Taking the time to do it right

10 47
Avatar for marblely
2 years ago
Topics: Life

“You are taking too much time to complete this.” I was once told when I was washing dishes. I was brushed away and the job was taken over immediately. Although I was happy to be excused from doing the work, it didn’t feel pleasant to be brushed away.

It wasn’t the only time I was told that I was slow. It went on like this as I was growing up. Most of the things I do, I do take a longer time if there was time to spare.

It came to a point that I would be left alone to complete the work because it was known. For those who were in a hurry, they usually can’t stand to watch me work. They prefer to rush things through, complete them quickly, regardless of the outcome.

I admit that I am slow but I think I am not that slow, maybe half time more? When I wash dishes, I like to sponge every surface with the dish washing liquid, front and back, every corner if there are corners, and I would wash the dishes until there are no traces of oil. It takes a longer time, sure, but at least I know they are clean.

Image source: https://unsplash.com/photos/Z2zmQlZL_3U

One may call this as an obsessive-compulsive behaviour. Maybe. But I much prefer to take the extra time to make sure that things are done right, rather than haphazardly for the sake of having it done. Taking dish washing as an example, if the dishes still feel oily after wash, then what is the point of washing them in the first place? It is possible that I am a little more paranoid about it or that I am more sensitive. But if my fingers still feel traces of oil, I would keep washing until it feels squeaky-clean.

When it comes to house chores, when I have the time to spare, I would spare the time to make sure it is properly cleaned and not just cleaning for the sake of cleaning. What is the point of cleaning if it is not going to be clean at the end of it? It is a much greater waste of time. If we choose to do it, then we’d better do it right, isn’t it? If we choose to just simply do it, then, might as well not do it. If I scrub a surface that has turned black or green, I would scrub until I see the original color appears, if it is possible.

It is the same with many other things, not just house chores. When I am writing an important email, or when I am editing a document, or when I am working on reports or presentation charts. I would sometimes be told to do a quick one. Just a simple one, nothing too fancy, they would say. But the thing is, when I am tasked to do something, or when I choose to do something, I would prefer to do it right, given the time that I have.

I don’t quite comprehend how something can be simply done when it comes to things like these. A simple action of tying shoelace can be done simply too but a simply done action may result in a half baked result. The shoelace may untie after a short while of usage. I would prefer to take the time to tie the shoelace properly and not worry about it coming loose.

If indeed I do not have the luxury of time, then, I would do the best possible with the time that I have. I guess I can’t get over my conscience to do a simply kind of job. It doesn’t make sense. Could this be a behaviour of a perfectionist? Maybe but I would prefer to think of it as taking the time to do it right.

7
$ 7.31
$ 7.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @antoniarhuiz
+ 2
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
2 years ago
Topics: Life

Comments

I have had too many problems with my wifi. I am trying to find a satellite signal to affiliate with it. Too many posts happen and my connection does not help me, it freezes in full, the translation goes away. I lose publications and a lot of headaches. So I take it easy. When I can, I can and when I can't, it's no. I like discipline in doing something and I agree with you.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, if we do it, we should take the time to do it right and not doing it for the sake of doing it. Sorry about your wifi problems. Just save as draft first and post when you can. Don't stress.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do the same when I'm doing something. I want it to be perfect so it's take time until I'm satisfied with my work. Maybe because I don't want to regret later that I didn't give my best. But sometimes I do think I am just procrastinating.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes! Haha.. I have the same thoughts too. But I would rather not regret for not giving my best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My sister is like you when she do things, she wash the dishes slowly compared to me and clean the house slowly as well compared to my other sister, but the results are always good.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am glad that her results are good and I am happy that I am not alone :) I tend to ask myself if I am overly sensitive but I remind myself to not go overboard :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hola friend! I think there must be a limit to perfection and a limit to doing things right. For example, if you try to wash the dishes well so that there are no traces of grease, that's fine but if after you wash them, you do it again, it seems to me that it's wanting to be perfectionist.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you friend! Yes, I agree. If I wash after it is already clean, then I have OCD. I am glad I only keep cleaning when I see grease :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also tend to be a perfectionist in some things. And although for many things I can be fast for others not. For example, I admire those who write and publish without giving it much thought. I have to read and review over and over again and take my time.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Me too! Some can just write away and post anything that comes to their mind although it may not be a good thing. I too prefer to take the time to review over and over before posting. I must feel comfortable posting it or I won't post.

$ 0.01
2 years ago