The Gift of Giving

9 28
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Just the other day, I bought some corn. While I waited for the lift to my apartment, a neighbour came to wait for the lift too. We smiled once or twice before but have not introduced ourselves before.

The neighbour asked what type of corn did I buy and we had a cornversation. I learned that she bought a corn the week before but it did not taste as good as she had expected.

I instantly offered her one of the corns I bought, for her to try. She asked, how much did she need to pay, and I said don't worry about it. She was surprised and she declined at first. I insisted it was for her to try and she graciously accepted the corn. We exchanged names and smiled.

A week after, another neighbour bought some mangoes and I had a mangosation with her. Without any hesitation, the neighbour offered me a mango to try. I was surprised at her kind gesture. We hardly knew each other too. We smiled and I gratefully accepted the mango. It was then, we knew each other's name.

It felt really good to give and most importantly, to give without expecting anything in return. And it felt good to be at the receiving end too. New friendships were fostered. The ambience, felt warmer and homelier.

And putting this into perspective, in the past 2 weeks here, I was very fortunate to be at the receiving end and I am grateful. I appreciate all the kind support, the genuine comments, the upvotes, the generous tips and prize, the sponsorships as well as new friendships.

Now, I shall do my part to give what I can :)

Lead Image by Ben White on Unsplash.


13
$ 0.64
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
$ 0.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

Very nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What is nice?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very nice article. When you give, u are opening the door to receive more. Even the Bible says it is more blessed to give than to receive

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @JoshuaDimeji :) It is indeed and there is so much more joy in giving. Happy Sunday to you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

👍👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like the conversation and mangosation... How did the mango taste? Thanks for making me smile while reading this. If would follow you if I not already did. Happy weekend neighbor. 🙂🍀👍💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

:) Thank you dear. The mango was very sweet and juicy. Maybe a day over ripe but it is still yummy. Happy Sunday neighbour <3 and have a good drive!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, same to you. A sweet gift is good. 🙂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think that is what I am going to reply to you too @marblely.

$ 0.00
3 years ago