Heat Me Baby One More Time!

13 31
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Freewrite

A scorching hot afternoon. Usually, I don't really feel the heat of the sun during these times since I am always in the office where the inside of the building is cool and just chill. But since Monday our air-conditioning unit in the office is broken. The guy who's supposed to fix and maintain the unit is out due to you know, this pandemic. Apparently he's on quarantine and yep, I am not argue with that. May he recover and get well soon. So we can all work efficiently and properly.

I said to work efficiently, shouldn't that be always the case? Well it should, but in all honesty, I can't really function well in this kind of temperature. Just sitting here without moving a muscle makes me perspire like I was running for my life. I'm sweating through my shirt. I've used almost a pack of tri-fold tissue paper and several scratch papers to keep my back dry. I can't really use my brain in this weather.

You might say that the problem is simple enough to solve. Open the windows, right? If only that's possible. Our office is enclosed by glass panes. No windows, just a door made of glass. Now imagine those glasses exposed in the scorching heat of the king sun. I'm like a butter left out in the summer's day. Now I have the urge to play that song from BTS.

For me, I function well in a cool dry place. Oooh that phrase sounds familiar, where did I hear that again? Anyway yeah, I function well even when my fingers are going stiff and numb from the cold. I like to feel that wheezing of chilling wind behind my head and to put in plainly, the cold never bothered me anyway. Again, that sounds familiar.

Weirdly enough though, this kind of heat makes me so sleepy. I remember back in college when I get home from school at around 2 or 3 in the afternoon. I lay in my bed with the sun directly shooting the windows in my room and I was able to sleep. I will only be awakened when I am totally drenched in sweat. I don't know what it is but the drowsiness this heat brings is something that I could not resist. Again, I'm alive when it's real cold.

When I was a kid, I used to play out in the heat of the sun regardless the time of day. I don't know if it is just hotter now or I lost my immunity to the heat since I am often sheltered away from the sun's rays. I remember playing basketball when it is 12 noon when the sun is at its highest. It don't bother us, it's just the way it goes. But today, one minute in the open and I feel like I'm toast.

Agh. The heat. It's frying my brain dry. I was about to write a couple of articles earlier but boom, the motivation, the topic, all gone. Maybe they evaporated along with a lot of my sweat. Did I already mention that I am sweating a lot? Really? I did. Because yes, I do!

My colleagues bought some ice cubes earlier to feed our gigantic industrial fans. I took a couple and wiped it all over my skin. It was cold, it was wet, and it was hot. Wait what? Oh yeah, maybe I'm getting confused because I'm reminded of that one scene from a particular movie. I swear, it's really hot, I'm 50 shades of red now.

I just hope that our ac's work for next week. I just really can't stand this goddamn heat.

Hey there!

If you haven't realized by now, this is another freewriting exercise I did. I have no prompt in mind so I just used the word I was using all day. It's hot! And not the good kind of hot. What about you? How do you prefer your surroundings be? And do you have any secret to work in this kind of environment? I heard that if you think it's cold even though it's hot, it will trick your brain to feel the cold. Yep, I tried it, and my brain was just to smart for that trickery.

Anyway, I appreciate you dropping by and as always,

Cheers!!! Oh, I really need a drink now.


References :

Lead image : https://www.mydr.com.au/sports-fitness/heat-stroke-and-heat-exhaustion/

9
$ 10.07
$ 9.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Freewrite

Comments

Itโ€™s only thing I miss in the office - the aircon ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ Itโ€™s so hot lately, I canโ€™t even function ๐Ÿ˜ญ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaa I so feel you. I do. But it's too bad. AC in the office is still aint fix

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang init nmn talaga lalo na satin juskoo iba na init ngayon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyy oo grabehan ang init. Nakakapanlagit nakakatuyo, nakakapawis. Lahat lahat na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This summer is really threatening though ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really is.. keep hydrated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Elsaaaaaaa ahahaha. Ang hirap ng ganyan. Dapat may pamaypay ka wag kana mag work paypay nalang haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha oo nga.. di na ko nag work tlga ay. Ang hirap kaya mag isip ahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, mag ingay ka nalang kesa mag work sus. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hhaha oo nga. Total di nagana utak ko haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napakanta ako sa title ๐Ÿ˜… Anyways I enjoyed your free writing article. My muscle groups moves as I smile while reading. Thanks for sharing us your free write.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha may chorus pa yan haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha cge patuloy mo Lang baka masayaw na rin ako

$ 0.00
2 years ago