Needle Craft :: Amigurumi, my first

35 33
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Stuffed toys are one of the popular toys for children and sometimes adults too. Some represent a certain cartoon character, some a certain object, or animal, or plant, or anything for that matter. They are cuddly and most often than not, adorable, which makes stuffed toys one of the most sought after toys for kids.

Amigurumi is a Japanese craft of knitting or crocheting stuffed toys. When When my nephews were born, amigurumi was in my to-do list of things to learn to crochet. It took me a while to learn but learned I did, thanks to the many tutorials that are available in the internet.

When crocheting an amigurumi, we are basically crocheting and stuffing shapes individually to attach to each other to create the head, the ears, the hands, the body and legs. It could be a ball as the head, oval shaped pieces for the ears, another ball for the body, maybe more balls but smaller in size for the legs and maybe tubes for the hands.

My very first amigurumi project was inspired by my nephew who loved frogs at that time. I wanted to crochet him a frog and poof came this "Felix the Frog" pattern I found online: https://www.lilleliis.com/amigurumi-crochet-freebies/felix-the-frog-free-pattern/

Each part of this frog was crocheted separately and attached onto the body. When I first found the pattern, it was plain green. The pattern today has Felix the Frog wearing a stripe top. I didn't know how to change colours back then, so a full green frog was good enough for me :) Felix the frog was about 20cm tall, a good size for a three year old boy back then.

There was another link that I found very helpful too in crocheting amigurumis: https://www.planetjune.com/blog/tutorials/crochet-tutorials/. This link provides many tips to crochet a smooth ball for example, to seal the stuffing with invisible stitches and to join the different parts seamlessly.

I have not tried knitting an amigurumi because I am more comfortable with crochet. Maybe some day I will.

When we find inspiration, there is nothing that should stop us from learning :)

8
$ 0.46
$ 0.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @wakeupkitty
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

Keep the inspiration on and never fail to learn

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wise words :) Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Halaaaaa teach me how to crochet pleaseeeee ;;A;; that's such a cute froggooo! I want one. Please send the froggo to me :")

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You like froggo? :) I learnt to crochet from Youtube tutorials. You can too! The froggo has gone to its new owner. Let me see if I have anymore green yarn to make another one.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It can brighten up her new home. Frogs all over the place or in a row in front of a window.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wanted to learn crochet and knitting to make this really small and cute chameleon and owl blanket before but it was hard ;-;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It can be daunting at first but once you get the hang of it, it is alright. I would suggest to try crochet first, the one with 1 hook. My knitting is still far from anything but anything that is straight is doable though I have not really completed a knitting project yet :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I... need to buy yarn first to be able to learn. Maybe on the next time I'll be allowed out, I'll get myself yarn to learn. What size should it be?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah.. let me get the yarn first and maybe write about it when I do, from the yarn to the needle size :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes pleaseee I'd love to see the progression too if possible? Like.. from where you start to how it actually takes shape :")

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, that is the plan! But I probably will only be able to complete it after your birthday. Lets see.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's quite alright! No pressure on it, really. I'd just be happy that someone's gonna make me a cute froggo >w<

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes it can :) I will attempt to make one for her.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes ❤ i love frogs, they're very cute looking creatures despite being yummy and a bit poisonous sometimes. But they're cute looking to me :")

You'll make one for me?? Really??? OwO

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, you eat them? They taste like chicken don't they? I like the green frogs but not bull frogs. Yes, I am going to try, no promises yet. I will get some green and white yarn first. Will let you know how it goes :) Do you have other colours in mind?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes they do >w< that's what makes them delicious 😂 i like the poisonous ones because they're colorful, weirdly enough 😂 for colors... maybe olive green too? Because i like that color a lot? And makes it look closer to real froggy UwU

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think I tried eating a frog once a very long time ago. Can't remember the experience though. Oh yes, poisonous frogs are pretty! You are absolutely right. Ah olive green. Good colour. Let me see if I can find one to buy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My grandma cooks that ss adobo when she visits from the province. They're really good. Red eyed tree frog is tge cutest though >w< and thank you for considering my requesttt. It would be an awesome birthday present

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree! The tree frog is the cutest :) Ooo.. when is your birthday?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And really really small too! My birthday is on September 8. A few more weeks away

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ooo okay.. very soon :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are very creative friend. That frog is very cute. May your successes with creativity continue.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @gertu13 :) I followed a pattern. The person who created it was very creative.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahahaha I assure you that if I follow that same pattern I would never stay the same. My abilities in this regard are a bit dubious.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh hehe okay. You are wonderful with plants, something I am not able to be successful with.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder why this is Japanese. My grandmother already made these kinds of animals. I know the huge brown bear my mother had was not soft at all. It was filled with what we call seagrass. The same stuff as we had in the matrasses. I love the frog but I doubt I would cuddle with it. 👍💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good question. Maybe it is because Japanese created a word for it? I guess for your grandmother, it would be stuffed toys. Is there a word in Dutch for stuffed toys? Oh seagrass? Not fluffy insides? The frog was nice to cuddle, always smiling :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A stuffed animal is called in Dutch "knuffeldier". Knuffel = hugging and dier = animal. I guess that giant bear wasn't made to hug, same with the porcelain dolls.

The fluffy stuff came later.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Porcelain dolls are hard. Only for display and not for kids. That is a nice word for stuffed animal :) Nicer than amigurumi I think. Thank you for sharing the word. I like it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is so cute 😍 I wonder how long did it take to finish this one.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is a cute froggy :) I really like the pattern. I took quite some time to do this because it was my first attempt, about 2 weeks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago