Writing Prompt #1: Freedom

36 258
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Photo by Florian Klauer on Unsplash

I read a great article this morning in the Coinsdesk newsletter, Crypto long and Short. The article by Noelle Acheson centered around crypto's volatility which, she argues, crypto enthusiasts see in a positive light rather than a negative.

She talks about how the traditional stock market has safety triggers to prevent volatility.

Her main thesis of the article is: Volatility equals freedom. You can read for yourself here:

https://www.coindesk.com/crypto-markets-bitcoin-volatile-freedom

My article today is not intended to be a rehash of someone else's article. Instead, I am fulfilling a promise I made to @CryptoBabe.

CryptoBabe has been feeling the pinch of writing unique, fresh, valuable content that isn't mostly ranting and raving about her current emotions. She lamented the fact that she did very well in school but is struggling now.

You can read more about it here: https://read.cash/@CryptoBabe/die-in-order-to-live-11cc4721

I have been thinking about this writing prompt for several days, now. After reading the CoinDesk newsletter (I do recommend subscribing to it - lots of good stuff there) the idea dropped fully formed into my head.

The prompt is Freedom.

There are many kinds of freedom. I live in the United States which purports to have Freedom. Freedom of speech. Freedom to practice religion. Political freedom. Educational freedom. Granted, the freedoms offered by my country are far greater than some countries. But, they aren't really freedoms. There are restrictions on almost every freedom offered here.

The freedom that I think of most is the one I am most lacking.

Financial Freedom

Photo by Alexander Mils on Unsplash

In the U.S. there is the 1% (the wealthiest people) and the 99% (the rest of us). They say the middle class is disappearing. I, personally, have lived below the poverty line most of my life. I am fortunate in that I know how to survive. Even now, living on 30 acres with livestock and a kitchen garden, my combined household income is well below the poverty line. My state's minimum wage is $7.25 an hour. In the small town outside of which I live, available jobs all start at minimum wage. Some jobs never pay more than the minimum. My husband works at a chain hardware store, part-time (because the store does not support income for more than one full-time employee), for just a few dollars above minimum wage.

He has no health insurance benefits, no paid vacations, and no room for financial advancement.

Our only prospect for financial freedom is cryptocurrency.

Not only is the decentralization of cryptocurrency very attractive, but we can get more bang for our buck by investing in Bitcoin Cash as a currency and in many other cryptos as commodities.

All of this will (hopefully) provide us with more financial freedoms than we had hope of before discovering crypto.

Financial Freedom is what springs to mind when I think of the word Freedom.

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

For this week's prompt, I want you to think about the word freedom. What does freedom mean to you personally? How will you go about achieving freedom, or have you already achieved it?

@VoluntaryJapan writes a lot about personal freedoms through voluntaryism. You could read some of his articles and watch some of his videos for inspiration. Definitely read the above-linked newsletter article.

No matter what you choose to write about, you have the freedom to accept this writing challenge, or not. I hope you accept. Please tag me in your article if you do.

Tagging a few people who might enjoy this prompt: @Bjorn @Glez @CryptoBabe @ChrisWrites @fantagira @PVMihalache

Please feel free to pass this challenge on to others by tagging them. If the challenge is successful, I'll do another next week.

Challenge rules:

  1. Write about Freedom

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. Tag me @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun

That's it. Feel free to comment below. I'm always looking for new sponsors and sponsees.

Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty

Lead image: Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

Image 1: Photo by Florian Klauer on Unsplash

Image 2: Photo by Alexander Mils on Unsplash

Image 3: Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

24
$ 8.40
$ 7.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @BitcoinCashHub
$ 0.15 from @Pantera
+ 9
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

Just like you said, this is here forever and I intend to write on this challenge again before the end of today. Thank you for this great opportunity to express ourselves.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So, it started from here. I'm glad that I haven't read this article yet before writing about the prompt so I could compose what springs in my mind. Thanks! and I miss to write #5. Have fun. But, we all had fun in here ๐Ÿ˜‰ not a miss at all.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is something I love seeing and a challenge to help me too. I will definitely work on this and make a post about freedom for my next post tomorrow by God's grace. I also want my freedom but the kind of freedom that would be mentioned in my post.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, good! I look forward to reading it. I have been enjoying all the articles immensely!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the first time I read one of your articles. I find this challenge interesting. Although I was invited by another user I will be writing in the next few hours and will point them out in my article. Thank you very much for the suggestion of this topic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi, @gertu13! I'm excited to read your article, too. I hope you tag me in it or in the comments of you've already written it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, I haven't written it yet. I read the invitation about an hour ago. And I just left today's article. So I will write it today and post it on my night or tomorrow morning. Of course I will tag them give it to you for sure. Thanks for your kindness in replying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will subscribe to you so I don't miss it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Writing using a prompt is what the community Of Freewriting Admin by @wakeupkitty stands for. This is an interesting challenge. I will have a go. When will be the last entry submission date?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whenever. I will post another prompt on Sunday or Monday. 1 a week. I'll check out the community. There's no deadline. I only ask to be tagged so I can read it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love to try!!!!! Thank you so much for this fun prompt!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't wait to read your article!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello Jonica. Will get back to this by tomorrow i have an idea about freedom but will just have to think about it properly i need more basis, pictures and etc. Thanks for tagging me reallyyyy appreciate it ๐Ÿ˜˜

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Don't forget to tag me in your story!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi Jonica, first and foremost, thank you for tagging me here. Actually i have already saw this post this morning but i have to login early on my 5AM shift so I saved it for reading this late afternoon.

I hope you are already aware that some of my post talks about financial freedom and I will always write about it. Even my BCH earnings are not that high, I could already feel financial freedom because my monthly income has been save some portion of it and I am not worrying of paying bills right now because for the very first time i felt freedom financially.

Your recommendation about coindesk is highly appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love to read about personal freedoms or political freedoms, too. Any kind of freedom. The freedom that comes with forgiveness. Anything. Or nothing of you don't feel like it. You're doing very well writing every day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you.. almost done with another financial freedom post in response to your challenge.. just finalizing it and ready to post in the next hour.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Interesting! It seems a good challenge. I also think Financial freedom is the key to achieve Freedom in a broader sense. Unlike you, I live in a country where freedoms are much more restricted. Lately, I haven't had the inspiration to write around here, but it may come. And maybe I'll write something about this.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope you will write about freedom. I'd love to read about your country and the differences between there and here. If you do, don't forget to tag me!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Look interesting. I will write about.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can't wait to read it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Challenge accepted... will write something on Friday

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Woohoo!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Got some nice ideas up in my head now. I will accept this challenge. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yay! Don't forget to tag me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will. Thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ma'am I accept this challenge I write about it.It is good idea and game and Also tag you and ma'am @Jane with ma'am @bmjc98 to write about it.One strong point I Also mention here is BCH is crypto where you watch and observe the true sense of freedom of money๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Thanks for mentioning

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always welcome.. My pleasure ma'am๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks! I'm glad you accept. Thanks also for tagging @Jane and @bmjc98. Can't wait to read all the articles.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is like free writing with prompts.. Thanks. I will when I have time

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sweet. Be sure to tag me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure I am on clinic and when I have a time I write it soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hug those animals for me!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for adding me to your challenge Jonica. I appreciate this a lot.

I am currently writing about the change, but will open a new document titled Freedom and fingers crossed something will magically appear in it over the course of next few days.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Great! Be sure to tag me. I look forward to reading it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago