Needle Craft :: Froggo's Journey (Part 1)

27 45
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

2 weeks ago, I posted my first crocheted amigurumi, a frog which I made some years back. The frog was crocheted based on a pattern I found online at https://www.lilleliis.com/amigurumi-crochet-freebies/felix-the-frog-free-pattern/. The pattern named the frog, Felix.

It was also 2 weeks ago that I got to know a friend here who loves frogs and I mentioned I might make one for her if I can find the yarn which I used. I searched for it and I found similar green yarns.

As today is her birthday, @Hanzell , this one is for you 😊. I do not know how long this will take, but I will show you the journey of Froggo (the name you gave 😁) as I work on this, to hopefully help you with your journey in starting a crochet project that you have been thinking of.

Yesterday, I posted Embarking on a Craft Journey which I will use as a base on describing Froggo's journey here.

Purpose

A gift for @Hanzell for her birthday, though it will probably only reach her weeks after her birthday 😜.

Goal and Type of Craft

Since she loves frogs and she indicated that she liked the frog I showcased, I will crochet her that frog.

Supplies and Tools

In every pattern, usually there is a section that shows the thickness of yarn and crochet hook size that is required. In this frog pattern, it lists the following:

Supplies:

Yarn

Every yarn has its characteristics. They can be made out of different material such as cotton, wool, acrylic, nylon and bamboo or milk fiber. Each material has its function and use such as cotton is good for summer weather, wool for winter and so on. Each type of yarn has different thickness, number of ply and weight from superfine, lace to jumbo, chunky, bulky thickness.

There are many resources to learn about yarn weight and type such as the following:

https://www.expressionfiberarts.com/about-our-yarn/

https://www.thesprucecrafts.com/understanding-yarn-weights-2117311

To choose a yarn, we do need to know the type of material that we like. I tend to go with soft material such as cotton, bamboo and milk fiber when it comes to soft toys or wearables because they are soft to touch. When it comes to making items that need to be hardy like a bottle holder or a bag, depending on budget, I may go with the cheaper and hardier acrylic, polyester or nylon yarns.

The pattern lists examples of yarn that the author used for the project which we can use as a reference.

For Froggo, I managed to find the following yarn and yarn colours:

Dear @Hanzell , you mentioned olive green but I couldn't find olive green. Between this 3 choices, which would you prefer as your Froggo? From the top, we have Amazon Green, Green Leaf and Green.

The characteristics of a yarn is usually shown at its label:

This yarn is a mix of cotton and milk fiber, potentially soft and cuddly. It is an 8 ply, light worsted, double knit (DK) thickness with a 110gm - 120gm weight and 250m length which is in line with what the pattern, calls for.

yarn – DK (8 ply) weight Katia Bamboo (50g / 100m) or Drops Muskat (50g / 100m) – green and a small amount of white, black, red and blue

It is good to have more weight and more length, than less.

@Hanzell , would you like Froggo to wear a striped sweater, as shown in the pattern or naked like the one I did?

A yarn label would also usually provide a stitch gauge (measurement based on a number of stitches). For this yarn, we can use crochet hook sizes between 3.75 - 4.5mm or in US sizes 5 - 7. Smaller hook creates smaller stitches and bigger hook creates bigger stitches. The gauge measurement using 4.25mm knitting needle is 4 inches by 4 inches which means, if we use a smaller needle, we would get less than 4 x 4 inches and if we use a bigger needle than 4.25mm, the measurement would be more than 4 x 4 inches.

Crochet hooks

Every hook has its size and they can be made from plastic to metal such as stainless steel or aluminium or some form of alloy. Some comes with a rubber handle for more comfort but I personally prefer metal ones without rubber handles because they glide easier with the yarn. Rubber handles, although friendlier to fingers, tend to get sticky or clammy after a while based on my usage experience.

When we zoom into the hook, usually around the center, we can see the size. Sometimes it would show just an alphabet, sometimes a number and sometimes in metric or a combination of it. Either way, we can search the internet for size conversion such as this:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_United_States_standard_crochet_hook_and_knitting_needle_sizes

If we choose a hook that is not within the range required by the yarn, the stitches may be too tight (if the needle size is too small) or too loose (if the needle size is big).

The pattern mentioned:

But I will use a bigger size hook for the yarn as long as it is not more than 4.5mm as shown in its label.

There are also crochet hooks with 2 sizes at each end which I usually prefer using such as this one:

If you buy the hooks in a set, you may see the size conversion too like this one:


This is Part 1 of Froggo's Journey as I wait for @Hanzell's response to the 2 questions I asked above, summarized below, before I move on to next parts 😊:

  1. Between the 3 green colour choices, which would you prefer as your Froggo? Sorry, I couldn't find olive but I thought Amazon Green might be a bit olive 😁

  2. Would you like Froggo to wear a striped sweater, as shown in the pattern or naked like the one I did?



12
$ 2.56
$ 2.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

I would like to learn crochet too so i can make my own cardigan, scarfs and bennie. 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo yes yes. That was my motivation really although I have not attempted a cardigan yet. Have you tried crocheting? I learnt mostly from Youtube tutorials, there are many good ones and it is very doable. We can play and pause and rewind and play and pause and rewind :) There are tutorials that show the methods in slow motion too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Last December i planned to make crochet as i liked watching those videos on yt as well and i want to try, but can't find a store selling yarns. Ended up continuing my cross-stitching haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh haha. Oh ya, finding a store selling yarns is a challenge. I find my supplies online mostly, which made it very much easier. Maybe there are some there too? I can find some from shopee too although I haven't tried buying from there. The supplies come from China mostly.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think there are stores here selling yarns i just need to ask, i want to make cardigan for this coming winter. 😊 Btw, are you Filipino ? Can't order online here coz I'm stay in in my boss' house.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh darn... that would be tricky for online shopping. Ah cardigan for winter sounds so niceee. Do you have a pattern that you have found on Youtube? Sadly, no winter here. Can only wear cardigan in an air conditioned room.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

have many pattern on yt, i just save them so i cam easily look for them once i started crocheting. It feels satisfying once you finish crocheting. 😁

I thought you're European, your english is good..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah good good. Yah, I have many saved too, though I realised, starting to small is better because the chances for a project to complete is higher :D

Oh, thank you :). You are the first I told here (I have just deleted that sentence :D) Your English is good too. It is a joy to read you, so thank you for writing and being here :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And your name too, marblely, my first impression was you're an english speaker. 😊 I meet many malaysians here in HK but they're struggling in speaking in English, yours is really good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

:D Names can be deceiving hehe. Ah yes, many of my friends are there too. It depends where they schooled. Those who attended chinese medium schools would struggle more.

But let me share with you my motivation in learning English: https://read.cash/@marblely/drift-5fb2243b

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks I'll check on that, i might need it as well. 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The amazon green would look really nice on the froggo and naked froggo would be enough omg, it would be too much of it gets a sweater too >///< thank you for going through all the trouble of making a froggo for me. And i think I'll try making one too since your article is really really good for beginners and people interested in the craft ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazon green it is! :) Ah.. I will see how it goes. What are your favourite colours? Don't worry about it. It is my hobby and I am happy that I can make him again :) Yes, do try. When you asked what to buy, I was thinking maybe this might help. If you have any questions, just beep me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My favorite colors are on the monotone scale but i love brown since it's such a warm color 😊 and i asked my mom, she has crochet needles so I just need to buy the yarn. And now I've got a proper yarn guide thanks to you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh earthy brown. Think brown would look nice with amazonian green. But I will focus on froggo first :D Oo cool. Yes, get the yarn. Get some colour that you like. I usually go with a yarn texture that my fingers are happy with. When you like the colour and the feel of the yarn, you would be more motivated to work on it more.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes and he would be warm with brown colors 😊😊😊 so thera feels to the yarn too? I haven't gotten out yet so I haven't gotten the chance to buy yarn. I will probably do so on the 15th since i need to go back to my university to finally gather my things. I believe there are craft stores near there?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It depends on your fingers :D I like to feel things with my fingers and I prefer the soft and smooth ones because my skin can get quite dry sometimes due to allergy. But if you don't have a feel requirement, you can go with any yarn.

Where is your university? You can check online first. Craft shops are quite hard to find sometimes. I get mine online usually like Shopee or Lazada :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh you do the same thing for when i sew. The feel definitely is important since it will be a doll to always be cuddled.

I'm pretty sure there was a shop just near the station. It's manila after all. It's rare not to be able to find stuff there but if i don't then I'll definitely check online instead

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How nice you will give @Hanzell that frog on her birthday.

You have a beautiful way of working your art of knitting. I congratulate you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope it will be a success @gertu13. She was going through some challenges and I thought this may cheer her up just a little :) What would you like if I were to make one for you?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course it will be a success. I am confident in your creativity, you are great!

When I turn 60, I'll let you know. But I like turtles, dogs, cats, chickens, birds, etc. LOL

$ 0.00
3 years ago

:) Gracias amiga. Oh haha.. when will that be? Okay, turtles are cute :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Next year I will be 60 years old !! Hopefully we continue on platforms like now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ooo soon! Let me get this froggo done and see if I can find a free turtle pattern for you :) Yes, I hope we can continue our friendship on these platforms :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, no, no, friend. Thank you very much. My birthday present, I say, is in the sense of play. Do not worry, forget. For this country now it is very difficult to send something without getting lost. And shipping separately is very expensive. only when I have my birthday will you send me images of those animals and I will enjoy it jijiji.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh.. that is right. It is hard to send postal. Okay, I will send photos for you when I make it and maybe one day, I can pass to you :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much.!

$ 0.00
3 years ago