When health matters

15 35
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Growing up, I have been told many things, things that were suppose to be for my own good. Some of them, I take heed but most, I wouldn't listen, brushing them aside and left forgotten....until now.

"Don't go out under the sun so much or you will spoil your skin!" Back then, I didn't care. I love going out under the sun. I would walk by the beach, swam in the pool, go jogging, under the scorching hot sun around noon. I took the laundry in when the sun was shining high above and the heat bit the skin, almost tearing it apart. I liked it back then, just to get some tan. Get some tan. Get some tan indeed. Now, I live with the freckles and dark pigmentations all around my face and hands.

I can't count the number of times I was told not to eat too much sweets or my teeth will pay the price. But I do love sweets and chocolates. I have had my share of sneaking a bite or two or three of chocolates when nobody was around, when nobody was looking and nobody here being my parents. Or how about those times when I popped in a sweet or two and kept them in my mouth, sucking and savoring the sweetness. I was told too not to bite into sweets and ice cubes but I did anyway. And now, my teeth pays the price of needing fillings and my gums are getting weaker by the day.

How about the times when I was told to bend my knees when I carry heavy stuffs? "Don't carry too many heavy stuffs or you will hurt your back!" I thought I was strong and I didn't care either. I carried anything and everything I possibly could, slinging across, hanging all around my arms, thinking nothing would hurt me... until now. My back hurts, my knees hurt and I am living with the consequences everyday.

There were the times when I was told not to eat junk food. But I did like junk food as a kid, brainwashed by my taste buds and advertisements on telly plus peer influence in school. "Taste this, its yummy" and then I was hooked. I didn't care about what went inside my digestive system. Sure, my body could take it, I was sure of it... until now. Funny things started to happen, skin allergies, inflammation and then when I reflect, I can't help but wonder, was it all the junk food I ate.

I was also told not to sleep late too. But I did and I still do. Back when I was just starting work, I hardly slept, chasing after deadlines. Now, I try to sleep earlier but I still sleep late, distracted with work too and sometimes just telly. I now live with dark eye circles and goodness what else.

When it comes to improving our health, I thought that any form of exercise is good for us. I was wrong. I didn't listen to my body and kept pushing my body to do beyond what it can. My knees especially paid the price. Too much squats, too much running. It ain't good. We need to listen to our body and do everything in moderation.

In the past ten years or so and very recently too, people who are near and dear to me started getting sick from all sorts of illnesses and some has passed away, either from cancer, from heart attack, from stroke. Some of it may possibly be due to genetics but most of it, I believe, goes back to how we lived our lives as we grew up. Our food and water intake, our daily exposure to pollution, our environment, our unhealthy habits and lifestyles. Imagine all the accumulated stuffs that has ingested and breathed in. Who knows what is going on within us?

I didn't understand it back then the value of life, how our past actions would affect our future. Our body is hurting and deteriorating inside, and we wouldn't know until much later. When health deteriorates, nothing else matters much. You will need money for sure because healthcare is expensive in most countries. For those of you who have money, what would be the point of all the money when you can't spend it the way you like. You spend the rest of your life aching, worrying and working trying to cure yourself. Some places may not have the facilities and medication you need to get cured, what can you do then?

For those of us who are still young, take heed and listen to advice from our elders. They know best because they've been through it all. Take a step back and reflect. Do what you can to protect yourself, to take care of yourself and nourish yourself, spiritually, physically, emotionally and mentally. You may be one who prefers to care for others close to you, more than yourself but remember to keep yourself close to your heart because only when you are well and healthy, that you can care for others. Health matters now.

Photo by Deniz Altindaz on Unsplash

9
$ 0.84
$ 0.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

As for me, i just do what's been proven by science else i would still do the things I'm warned against since there's no point in fepriving myself of some things

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love those stones. It's true, we don't take care of ourselves until the body begins to ask. All those advice you received I also listened to. But somehow we throw them away to live a crazy life, until we can't take it anymore.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too! The photo is from Unsplash and I wished I could take photos like that :) Yes @gertu. By the time we realise the importance of those advice, our systems are already bruised and hurt but at least, we could still do the most that we can to preserve whatever we have left to live longer and happy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah sure! At this point in my life I am most faithful to the idea of ​​living better in order to live longer.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is all part of getting older. Did your (grand) parents, teachers told you too a lack of hormones, the menopause starts already at the age of 30 and what the health issues are? To be honest I don't read much that is really due to eating candies (apples, citrus fruits damage the teeth too!), bending in the wring way. The fact is the human being is not meant to be old. The average age in my country is still 45 years old. This doesn't mean we do not have (had) many 90+ years old but it says enough.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True true, hormones definitely play a part too. Nobody told about that when I was young. Hormones was never part of the description. Don't think they knew much about it either. But what we eat and do contribute too and I have to beg to differ because that is what I see. Hormones and all are a part of aging gracefully while the rest tends to speed it up. The average age in your country is very young.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If and how your teeth are infected depends on your salvia which is genetic and next to it the way you eat. Once 20 kilograms of candies is not as bad as 4 candies spread over the day.

Skin, gums etc is result of aging, reckless, thin skin, wrinkles too. It has nothing to do with too much sun. Most people have a huge lack of vitamin D3 which means a lack of sun.

Read what happens if hormones let you down and Sjögren disease. There is nothing that can avoid that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes, excuses win over me and I kept on eating excessively. Now I am absolutely obese.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup yup, excuses and desires. Sometimes we do something about it and sometimes we just give up. Hope there are less giving up days compared to doing something about it. Take care there @heartbeat1515.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am aiming to get my dream weight next year but I am not sure if I am able to keep the spirit high. For a food lover like me, the only thing can make me successful is that I don't have enough money. 🤣🤣

Same to you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

"remember to keep yourself close to your heart because only when you are well and healthy, that you can care for others" - very well said! Take care!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @Judith1969. Take care there too. Age is catching up on us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Health is wealth.. Money is useless when you are already lying sick on your bed.. But same with you, i did those things too.. You will really start to care much bout your health once you started to get pain and sickness 😢

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes ditto that. Lying sick in bed, being needle poked and all, not being able to eat the food that we like, not being able to go out to places we like, that ain't fun at all. Lets do what we can and take care of ourselves @Jane <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah am into it now

$ 0.00
3 years ago