Sci-fi Novelette - Android Island - Part 1 of 12

0 18
Avatar for muratkbesiroglu
3 years ago
Topics: Fiction

Our seaplane descended slowly and landed on the turquoise ocean. After the belt warning lights went out, David and I got up from our seats and headed for the exit door. At this time, the cabin crew was lowering the boat that would carry us to the island. We put on our lifeguard vests on the bearded cabin attendant's sign and moved to the boat with cautious movements. Android Island, about which many conspiracy theories were produced, was now right in front of us. The dome-shaped electromagnetic shield surrounding the island was barely seen in the fog caused by rain. Purple rays descending from the sky added a surreal air to the island. Our boat advanced slowly, and when we crossed the border of the electromagnetic shield, the island's only pier became visible in the fog of rain. The most practical way to approach the island, which was surrounded by deep cliffs on three sides, was to use the pier to the North, and the few buildings on the island were located just behind the pier.

As we approached the island, the ocean's waters became smooth, and the storm birds flying above us began to rise into the sky with sharp screams. Because I sensed something weird, I turned and involuntarily looked back. A wave the size of an apartment was coming towards us, scattering white foam from the top. I couldn't open my mouth and say a word on this scene, which looked like the nightmares I had as a child; I was almost speechless. After me, David, who realized the situation immediately, was ecstatic with the fear he was experiencing and began to beg God in despair. Could that land that created terrible anaphors on the surface of the water be real? There was no storm or tsunami warning.

It was like everything was frozen in the buzzing embrace of the giant wave that was coming at us now. The warm wind that licked my face reminded me that I had to meet death with dignity. I turned and looked again at the deep abyss created by the wave coming towards us. The seaplane we had just abandoned capsized within seconds and was submerged in the waters, and the irresistible force of the approaching wave quickly began to pull our boat towards it. I closed my eyes with a dervish dignity to prepare for my inevitable end. Before long, the boat we were in was thrown into the air like a walnut shell, and I started drifting in the sparkling waters that were flowing. I was still conscious as I was pushed ashore, submerged in the water. At one point, I think I hit the cold sand at the bottom, and the currents created by the wave raised me back to the surface of the water. I could now feel my breath running out; after drifting in the water for a while, my body hit a hard object. I used the last crumbs of power left in my arms to cling to that object. Now I think my head had risen above the water, and I panicked and took deep breaths and filled my lungs with air. I was clinging to the trunk of a redwood on the island's slope, and I was able to put my feet on a solid branch. At that moment, I realized that a second elbow had formed on my left arm; my broken arm was aching terribly, my legs were shaking.

Before long, a new wave appeared before me that did not lag behind the first in size. Its sparkling top curled first, then capsized towards the beach with a large rumble as it approached the island. It moved forward, smashing what was left of the buildings on the coastline, uprooting the palm trees in front of it, and began to rise, bubbling up the slope where I was. Now I was at the limit of my stamina; my eyes were darkening, and my body was trembling. I fainted as the sparking black waters of the second wave approached the redwood where I clung.

Image Source: https://pixabay.com/photos/bora-bora-french-polynesia-sunset-685303/

0
$ 2.72
$ 2.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of muratkbesiroglu
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for muratkbesiroglu
3 years ago
Topics: Fiction

Comments