Silky, creamy, smooth Avocado drink

18 46
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Is avocado a fruit or a vegetable? Apparently, a popular question or debate topic. I had the same question too. It wasn't really a burning question, but nonetheless, I did my little internet search and voila, most, if not all hits said it is a fruit but it is nutritionally like a vegetable (source 1, source 2).

Avocado has a savory taste and a buttery, creamy texture which is not everyone's cup of tea. Personally, I really like it, in salads, in sandwiches and my latest craving, Avocado drink or some say juice or smoothie.

I first tried it at a Vietnamese restaurant nearby that served pho, but the restaurant has since closed down. It was rich, silky, creamy and yummy. I did ask the restaurant manager what was the ingredient, he was a little secretive about it and I probed, "Was there milk?" He said yes, there was milk. I couldn't think of anything else. Haha. And so, milk and avocado was in my head for the longest time (more than a year).

Last 2 weeks, I decided to buy 2 avocados. Avocados are not cheap, 1 avocado can cost up to 3 to 4 dollars. My craving was quite high, which led me to getting 2 precious avocados. The avocados were not that ripe yet and I waited. And waited and waited until it turned dark. But they did not turn dark the same time. People said to wait until the skin turns dark purple and soft when pressed. I did not see dark purple, I thought it was more like dark, dark brown :D

At first I kept them in the fridge and they decided to not ripe. I took them out after a few days and watched them like a hawk everyday. I touched them, turned them and they slowly, very slowly turned darker. Once they were about 80% dark, I placed them into the fridge and waited some more.

I think I waited a little too long. By the time I cut it open, some parts have turned grey inside but still delicious. The flesh was soft, smooth and creamy.

I scraped the mesocarp layer which was the flesh (source) into my blender.

And added a cup of fresh milk (250ml) into the blender.

Then, I added 2 to 3 dashes of honey for some sweetness.

I closed the lid and blended away. I tried this in 2 different occasions. The first time, I blended like crazy but for not too long, just about 10 to 20 seconds, while the second time, I did a pulse blend. The result, if you like some texture, i.e. you would still like to chew the avocado, you can go with a pulse blend. The first crazy blending, gives a richer, thicker and creamier drink.

Once I was happy with the blending and the amount of, I couldn't wait to pour it into a glass and taste.

It looked divine and the taste was divine too, but for avocado and fresh milk lovers :)


8
$ 0.57
$ 0.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @heartbeat1515
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 2
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

I just started to like avocado to but I am still not confidence to do a smoothie on my own.

I drink a good taste one which I like. The one without the bitter taste. I don't really like it when I can taste the bitter inside a creamie smoothie.

Your resepi is interesting. I might try this someday. As you said, avocado is not cheap.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah, just squash it with milk :) Ya bitter doesn't taste good. It took me a while to make my own smoothie too. How is your new home? Take care there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is not fully finished but it is way better than our previous home. Furthermore, I am close to work.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh i love avocado as ice cream and when we make it into shakes though i think it's only me and mom who likes this as ice cream

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ooo I have never seen avocado ice cream being sold anywhere. Hmm.. maybe I can try making one :D Ah yes, it is quite an acquired taste isn't it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Acquired is too much. More like... it just depends on how you first tasted it. I first tasted it as ice cream so i liked it like that then i experimented on different dishes from there on out

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They ask the same question about pumpkin but the answer is easy. Vegetable is the plant or it's roots. The fruit is what the word says it is. Needed for reproduction.

It's not my kind of fruit, pumpkin not avocado.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh.. that makes sense although I think there are vegetables that propagate through seeds too like spinach. But their seeds are super duper small. Yah, I don't quite like pumpkin either :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Avocado shake is one of my all time favorites 💚 I'm craving for it bow that I see this article 🤤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Make make :) I am going to make another soon. I got some new avocados from Philippines and they have turned dark :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love avocado in salads, creams and mayonnaise. I have never tried it in meringues. I know that in Brazil it is considered as fruit and they drink a lot of this meringue.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo.. creams and mayonnaise, I have not tried. Avocado is so delicious although not everyone likes it :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, the mayonnaise is made by placing onion, paprika, garlic and coriander in a blender. Blend everything and add the avocado with oil and vinegar to the point. You liquefy it again with a little salt and voila ... you have mayonnaise to spread on your bread or to accompany meat, chicken or fish.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Avocado shake is really delicious, I missed drinking it though. I think I will make again after seeing this 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yummers! Yes, I bought more avocados :D This time, Dole avocado from your country :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow really? Is our avocado delicious? 😊 we are rich in raw materials here in our country we lack machinery that is why raw materials are our exported products.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah hehe. It is pretty delicious. Slightly smaller than its Australian counterpart but I think they taste similar. Just need to wait for it to fully ripe :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, I they all taste similar. I even made an ice cream avocado before. I think I will make smoothie again I miss it. we have the same procedure in preparing it 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago