My experience in a movie theater during the pandemic and an opinion on the movie Dune

15 52
Avatar for mc5punk
2 years ago

Greetings friends of the community, it is a pleasure to write to all of you again. On this occasion I come to tell you about my return to a movie theater after more than a year since the pandemic of covid-19 started, and I must say that it was a little different than what I was used to, and I will also give my opinion about the movie that has just been released called Dune. So without further ado let's get started.

It turns out that it all started after a proposal from my brother very early in the day for us to go out to the movies, and I accepted to go, then after lunch I started to hesitate to leave the house, but given the insistence and the sense of commitment that I had to him I decided to go.

Multi-cinema located in the Sambil shopping mall in the city of Barquisimeto, Venezuela.

As soon as we left we headed to the mall that is half an hour walk from our home, and we had to go this way because in our city there are problems with the public transport system and we also did not have cash to pay at the time of entering these transport units. As soon as we arrived and after going through a good part of the mall we found the multi-cinema (you know, those big chains that have several modern movie theaters), we started to look at the billboard to see what movies were available, after reviewing them all we had to make the decision between two movies which were "007 - No Time to Die" and "Dune", and we chose Dune because it was about to start and the other one was no longer available due to the schedule, so we went to buy the tickets and in total we spent 4, 50$US for two people (in Venezuela given the terrible crisis we live in that figure represents half of a person's salary for a month). We could not buy candy because we did not have enough money. Then we proceeded to wait for the time to see the movie, and once the time came we proceeded to enter the room and then sit in our respective seats, and I must say that these were very comfortable as they were of the Premium room because they were fully reclinable as well as enough space between the seats to not be so close to other companions, the air conditioning was at a very acceptable level as well as sound for the sound system 5. 1 sound system (if I am not mistaken), but on the other hand, due to the Covid-19 pandemic the company decided to leave several empty seats between people to avoid contagions.

Now let's go to the movie

Denis Deville, the same director who was in charge of Balde Runner 2049, now presents Duna, a science fiction film set in the year 10191, where he shows us a world where several peoples are on various planets and are ruled by a great empire. One of these people is waiting for the rise to power of a young prince who will take over his kingdom but several enemies will be responsible for preventing it.

Duna is a great story to be told, and the two and a half hour running time is not enough, so it is made clear at the very beginning of the screening that this film is only the first part. On the other hand, its story, despite being an introduction, is not boring but rather entertaining without being spectacular. The most outstanding thing is its masterful direction, music and great special effects, everything produces an almost hypnotic effect on the viewer, making him never stop getting bored or wanting to leave the theater. Finally, I can only say that this movie is not recommended for people who expect unbridled action at every minute because in this movie you must be attentive to the dialogues to understand the motivations of the characters.

As for you, have you seen it yet? What is your opinion? Let me know in the comments box and I'll be happy to read them.

Without further ado, I'll see you in the next installment. See you soon.

Image source:

https://mapio.net/images-p/68665137.jpg

https://dunenewsnet.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/08/Dune-Movie-Official-Poster-banner-feature.jpg

Sponsors of mc5punk
empty
empty
empty

8
$ 3.24
$ 2.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @nomadghada
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 4
Sponsors of mc5punk
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mc5punk
2 years ago

Comments

Dune was very fascinating to see. It's quite different than the other sci-fi movies because there's not much action. The movie is really slow and because of that some people could be disappointed, but not me... I like it. It's like a breath of fresh air in today's cinematography. I'm only sad that I only saw it on my laptop, I believe it was epic on the big cinema screen :) thank you for this article. It was nice to read about your experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you were able to see the film in spite of everything. And totally true, in the cinema the experience is much better. Thanks for commenting and sharing your opinion. Best regards.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also had the option of choosing between "Dune" and "No Time To Die" but went with Dume because I have been a fan of the book for a long time. Glad you enjoyed the movie, cheers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

With what I read in your publication I have yet to read the book as well. Thanks to you for commenting. I send you a hug.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thanks my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad you enjoyed yourself. Wouldn't be cheaper to get Netflix for US $1.99 a month on your phone? Just curious.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One could but in Venezuela we cannot pay because the systems to pay on the Internet (credit cards, Paypal, etc.) are blocked or present many problems, due to the blockades that have been imposed to punish our government, and that such effects affect the population in general. What many people do is to ask their relatives abroad to share the account since it is cheaper and easier for them to cancel the money, besides, we also have problems with the Internet service at a national level since many companies have not made investments in technology renovation or in some cases the criminals have stolen the cables that provide the service.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Makes sense. It's a mess there. My parents recall when it was one of the richest countries (before my time).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How do your parents know that?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are older and remember watching the news about how your country was wealthy when it produced a lot of oil.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that was in the 70's, 80's and first half of the 90's of the last century. By the way, where are you from?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Philippines. Much, much better here but far from perfect.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know you have a good president, I hope you can move forward with the changes your society needs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not voting for anybody. All corrupt.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I understand, it is a shame that what you say happens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago