during the disaster?"

"I can see that one of the bones in the lower part of his left arm is broken. I can't do the operation right now because there was a decline in my motor skills after the disaster. I feel like I'm even learning to walk again."

"Your friend Gor attacked me on the road yesterday. I think his mental skills have declined, too."

"Gor has been suspicious of everything since yesterday. There's no love left in his heart. But we are all reflections of the cosmic soul."

"If you find something to eat, you'll bring it to the cave on the Hill, won't you?" I said.

"I will do my best for you. The spirit of the universe accompanies all of us," Tempor said and left me with pals.

After looking after him for a while, I found myself on the ground, unable to resist the rain and fatigue any longer. I don't know how long I just lay under the raindrops that fall relentlessly from the sky. As I left my body to uncanny weakness, the fear of death engulfed me. I got up and started walking towards the ruined buildings behind the dock, swinging like a drunk. As people lived in these buildings, there must have been something to eat among the ruins. I squeezed my steps, taking strength from this thought that blossomed my hopes.

When I reached the plain where the ruins were, the weather calmed down, and the storm birds began to hover over the ocean. I walked up to the only wall standing, submerged in muddy water up to my ankles. The wooden floor behind the wall was covered with bricks, seashells, and pieces of broken goods. A little further, when I saw an overturned refrigerator, my heart was in a wave of excitement. Before long, this excitement left its place disappointment because it fell on the refrigerator lid, and I couldn't knock it to the side with the only arm I could use. I may have been clumsy, but no one would say anything about my perseverance. I tried to knock over the refrigerator by pulling with my right arm, resting, lying in the muddy water, and pressing it with my feet. After all the effort, when I couldn't move the refrigerator, I got down on my knees, put my head on the wall, and started crying out of anger. What kind of environment did I end up in? Did I commit a great sin without realizing it? As I tried to calm myself by taking deep breaths, I felt someone was secretly watching me. I turned my head and looked at the eyes that were standing on me. She was a woman in her fifties with brown skin. She had tied a blue scarf to her head that left her curved forehead exposed. She had large nostrils and dislocated cheekbones typical of Polynesian women.

"Now stop messing with the refrigerator. Your face is white. Come with me, I'll give you something to eat," the woman said.

I immediately accepted this offer, which led to a feeling of gratitude, and I took a few steps towards the woman.

"The waves took away your friends. It's a pity they were both real gentlemen. Maybe we can find them. Because they could swim."

The woman I walked next to must have been Gaelle, whose English was surprisingly good, which Cognity staff on the island praised. "We'll go looking for them. My name is Barış, by the way," I said.

"I was in the cellar when the waves came. I heard a great rumble. Then the water began to gush under the door. I got scared when the water rose to my knees. I forced the door to get out. It didn't open. The water was salty, so I understood the ocean had come. If I died, maybe I'd go to our lost paradise, Hiva. The water level in the cellar went up a little bit, but I wasn't too scared this time. Because there was no sound coming from the outside. When I pushed the door a little harder, it opened. Then daylight took my eye. The waves had taken the kitchen and the roof. I sat and cried when I saw the situation outside. When I cried, it was like sadness flowed over me."

When Gaelle told her story about the disaster, we reached the building she was talking about and went downstairs. "We don't have a spoon," she said as she handed me the small pot.

I drank the cold liquid with grains of rice and pieces of white meat in it. What I drank was so delicious. I could lick the bottom of the pot if I wasn't ashamed at that moment.

"Snail soup," she said, smiling.

I put the empty pot on the shelf next door and asked, "Can you fix my broken arm?"

"All I know is a little about herbs..."

"You have to fix the bones by checking them with your hand."

"I can't do it," Gaelle said. "I think you should go to bed and rest now. Because your color is still white like summer clouds."

In an environment where my colleagues face death, there would be no resting in the daytime. I checked three sides of the island, only the West Coast remained. I placed the damp blanket that Gaelle had given me on my shoulders, and we started walking out of the underground pantry to the west of the island. A flock of black-winged Fregat birds passed over us. Their wide, red necks glowed under grey clouds.

West Coast was not affected by the waves; curved-bodied palms, stunted redwoods, even ferns were intact. As I descended down the steep slope to the shore of the ocean, my eyes began to darken again, my knees began to tremble. I scanned the horizon, hoping to see a seaplane coming to save us; there was no one around except the storm birds that dived into the sea.

The fact that the energy sent from space to the Collector on the hill was not cut off indicates that the company still did not know what was happening to us. The young pilot of our plane may not have been able to report the incident to headquarters because he noticed the giant waves at the last moment. The seaplane would normally wait half a day on the island, as the team taking over the guard had to carry out the necessary checks on the island. Even considering that the way back would take around five hours, he didn't keep an account. The company should have been on alert by that point and cut off the power to the island.

On the beach, when I realized that the electromagnetic shield surrounding the island had disappeared, boiling water poured down my head. Gor, who attacked me the day before, headed north on the island on a boat. And he was standing on the surface of the ocean like an acrobat on a fast-moving boat.

At that moment, my heart was turned upside down with a terrible sense of defeat. Obviously, when I was in trouble, the androids took over the island. The childish, hysterical attitude that Gor displayed in our encounter the previous day had now been replaced by the gestures of a proud commander. It must have been true that I was careless, sloppy, and wasteful, as Nihan once said in a moment of anger. I probably concluded that androids would never behave inappropriately because of this optimism, and laziness of thought.

I began to make a collective assessment of the situation. Once, the boats that provided the connection between the seaplanes and the island were also the key to entering and exiting the island. They could only pass through the boundaries of the magnetic shield without being caught by robotic sharks. As soon as the androids captured one of the bots, they went out of the shield and had access to satellites in space and, therefore, the internet. The energy facility in space was similarly remote-controlled, and since the energy flow was still not cut off, it was very likely that they had taken its control.

0
$ 0.28
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of muratkbesiroglu
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for muratkbesiroglu
3 years ago

Comments