NBI Hit!

9 30

I mentioned in my previous post (Salad Saturdays: Pre-Employment Requirements, Birthday, and other things again...) that I had an NBI Clearance experience that was funny and frustrating at the same time.

So I though of writing this one in a separate post. I'll be also sharing with you some of the steps I have taken in getting my NBI Clearance specially when you have a hit.

Disclaimer: This is not an official guide on how to get your NBI Clearance however, may this post help you with it. In my case, I have to apply for a new clearance since it has been 10 years since I had mine. For updated and complete guidelines, go to https://nbiclearance-online.com/nbi-clearance/nbi-clearance-online-application-for-2021-updated-07162021/

Click image for the image source

NBI Clearance is one of the most common pre-employment requirements needed for most of the employers here in the Philippines. I think the main reason is that to make it clear that you don't have any existing cases or any criminal record in the court.

SO, HOW DO YOU APPLY FOR IT?

There is not much different process when applying for it compared from pre-pandemic times. Only that, you have to secure an online registration for it now for a faster transaction.

Go to https://clearance.nbi.gov.ph/ to register an account. You will see immediately the advisory for some of its qualified requirements.

Click image for the image source

I remember I prepared my passport (with my maiden name in it) and my marriage certificate (proof that I am married).

After you tick 'Close', you'll see in the right part of the page where you need to REGISTER. If you are a new applicant, tick on 'NO'. Then fill out the required fields. Take note of the mobile number has to be active in order for you to get the generated OTP for confirmation.

Click on 'READ and ACCEPT TERMS OF SERVICES' then the capcha that you are not a robot. Then click on 'Sign up'.

I will not go much about the details on how you fill out everything. You may check it out here https://nbiclearance-online.com/nbi-clearance/nbi-clearance-online-application-for-2021-updated-07162021/#Register%20an%20Account.

By the way, I paid through GCash for a total of Php 155 pesos (Php 130 for the clearance itself, and Php 25 for the service fee.). But you can also pay directly in the NBI office that you will be applying on minus the Php 25. It is up to you if you want it online or not.

FROM MAKATI TO MONTALBAN REAL QUICK

One part of my online registration is that I have to choose which NBI Office I will apply my clearance. Since I need it immediately, the earliest time and available slots available is in Rodriguez Municipal Hall. Nearby offices in Makati are all full and they have slots for the next week. I had no choice but to go to Rodriguez, Rizal. Imagine, 25 km from my place! I had to take multiple commutes before I get there.

My application went smoothly since there are very few people lining up for application (which is nice!). It only took me 5 mins there. However, my name has a hit. So, I have to go back after a week to get my clearance.

WHAT'S A HIT?

Even in my maiden name before, I already have a hit. So, what is it?

If your NBI clearance application has a “hit” status, it means that either you or your namesake (i.e., a person who shares the same name as you) is linked to records or information that are criminal in nature. - From Filipiknow.net

I know to myself that I don't have any criminal cases or anything that warrants a case in court. So what made my name a hit?

According to what I have read online, most likely because my first name is too common that it warrants a hit. Labo di ba?

For example, my name is MARIA CHENELIN KINEME CRUZ. Even if you have a unique first name and a common surname (or vice versa), if there is a MARIA CRUZ that has a criminal case, then your name will be considered a hit. Labo pa rin di ba?

I mean, they could have it filtered more specific. Ughhh database things...

THE FUNNY AND FRUSTRATING PART...

In my case, after a week I came back to Montalban to get my clearance. I was really expecting it to get it there at the moment when the NBI Clearance office told me:

"Ikaw ba yung kukuha ng clearance?" (Are you the one who will get the clearance under this name?)

"Opo. Bakit po?" (Yes, why?)

"May kaso na nakapangalan sa iyo. Puntahan mo to sa NBI sa may Taft para makuha mo yung clearance mo." (Your namesake has a pending criminal case. You may go to NBI in Taft to get your clearance.)

To tell you, I am shocked and angry at the same time. Yung kapangalan ko may kaso?! Galing pa ako sa malayo tapos hindi ko makukuha ngayon yung clearance ko?! AAAAAHHHHH!

I have no choice, I need them to expedite my clearance so I did go to the NBI Main Office in Taft, Manila.

THEN, I FOUND OUT THAT...

I endured an hour and a half going to Taft from Montalban (thank you for the LRT and MRT trains, my commute was quite fast).

I didn't need to line up outside just to get into the NBI Office. The NBI Officer in Montalban told me to go to the Quality Control for checking of my record.

I read online that they will conduct an interview for you to check your identity and if the case really belongs to you. So this NBI Agent somewhat interrogated me. And I found out the reason that I have a hit.

NBI Agent: "Hmmm... (my name)... Meron kang tumalbog na cheke."(You have a stale check.)

Me: "Wala po akong cheke or any checking account!" (I don't have any checking account!)

NA: "Kelan ka pinanganak?" (When were you born?)

Me: October 7 19**

NA: "Kelan ka kinasal?" (When did you get married?)

Me: February 1 20**

NA: "Maliban sa Marikina at Makati, may tinirahan ka pa bang ibang lugar?" (Aside from Marikina and Makati, did you have any other residential addresses?)

Me: "Wala po. Dun lang sa Marikina at Makati lang po." (None. Only in Marikina and Makati.)

NA: "Kelan mo pa ginagamit yung pangalan mo na married?" (When did you start using your married name?)

Me: "After po ng kasal ko." (Right after I wedded.)

NA: "Sure na wala kang checking account sa kahit anong banko?" (Are you sure you don't have any checking accounts in any banks?)

Me: "Wala po." (None.)

Then he told me that a certain (my name) has a case of a stale check, who resides in Valenzuela City. He might need me to go to San Juan Court for additional documents needed. I am really tired and hungry that time that I don't have energy to go there.

Since it is already 3pm, the NBI Agent just told me to file an Affidavit of Denial, have it notarized and attach a photocopy of my marriage certificate. Then he will release my clearance. No need for me to go to San Juan. That just gave me a big relief!

He advised me that there is a nearby Notary Public that I can go to. So I went there, secured my Affidavit of Denial, then got back to the NBI Agent. They released my clearance! YEEEEYYYY!!!

After hours of commute, moist face mask and face shield, and a lot of walking, I FINALLY GOT MY NBI CLEARANCE!

I got home via Grab. I really wanted a milktea so bad because of what I have gone through. So I ordered one when I got home.

It was funny and surprising because I really can't believe that I have a namesake, and that namesake has a court case! She made my life so difficult in securing my NBI clearance.

Anyway, I don't know the takeaway of this story hahaha! I mean, life should be much easier and better only if these things can be accomplished online. I am not only talking about the NBI only but all of the government offices.

And to that someone who has my same name, I hope you clear your case soon.

That's all for now! Until my next post!


Check out my sponsors! They have amazing entries here in read!

Sponsors of mgrshgian
empty
empty
empty

You can also check out my other entries here!

Lead image screencap from https://clearance.nbi.gov.ph/

3
$ 0.25
$ 0.10 from @LucyStephanie
$ 0.10 from @Micontingsabit
$ 0.05 from @melsiebelsie
Sponsors of mgrshgian
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Ay grabe naman yun. Now lang ako nakaalam ng bakit nagkaka-hit ang ibang tao. Haha. It's terrible to have a namesake that has a bad case. Whew. I suggest you still do the San Juan thing if the affidavit doesn't fix it in the future. Baka mangyari ulit yang hit sa'yo next time eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Suggestion nga sa akin nung NBI Agent, ipaphotocopy ko na yung Affidavit of Denial at yung NBI Clearance ko ngayon para daw next time, meron na akong proof na nakakuha ako ng clearance.

Pinagpepray ko si ate gurl na kapangalan ko na sana masettle nya kaso nya agad. Sana ok lang sya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahahaa buti ka pa pinagpe-pray mo kapangalan mo. Hahaha. Para di ka na magka-hit. XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero sabi ko sana hindi masarap ulam nya nung araw na yon kase pinahirapan nya ako sa clearance ko hahahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bwahaha. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hirap nga yan kapag may kapareha ka ng name tapos may kaso kasi pati ikaw na enosente matatagalan sa pag process .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga! Kaya ren nagpanic ako kase baka akusahan ako sa kaso na hindi naman talaga sa akin. Hassle talaga!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi dn ba kasama ung middle name sa pagccheck? Nakakaloka na super duper same name dn ano Ahahahah. Anyways, alam na natin gagawin kung sakali. Sana lang dn may improvement sa process nila kapag ganyan ung case kahit email or text nuh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang nakawildcard yung pagsearch nila ng name kaya kahit hindi mo kapareho ng name talaga, lalabas yung result. Dapat nga gawan ng paraan yung pagcheck ng identity ng tao eh.

Dami pera, puro kurakot instead iimprove yung infra nila. Tssss...

$ 0.00
2 years ago