You're Such an Idiom! Just Saying...

27 100
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Each and every one of us has a skeleton in the closet. We all have that dark secret that we keep within our deepest compartment and we try to hide it so no one will be able to see it. It may be because you are ashamed of it, or maybe because if that secret gets out, it will be the end of your life as you know it.

I knew someone whose secret started as a joke, he was trying to pull someone's leg but that someone believed him seriously and it resulted badly. The guilt he felt and brought along with him is so immense that he took the wrong way down in life. That's just hard, so hard. I could never imagine what I would do if I was in his shoes.

Even when I was a kid, people kept saying that you should never bite the hand that feeds you. That's exactly what an acquaintance of mine did. He was supposed to be a trusted aid who had access to his master's skeletons in the closet. He was paid to be loyal and honest but due to his greed he opted to sell his master's secrets and he paid that gamble dearly. He lost everything, from his livelihood to the life he knows. Well, he's still breathing so that's a plus, but I don't know if he calls living what he does now.

I could also understand what this person has done, it was really tempting to do whatever it takes when greed comes into your mind. The only thing I guess that the master has done wrong was to put all his eggs in one basket so everything was destroyed once it all went out. He was not really careful enough about them and he succumbed to the false sense of security brought by NDA's and other weak measures.

When everything got out in the open, he just had to put two and two together and he was able to figure out who the culprit is. He was able to immediately determined that this friend of mine has betrayed him and he was furiously seeking retribution.

After everything that happened, there are still some good things that happened despite all that. My friend apparently was adamantly convincing my cousin to help him and to assist in uncovering his master's secrets. He wanted my cousin to be his confidante and willing accomplice. But thankfully, he refused and he never associated himself with my friend's plans. He was able to dodge the bullet there. I'm really grateful for that.

Well, if I may just give my two cents, that was really a case of misjudgment on my friend's case and whatever he was supposed to gain was not worth all the trouble and the risks he gambled. That's a poor decision on his side.

Hey there !!!

Pardon all those exclamation marks, I'm just really excited to be visited by you today. I think you just read my mind, yes! You are right, this is another part of our initiative #prompfactory which tries to help aspiring writers who are facing a huge block in front of them.

If you are one of those? Well, you can use this guide to somehow try to get around that block and to get the creative juices flowing.

So here's how the prompt goes :

Pick a random set of "sayings" or idiomatic expressions and mix them all up together to create a simple narrative.

For this particular article, I used a generator to give me some random sayings or idioms and these are what I got :

Skeleton in the closet: this roughly means a secret someone is trying really hard to hide. And this secret is usually something that is really embarrassing and would really be detrimental to someone's image or reputation.

Pull someone's leg: saying something that is not true as a joke. Lying to someone in a playful manner as a joke.

Bite the hand that feeds you: to act in an ill manner towards a person that helps or has helped you. Being ungrateful.

All your eggs in one basket: Putting all of one's effort and/or resources into one thing. Hmmm, I think that I did not use this one right, but I hoped that you get the point and you understood what I was trying to say in the passage.

Put two and two together: to draw an obvious conclusion or an inference based on what was presented or established.

Dodge the Bullet: narrowly avoiding a serious, unwelcome, dangerous, and/or disastrous situation.

Give my two cents: giving one's opinion no matter what the value of it may be. Usually an unsolicited opinion or insight.

Anyway, I really hope you got what I was saying, and I hope that you join me with this one and try making your own version. I would really love to see what you can produce, so with that, as always ...

Cheers!!!

Series    : Prompt Factory
Title     : You're Such an Idiom! Just Saying...
Published : 18-Oct-2021
Author    :  © RB 

22
$ 18.92
$ 18.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
+ 7
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Es asombroso como unos te todo bien acomodado en este escrito tullo. Todo una creación. Lo adore. Linda tarde. Te saludo desde Cuba

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gracias.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is an advise to me and all that you said is true. Putting all head into one basket isn’t good at all. It’s not a good idea

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it really is not. so keep them wisely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Got it! Haha. Saving for future reference. Hmm

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha it's always the future.. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya ako never ko pang shenare sa iba ang darkest secret ko ahahaha. Mahirap na, trust no one man!

Anyways, pa save pag walay akonh maisip tatry ko to. Madsm @jane di mo na need mag join, nakagawa kana ng ganito before ee, charowttt lang ahahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah trust me. ano ung secret mo? ahha I will not stab you in the back. (I'll do it in the front) HAHAHAHAA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bwahahahaha, pano yong stab sa front ba? Anong klaseng stab? Anong tools? Mo? Bwahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

something hard, something long and round.. ahah like a tube. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha... Ipaubaya ko nlng syo lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This will be fun. i can't wait to write on this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i surely hope so, I know I had a lot of fun with it! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Idioms make the statement colorful. Would surely make this one of these days. Thank you for this writing prompt. Well, as always 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

they surely do. They put the colors back in the rainbow. :) I'll be over the moon if you could all participate in this one. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems interesting. I bookmarked this! I'll try this one when rainy days come again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's always a rainy day to me... :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whut?? How come? You're publishing good contents every day, you know. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly! Every day is a rainy day so I am used to it. It's always the same.. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! Very interesting and exciting prompt. One would definitely make the brain think and think again. Thank you for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeep! I just wanted to shake things up in my brain,, keep it sharp and running you know...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like how you incorporated all these idioms into an article and made it with grace. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh my gosh... I am with grace? hehe thanks much love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you are. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

awww.. I'm so flattered. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha wow. I like idioms and some of these were new to me... ☺️ Thanks... Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

idioms are fun to use. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago