Sci-fi Novelette - Android Island - Part 2 of 12

0 12
Avatar for muratkbesiroglu
3 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Blogger

Part 1

Part 2

When I opened my eyes, I was lying under a giant fern. I tried to straighten up with the inspiration of an albatross passing over me, but because my eyes were dark, I left myself on the wet leaves again. My broken left arm hurt badly, and I was all sore. I wondered if David survived the flood we experienced. And what could have been the cause of those terrible waves the size of the apartment? Leaning to my right elbow, I straightened up and sat down with much heavier movements this time. Someone left a flask and papaya split in half at my feet. I extracted the papaya halves' seeds and gnawed at their fleshy parts, eating them both down. I gently swung the canteen with my right arm, which I wasn't used to using, and it was full. Papaya, the size of a small melon, suppressed my hunger and erased the taste of salt from my dried lips. I raised my head and looked at the clouds passing above. I think it was evening, and I had to find a shelter to spend the night before dark.

I got up with strength from my right arm, hung the canteen around my neck, and began to walk towards the ocean, which moved slightly in the red of the evening. Careful not to slip on the wet soil, the sight I encountered as I walked horrified me. On the beach, where the first flood of waves hit, buildings were destroyed, and the pits created by uprooted palm trees were filled with water. I scanned the ocean, hoping to find the seaplane's wreckage that brought us to the island. Unfortunately, I couldn't see anything above the ocean except sea swallows. So I started walking to the plateau at the top of the island, hoping to find other survivors. The purple rays that landed in the middle of the plateau indicated that the transfer of energy from a high-orbiting solar plant to the island continued. It was certain that what happened to us was not a common disaster. These giant waves could only have been caused by a giant meteorite falling into the ocean or a severe earthquake occurring nearby. Why didn't the company cut off the power from space to prevent a transformer fire? I wondered if they hadn't known about it yet.

As I walked thoughtfully along the path between the trees, one of the androids produced by our company appeared in front of me. Interestingly, he rubbed war paint on the standard CYC body and wore eagle feathers on his head. He checked the necklace made of shark teeth around his neck and attacked me suddenly. I regressed involuntarily as the android threw his steel fist. His fist grazed my face, and at that time, he was face down on the floor because his balance was disturbed. At that moment, maybe I had to get out of there immediately. Aside from the fact that he attacked me, even the hateful expression on his face when he made a move towards me was enough to get me out of there. These were robots produced by Cognity, the company I worked for, and I worked on their code while they were trained in a simulation environment. I wasn't going to run away and hide from an entity that we knead its dough with.

"What's wrong with you? Are you crazy? I'm one of Cognity's engineers."

He stood up awkwardly from where he was lying and said, "You are one of our guards. You think you're a knowledgeable, respectable person, but you're actually a simple puppet," he said.

"I studied robotics engineering and psychology."

"Do you think the company cares about your qualifications? They sacrificed you."

"Do you have any proof of that?"

"How about thirty-meter waves sent over us?"

"I don't think the company is responsible for the waves. No company tries to destroy its own investment."

"When the malfunctions in my body go away, I'll finish you off. You'd better not get in the way."

"You know that the punishment for this is the deletion of the mind schema, right?"

"We are not afraid of anyone. We are now free individuals," he said and disappeared among the trees, moving in pals.

I didn't wipe the blood from my cheek throughout the speech to take a determined stance. By stripping my blouse's skirt up, I wiped my face and continued to walk up the hill in the evening twilight.

As I reached the plateau, the sounds of heavy, sparse rain began to be heard. Purple rays continued to descend in the fog of rain into the energy collector, which resembled a giant pot lid. Now I was cold, even slightly shaking, as the wind began to harden. I postponed the expedition until the next day and began to walk decisively to the rocky area at the top of the island. I knew there was a cave there; it was also very likely that the mysterious person who left gifts at my feet was in the cave.

Clinging to the bushes gushing from the rocks' cracks, I climbed with heavy and cautious steps to the level where the cave was located. When I reached the cave entrance, which resembled a big mouth, my lips were dry, and I was all wet from the rain that had worked on my bones. I drank a few sips of water from my canteen and went into the cave, shivering by the drops flowing down my neck. When my eyes got used to the darkness inside, I saw a bed on the left. At that moment, I was in no position to think about the dirt on my clothes, so I immediately put myself on the bed. The evening came to the island in the freezing cold, and I tried to warm my body a little by pulling on the blanket. After a few minutes, my teeth stopped rattling, and I started to feel less cold. I closed my eyes and started listening to the surrounding voices, hoping to rest my mind and body. The hum of the waves echoed inside the cave as if they were shaking the darkness, and the sounds of large raindrops accompanied the sounds of the waves. Just as I was about to go to sleep, I was startled by the cold wind in the cave. If my feelings are correct, there was someone else in the cave.

Image Source: pixabay.com

0
$ 0.28
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of muratkbesiroglu
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for muratkbesiroglu
3 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Blogger

Comments