Let Bygones be bygones

32 40
Avatar for mommykim
2 years ago

July 05, 2021

‘An uncle is a blessing. It means so many things. Words could never tell the joy an uncle brings. An uncle is a bond of faith that even time can’t sever, a gift to last all of our life. An uncle is forever.’ – Irene Banks

As I have said I will make a part 2 about my Tito who, maybe just me thinking, was really angry at me.

He was a close relative of mine as he and my mom are really closest out of all their siblings. He's the youngest and spoiled in the family. Maybe that's the reason he hated me because I've been close to his father ever since. And since I'm the youngest in our family also sane as him. As in we were really close before and also we were close with his children, in fact, we do a sleepover in each other's house when we were just little.

For me, as I may think, his hatred started when I stop going to college to work instead. He's disappointed that I became a brat and followed my instincts on working instead of studying. And then, in addition, I keep on supplying and giving my grandparents the best help I can manage to give them in return for them being so good to our family.

I have told in Part 1 that we have reconciled after he asks for forgiveness. I am a person who gladly accepts an apology but not quite forget easily.

And then that day happened when I was electrified after putting my hand on unsafe electrical wiring in my room. When you get electrified your hands will not stop shaking, and until now they didn't heal. My hands were full of the open blasts that came from the shock. Mom and Dad cried while seeing my hands and told me to let them check by the doctor but I prefer to work that day. It was my Elder Sister's birthday so I planned to spend all my allowance to buy her a cake and a whole chicken with a personal gift. She was forgotten the morning because of my incident and I want to enlighten her a little. When I arrived home, I saw my Tito talking with my mom and he knew about the morning incident.

I thought we were fine after he apologized before. But I was shocked, my family who's in there at the dining was shocked too when he said. "I thought I'd be coming to your wake, not the birthday party, I was too glad to hear about what happened but got disappointed knowing you survived."

Then my Father suddenly stand up and told my Tito to go home. My Tito played dumb and ask him what's wrong and that he's just telling the truth. Mom slap my Tito hard and told him to get lost. Tito was shocked because my Mom was never like that. I was shocked too because Mom never lays a hand to anybody aside from us if she disciplines us on our wrongdoings.

Tito told Mom, "You go way out of boundaries because of your ugly daughter who only wants to boost in front of other people but never finished college?? What a shame of you woman?"

That's when my Dad punched him hard and told him to go home.

After that incident I never dare visit my Grandpa whenever I know my Tito would be around, I would go there when he's working. I don't want to be a burden or the cause of conflict within the family and my Grandpa so I prefer being out of their sight.

He is so proud of his daughters because they started college, but a year after got pregnant the first and second daughter. Then he got unemployed and his wife had an affair. I heard all the rumors but never dare laugh or judge for it's not right at all. Mom told me that my Tito was always drinking every day. Mom felt pity for her brother and I told her we'll help him and we'll find a way. Father also agreed with my decision. As I have said we don't engrave rage and we forgive easily. Got that ability from Dad.

When Grandpa died, we all mourn for his death and I am working in the city so every time I went home I would go directly to my Grandpa's house to help with the wake.

At the last wake of my Lolo, my Tito was there, drunk as usual, I paid my greetings (bless) at him and then joined my cousins in helping serve the people at the wake.

When it was time for me to go home because I still have to rest for the burial the next day. My Tito came up to me and ask if we could talk for a moment. I glanced at my Dad who suddenly sat up but I stop him and told him it's alright.

We walk near the kitchen where he happened to pushed me before. He asks for my forgiveness and said. " I guess Karma really hits me harder the moment I became harsh to you and put all my hatred on you. I thought I would never experience such a downfall but God really took all of my possessions in life. And I know I'm the reason for it all because of my envy and greed. I know I'm in no position to ask this but I just want to say sorry for all of my faults to you and your family. Our relationships have been taunted because of me and I am deeply regretting it now. Losing your grandpa is the hardest but I hope you could still find a space of forgiveness in your heart for your uncle."

Speechless at first, but then I just hugged them and told him it's alright. We all have our reasons for committing mistakes but nothing better than a long talk and reconciliation.

Now, my Tito's back in his job after months of pursuing it. And his wife came home. His daughters now have each a family and just visits him often.

Thoughts:

Let bygones be bygones and learn from them. Move on.

Don't hate my Tito so much. He changed for the better.😊

Thank you for reading.

God Bless.

Fin!

11
$ 18.16
$ 17.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 5
Sponsors of mommykim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mommykim
2 years ago

Comments

Kahit anong mangyari, ang pamilya ay mananatiling pamilya. Medyo nakarelate din ako ng konti. Magkaalitan din kasi kami ng uncle ko noon. Hindi kami nagkapansinan for almost 3 months. Kahit may kasalanan siya sa amin ng kapatid ko, pinili ko pa rin na magpatawad. Naaawa din kasi ako sa kanya. Kaya ako pa rin ang gumawa ng unang hakbang para magkabati kami. Ngayon na wala na siya, binulong ko sa kabaong niya ang aking kapatawaran. Hindi rin kasi maganda ang magkikim ng galit. Hindi ka magiging tunay na masaya kung may galit ka sa puso.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

really true beb..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is always better to stay the same and not plant hate in our hearts towards others no matter what they have done. Karma, as they may say, really slaps hard. But people always have a chance to change for the better. I am glad because your Tito has changed for the better. Good morning po. :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

he really did change and ask for forgiveness,,,all is well with him right now thnk you!

Good morning and God Bless!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are great Noona, napaluha lang akong kunti coz in the end nagkapatawaran talaga. Love lang, wala na dapat away away. Forget and forget din, hehe. Saka nagsisi naman talaga sya, buti nalinawan din sya, ma hindi ikaw ang kalaban, wala namang war bat baga magkaka inggitan, aguyy. I'm happy foe your Noona. 🤗🤗🤗🍰🎉🎊🥧🎂

$ 0.05
2 years ago

kaya nga baby gerl eh...ang nakakalungkot is kailangan pa talaga niya mawalan nang lahat bago niya ma realize..buti nagbago na xia

$ 0.00
2 years ago

While I'm reading this, I was, I don't know what to say, I don't know what I felt but only this you're such a good humored to your uncle Mommykim despite all he did to you but you still choose the forgiveness. I am really happy that you and you're uncle is in good terms now. I'm really proud of you Mommykim, you're really kind and having a good heart. God bless.😇

$ 0.03
2 years ago

As I always say it's all thanks to my parents..they raised us to be a mirror of their good personalities..

thank you beb for acknowledging☺☺☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit anu pang mangyari, pagbalik-baliktarin man ang mundo, pamilya mo parin siya..😊 At least kinakitaan mo din naman na may pagbabago po..

God bless to you and your family!😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ako kasi pag ginawan nang masama di naman ako nag kikimkim..may iba't ibang dahilan naman kasi ang tao kung bat nagawa niya ang isang bagay... happy na rin ako kasi nag bago na xia..

😍😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good for you po!😊☺️

All the best for you..🤗❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

❤❤❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beeeb 😭😭 I almost cried while reading this. You have such a big heart. I don't know what to say, I wanted to be amd at your tito but I just can't because of you. Your heart is so genuine 😭❤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i guess my parents really did raise me well beb...☺☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo talaga beb.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti tito niyo kahit may nasabi sainyo ng masasakit na salita nag bago siya, samantalang po sa mga kapatid ng papa ko inaway nila ang papa ko hinsi manlang nila ginalang bilang nakatatandang kapatid. Wala naman kaming ginagawa sakanila inggit sadyang panget lang ugali ng mga tita ko. Pero ganon pa man hinayaan nalang namin sila,hindi namin sila pinatulan sabi ni mama samin okay lang yan maliitin nila kami basta kami daw ay walang ginagawang masama.

By the way Nice to meet you po 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You kept mentioning your Tito, your Tito so I was beginning to wonder why you called him like that when you two weren't in good terms. I guess the reason for the confusion is because I am just reading the second part of this article and didn't get the full info since I didn't read the first one.

When I got to the point you mentioned his wife and then his daughters lol, I understood better. I am glad YOUR TITO apologized and you guys moved on. Truly, we should just let bygone be bygone for our own good and benefit. For our sanity and peace of mind. There is nothing as satisfying as that.

Nice to meet you all the same mommykim!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

thank you for reading and for passing on this article of mine,..it;s an honor.nice to meet you too

God Bless!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And bless you too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waaah. Grabe talaga magsalita. Pero atleast nagbago. I'm happy that he changed. You're such a good human being, ma!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

kudos sa parents ko sa pagpapalaki nila samin nak!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let it be and let it go..hndi naman dn maiibabalik ang kahapon kya kalimutan nlng.. Anyway, you guys are still family..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

kaya nga po...kudos na rin sa parents ko kasi di nila kami tinuruan na maghiganti pag kami na a agrabyado...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im happy that you have reconciled with your tito for real and he asked your forgiveness. Salut to you, you have a soft heart and will able to forgive your tito. Sometimes people go far like that when they feel envy to others.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I was raised equally I guess..kudos to my parents...heheh thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your parents must be proud of you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sakit naman magsalita tito niyo pero im glad na nagbago siya...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yeah...ganyan talaga xia..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh... Sigh of good relief :) Good to know you're back on good terms already. He must have been jealous of you back then or feeling guilty that he couldn't share or provide for his father while you, his niece can do just that.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

that's what I thought also...glad he changed..I mean the whole family is happy that he came back to his old self now!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is one of the things we can do as a person, to change for the better. But it doesn't always happen, and for some, it would be too late already by the time they realize their misgivings. Really glad your tito made it back to his good self.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we are all glad too.. I guess having those downfall really made him realized what he'd done and slowly regretting it..

$ 0.00
2 years ago