Freewriting :: My thoughts on cooking

10 85
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Writing prompt from: https://writingexercises.co.uk/subjectgenerator.php

Cooking, holds a special place in my heart. I remember watching my grandma cook delicious meals for us when we came back from school and for dinner. I watched her prepare the ingredients and I followed her steps to see the dishes come to life.

Even up until today, I enjoy watching cooking shows. It elates my eyes and heart when I watch the pan sizzles, or when the knife slices through the vegetables, or when the spatula goes around the pan to mix the ingredients.

In recent months, I had more time than I have ever had and I got to learn to cook dishes that I have always thought of trying but did not have the mood or time. I began experimenting ingredients. I tried mixing different ingredients and sauces to see how they taste like. Some worked, some, not so but I learn each time.

But it is through experimenting that we start to imagine different tastes and how they may or may not work together. I came to understand how simple dishes can be and how easy it is to cook a meal. With basic ingredients of vegetables, a bit of oil and garlic, we can whip up a simple stir fry that ignites all senses.

One of the best parts about cooking is when the mind starts to imagine the ingredients and tastes. And when I start the preparation, the anticipation is exciting. Each chop, slice and mince is just as exciting as the anticipation and imagination of tastes.

I gain confidence after each cook and I have to say that I am thankful for the time that we had from the lockdown. Although it was not a choice but it gave us the option (or not) to cook and experiment.

However, there is one thing I don't quite like about cooking, and that is the cleaning part :P


Writing tool: Laptop

Timer: Laptop clock

Grammar tool: None

Time: 10 minutes

Lead image: by Alyson McPhee on Unsplash


5
$ 0.11
$ 0.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

One of the biggest differences between an effective and ineffective team is that effective teams know how their work impacts the world. Check how to keep your team effective . When things go wrong, the members of an effective team are empowered to share their opinions and make change.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love watching the cooking contest on television. It is an activity that forces a cook or someone to create a new taste based on an ingredient that some times they never even saw or use.

I like the tools that use for prompt. The only thing I don't like bout cokk8ngbis also the cleaning part 😅😅

What I love the most is the eating part 😁😁😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha yes! The eating part. Forgot about that. Ooo yes, the cooking contests. I love watching Masterchef, Top Chef, My Kitchen Rules. I learnt quite a bit from watching them I think.

Ah yes, the tool came from @wakeupkitty in some of her posts. Thank you her :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How can you forget the eating part?... 🤣🤣🤣🤣 Yes, that is the one. I enjoyed watching that channel including the kids bake-off challenge.

I read it in your previous comment and replied there. Yes l, thanks to her. It is easier to write with prompts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good write up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me gusta cocinar. Y hacer inventos en mi cocina. Pero sabes? suceden muchas cosas a diario y ya no tengo oportunidad de disfrutar de canales de cocina. Debo esperar que esta situación de aislamiento termine y salir a la calle. Para buscar la forma de comprar servicio de canales de televisión. Mientras tanto disfruto del internet.

I like to cook. And make inventions in my kitchen. But you know? Many things happen every day and I no longer have the opportunity to enjoy cooking channels. I must wait for this situation of isolation to end and go outside. To find a way to buy television channel service. Meanwhile I enjoy the internet.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For a longer period, I watched cooking shows too, as a 7-year old I already started saving recipes. I still have them. 🤔

Great freewrite. 👍💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you <3 That is a very early age. I think I only started in my teens. Do you still have those recipes?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I only have one recipe that I can still remember when I was 7. That is the age that I am taught how to cook rice by my late grandfather.

$ 0.00
3 years ago