My past month

9 28
Avatar for maxpollins
2 years ago
Sponsors of maxpollins
empty
empty
empty

Ohoh, I have been absent for a long time, maybe too much and I am really sorry... I think I need to explain what is happening to me right now, in few words: my life is changing completely.

@ pixaby

Why? As I mentioned in past articles and posts I am starting a PhD program in the UK. This program is amazing, in the first term we are having programming, maths and statistics lessons.
In January I'll start a 3 months project in a lab, I need to talk and discuss the topic with my supervisor in November. In April I'll start a 3 months placement in a company not related to research, I need to choose this company carefully because this choice will affect my future. And later in summer I'll start a little mini project strictly related to what I will do in my PhD!
As you read I'll be really busy next year but I would like to find time to write something again here, once my life is balanced again.

@ pixabay

By the way, I have started my courses on 27th September.
Week 0 was the "induction week", the Professor presented us the program, some projects etc. and we did a super foolish thing called "speed PhD". In 3 days we were asked to complete a PhD, lol, with all the reports, submission of thesis and papers. It was something crazy but we had fun at the end!
Week 1 we started some maths revision, it was ok because it was a full revision of all the maths programs I did in high school. Something soft as a start! We also started R coding, I think this code is not so difficult as could be and it quite user-friendly... there are also a lot of suggestions and tutorials available on the internet since it is the most universal code for data scientists! We did some basic graphs as plots and histograms. We also had 2 lessons of statistics with a super nice teacher, she is so excited about the topic and listening to her is amazing!
Week 2 (this week) We are going on with R coding, learning new function and starting doing some tricky stuff. We have started using/studying another code called shell", it is not easy at all, not user-friendly and I don't like it too much... but on the other hand, it will be really useful for RNAseq analysis!

Next week we will go on with the training, learning a lot more on coding and being always more hacker people ahahah
I'll move at the end of the Month so probably I'll tell you about my journey!

5
$ 2.84
$ 2.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @fantagira
+ 1
Sponsors of maxpollins
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for maxpollins
2 years ago

Comments

Seems like you are having fun :) Just focus on what's important for now. Good luck!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thank you so much! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We've missed you over here! Take your time and keep us posted on your progress ;)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you :D I am planning to do the 10 random questions today :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh, sounds exciting hun! Are you already in uk?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Not yet, I have the flight on 29th

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome back! Ooh, so that's the reason why you've been away. Good luck on training and we'll be looking forward to share your journey to us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! My plan were different, I wanted to be more active but I didn't D: I would like to write at least 1 article per week!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, hehe so yesss let's hope for that. I know you can do it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago