The price of freedom

11 26
Avatar for marblely
2 years ago

I grew up in a very strict environment, and my childhood was full of restraints and constraints to a point that I was afraid to do many things. There were many rules to follow and I was a timid one.

One memory that lies vividly in my mind was how afraid I was to eat one of my favourite snacks – chocolates and sweets or anything sweet. Chocolates were usually kept in the fridge for fear of ants lurking around. Chocolates were off limits and can only be opened by my mother. Even when the chocolate bar wrapper had been opened, I wouldn’t dare to touch them unless my mother said it was okay to do so but I do love chocolates.

As I got older, I learnt to buy my own chocolates from the school canteen using my weekly allowances from my father. It was the only place I had the freedom to do so and I would buy them with the little money I had, keeping them in my bag, with hopes that my mother would not find out. I ate chocolates in secret in school during recess or after school, before reaching home and at home before my mother came back from work.

I continued this secret chocolate getaway until I was old enough. In high school, and in college, I had much more freedom to buy and eat anything I liked. Chocolates were always at the top of my list.  

I didn’t go to the dentist often as a kid but there was one day, that was after I started work, I had no choice but to go to one because I was having funny and uncomfortable sensations each time I ate. That was when I was told that I needed 7 fillings! No wonder my teeth felt sensitive all the time.

Freedom comes with a price. It was one of those moments I realized that, and if uncontrolled is not necessarily good for us. My little chocolate rendezvous wasn't. The same goes with freedom in eating anything in general. We have our favourite foods, snacks, which may not be good for us. Too much of anything usually has a negative impact, some of which may turn into allergies and illnesses, especially if we do not have sense of control over the freedom we have of the food that we consume. If we are not careful, the freedom can become a burden later in life.

Freedom comes with responsibilities. As a working adult, I always thought it was cool to have a place of my own, decorated the way I liked and a kitchen to be called my own, without having to follow rules. When I finally got a place of my own, I had the freedom to decorate my space, the freedom to use the kitchen the way I liked.

But of course, it came with a price. I had to pay my own bills, worry about the finances, cook my own food, do my own laundry, worry about a fused light, learn what to do with a leaked pipe and many other house related issues. There was once I decided to change a fused light on my own and the circuit board tripped, my heart almost tripped too!

Freedom is a powerful word and has a greater power in action. Freedom comes in many forms and some forms of freedom. My little freedom of eating chocolates in secret, is a freedom of a small scale. On a more serious note, when we read and watch the news, we see the struggles of many around the world, seeking freedom for many things, freedom in a broader and deeper sense.

Freedom of speech, freedom of expression, freedom from oppression, freedom to vote and freedom to their own rights to live in their own country. It is sad and heart wrenching to watch how many in the world suffer through many acts of violence from those who think they are far superior than others. It is a freedom that many of us take for granted sometimes.

Image sourced from: https://unsplash.com/photos/FLY7CEwbJsg

On the other hand, we also see how there are those who fight for their freedom in ways that pushes the boundaries and in the end goes against the law, which then result in their own disadvantage. But if freedom is fought at the expense of others, it leaves a question on whether the action is acceptable.

When we read history, or watch biographical movies or documentaries about freedom fighters all around the world, the fight for freedom was on a much deeper, higher and broader sense that many of us may not understand. Freedom is also a touchy subject. Freedom fought by one party may not be recognized by another and as a result, actions can be taken against them .

Today, I appreciate the freedom I have in my little domain, to be able to eat my favourite foods, to be able to write, watch and listen. I remind myself that freedom comes with a price and it is important to keep the freedom I have within control and practised with responsibility.


This is my late freewrite to @JonicaBradley’s Writing Prompt #1: Freedom: https://read.cash/@JonicaBradley/writing-prompt-1-freedom-372a053d

All images are my own unless stated otherwise.

8
$ 3.62
$ 1.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.50 from @gertu13
+ 4
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
2 years ago

Comments

What a thoughtful way to connect your personal experiences with the broad concept of freedom. I enjoyed this and now think of my own habits a little differently.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. It does help when we are able to connect our personal stories with it. Welcome to read.cash and thank you for stopping by :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the most relatable form of freedom i have read so far 😂😂😂 i had this when i was still dorming for work but now I can't do it so much

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha... those were the days. I guess we become more careful as we get older because we have experienced some of the consequences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

well i have sisters to feed UwU most of the time, i still hve the freedom to suggest what i want to eat but sometimes we go with what everyone will eat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear, this is the first time I read something related to your life. And it is about your childhood and adult habits. There are always consequences for our actions and we have to take responsibility for them. Good article to read.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes dear, I usually don't share but for this prompt, this part of my life seemed fitting. Thank you for your kind comment always. It is so true and we should think a step further before taking them but most times, we don't.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hello marblely, how nice to read you. your publications are always full of wise words. i identify a little with what you say.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hello carolina, thank you much for your kind words. I hope you are doing well :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really too late 😅 welcome back in writing 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha yes but..... the prompts are available forever :) Thank you dear <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago