Friday

18 49
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

It was 8PM and she has not left the office. Having just started working for this company, she was trying to get used to the weekly Friday social activity. Her momma said to make new friends. Her manager stressed the importance of networking with colleagues.

The team would usually meet at a location for dinner. Then, almost everyone would proceed to a nightclub for drinks and dance but most of her team members preferred the drinking part more than anything. She, on the other hand, preferred the dancing part.

Each time, she ordered just 1 glass. Beer or rum. The usual drinks that the team would order. She didn't like any of them because they burn her throat and they taste awful but she didn't want to be a sissy with a fruit juice order. She wanted to blend in. She had so far, not finished her drinks and she would spend most of her time on the dance floor and danced her worries away.

She had seen what alcohol did to her colleagues and she could not understand why they resorted to drinking week after week. Drinks were not cheap either. In fact, they burnt holes straight through. And with the aftermath of disgusting puke, and awful headaches. It just didn't make sense to her. But, she was new and she just wanted to be part of the team. She needed support.

She had seen how her colleague squirmed like a worm and another colleague, who thought he was charming, climbed and stood on the bar top,. He tried to dance like the sexy ladies in "Coyote Ugly" and lifted his shirt to show off his non existent six pack, just one fat pack. What an awful sight. She wondered each time, how they could still go to the office on Mondays, as though nothing happened.


Timer set: 10 minutes but the writing took 16 minutes

Timer: laptop clock

Translator: none

Grammar tool/s: none

Writing device: laptop

Lead image: by Alexander Popov on Unsplash


For Alcohol Effects (c5c2) Community

The prompts are

ashes - charming - release - perplex - support - worm
(You have to use at least 3 out of 6.)


6
$ 0.00
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

I can't figure out who's doing it. I especially don’t see the purpose of drunkenness

$ 0.00
3 years ago

great my dear friend

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😊 thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Trying to fit in something by force is an unpleasant feeling to me. I once did that kind of things too in purpose just to fit in so I can have friends but it does not leave a good memory.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is very much peer pressure in this case, having just started working. She realised she didn't have to later on and stopped joining them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is a good choice. I believe that she can still be successful even without them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't like drinking alcoholic beverages. Not to please anyone. I don't like to make a fool of myself unconsciously I'd rather be wide awake when I make a fool of myself.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me either. I guess it is peer pressure on her part, having just started working. Over time, she realised that she didn't need to and she stopped :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

very nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder if they do not have a life, interests, a home. The good news about drunks is they don't notice if you don't drink, they drink from every glass and do not miss you if you leave. I prefer not to fit in and never did.

πŸ’•πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I heard from friends in some countries that if they go home early after work, they will not be respected. So, they end up going to restaurants and drink till late night.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. I heard it in my country too. They were still doing it before the pandemic. And long before our bad economy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You heard it too, in your country? It is sad though that they have to resort to this,. They waste so much more money from drinking.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I never heard of those saying in my country but in the weekend especially Friday night, some will go up drinking until Saturday morning. For an excuse, they said, "We should let ourself enjoy after a long workday". At first, I thought that I am enjoying it but then it gave me nothing but tiredness. It is better to sleep and rest to make sure myself refresh for monday.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They have different methods of enjoyment. At the beginning when we are young and maybe foolish, maybe. But as we grow older, priorities change. I prefer quiet time, family time, rest time and sleep time too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Here you get paid to work. If you go home earlier it's taking vacation hours which means fewer free days off left. At some jobs, it's checked when you go and leave.

$ 0.00
3 years ago