What If?

12 48

It has been almost 2 years since this pandemic started. I can clearly remember that time when the Philippines is looming for a lockdown.

The night of March 12, 2020, I was on night shift then. There were rumours spreading that there will be a lockdown. I shrugged it off thinking that if ever a lockdown will happen, I can get to experience work from home. I was also thinking that the lockdown will last for only a month. Little did I know that will be the last day that I'll be seeing my teammates and the office.

Many things happened that night in my 12hr shift. From rumours, to receiving an email instructing us to get some laptops to take home. From witnessing how long the lines are in the cashier at the grocery, to panic buying of essentials. From a possible person under investigation because he had a close contact to a person who has COVID19, to almost tagging us in our team as PUIs because of that. From disinfecting the whole floor while we were on shift, to issueing us face masks before we go home. I also remembered they conducted an emergency townhall without giving us further information on what to do. It was a long night basically.

After shift, I jokingly told my teammates "See you next month!". And that's it. I never got to see them again.

What if COVID19 didn't happen? What would I be doing now? What's my status?

The pre-pademic reality is getting blurred as time goes by. And I can't help thinking of the things that I should be doing at the moment, without a threat of dying because of the virus.

Maybe if COVID19 does not exist, I could have stayed in my job. I could have signed up for a crossfit class to try on. Maybe, I could've attended more yoga classes than before. Maybe, we could've celebrated my birthday somewhere. We could've have finished planning and building our house in Cavite. Maybe, we could've had a baby. We could've celebrated Peñafancia Festival. We could've gone out of the country for vacation for the first time with my husband. We could've gone videoke or partying with friends. We could've celebrated Christmas and New Year with our families. Maybe, my father-in-law could still be alive by now. Maybe, I could have tried other things that are out of my comfort zone. We have so many plans. But COVID19 is a b*tch that gets in the way.

Also, I can't help thinking that these 2 years has been wasted. Everyone has been deprived of the time that was supposed to be productive, or something. Even worse, thousands of us have been deprived of the life that they could have been living if only COVID19 didn't happen.

Sorry if I get too sentimental on this. Recalling pre-pandemic things and our future plans somewhat makes me have a thing to look forward to. Just to keep my hopes alive. Even if it is a bit murky, I still believe that everything will get back to normal. It may not be soon, but it will.

Thanks for reading my piece of mind! I hope you're having a good day despite of everything that's happening. Until the next post!

Check out my generous sponsors!

Sponsors of mgrshgian
empty
empty
empty

Lead image screencapped by me while playing Ghost of Tsushima hehehe

6
$ 0.20
$ 0.05 from @renren16
$ 0.05 from @melsiebelsie
$ 0.05 from @Micontingsabit
+ 3
Sponsors of mgrshgian
empty
empty
empty

Comments

In our country school colleges are opened but still our batch did not got any base like university yet. We are still waiting for the admission exam to get admitted into public university.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good to hear that your schools are about to re-open. Here in the Philippines, I don't know if they still have plans to reopen the schools. Everything's messed up here specially we're currently in the third wave.

I hope it goes well to you in your admission exam in school. Stay safe always!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Everything turned upside down in just a snap .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly! Just when you have many plans then boom, pandemic and lockdown. I'm still hoping everything will be back in place but it'll take a while.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very thoughtful, I never imagined that we would such surreal world during this pandemic, I fear that it will be a long time before life is as it was before this whole thing started, but I have hope that we will have better days ahead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it will really take time before we go back in pre-pandemic state. But just keep our hopes high, we'll get through this.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Those what ifs we wouldn't ask if this pandemic didn't happen... pero nanjan na sya, atleast we werw able to appreciate things ...,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kaya nga eh. minsan nga marerealize mo na lang nga na may mga bagay tayong na-take for granted nung pre-pandemic pa. kaya ngayon, naaappreciate mo na sya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually po.., mukhang kailangan pa may mangyari para matauhan tayo at magpasalamat sa mga bagay bagay...,

Pero sana matapos na itong pandemic na ito ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang kailangan lang din na malaya tayo, yung iniisip natin, trabaho, sarili at pamilya at magsaya. Ngayon, dumagdag pa to'ng problema na to. Hayy naku, sana lang talaga ay matapos na at kahit hindi na bumalik sa dati, may bagong opportunities na dumating sa susunod na bukas.😌

Let's be positive..

Keep safe po!❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mismo yan! Fighting lang! Hehehe! Positive sa mindset, negative sa virus! Ingat rin kayo! 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat po..❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago