A Simple Stir-fry Mixed Vegetables dish

11 17
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Whenever I crave for cooked vegetables, one of my go-to recipes is this Stir-fry Mixed Vegetables with Garlic.

It is a simple stir-fry dish and there is no set-on-stone measurements. Anything goes basically :D. And if you are looking to clear your fridge to make way for new vegetables for the coming week, this is a great way to cook them all :)

All you need is:

  • A mix variety of vegetables - chopped or sliced, any vegetable that you desire, into any size that you like. If you only have 1 type of vegetable, it works too :)

  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, chopped somewhat coarsely, depending on how you like your garlic

  • 1 tablespoon of any cooking oil of your choice, I used vegetable oil

  • 1 cup of water, more or less, depending on how 'soupy' you like your vegetables

  • salt to taste, I used sea salt for more subtle saltiness

Let the preparation and cooking begin...

Step 1 - Prepare the vegetables.

  • I chose some lady's fingers or okra, cabbage, cauliflower, carrot, eggplant and snow peas because I was on a mission to clear the fridge :D

  • I chopped each vegetable to the size that I prefer. You can pretty much chop it into any size and shape that you like.

Step 2 - Prepare the garlic.

  • Choose a few cloves of garlic and coarsely chop them.

Step 3 - Heat up the oil in a pan and start frying the garlic.

  • The stove fire should be between small to medium because garlic burns quite easily in high heat.

  • If the garlic is chopped too fine, it can burn too, as shown in the photo below, the brown pieces at the side of the pan.

  • Fry up or saute the garlic until fragrant, that is when they start to turn brown

Step 4 - Add the chopped and sliced vegetables.

  • Start with the harder to cook vegetables like carrots

  • Stir-fry for a bit before adding the rest of the vegetables. Stir-fry again after adding the vegetables.

Step 5 - Add 1 cup of water (more or less depending on how soupy you want the vegetables to be) and some sea salt to taste.

Step 6 - Stir-fry the vegetables and cover the pan to let the vegetables cook and soften.

Step 7 - Once the vegetables start to soften, lift up the cover and taste.

Step 8 - Continue to cook until the vegetables soften to the consistency that you like.

  • I like my vegetables soft and I cooked them for maybe about 10 to 15 minutes.

Step 9 - Time to serve :)

  • I like having them with rice.

If you like garlic as much as I do, I think you will like this simple stir-fry dish :)


All photos were taken using my mobile phone and resized on Canva.


2
$ 0.03
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @heartbeat1515
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

It's like chopsuey! But with a different variety of veggies ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ooo.. I just Googled. Yes it does! :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am not much of a vegetable eater but this one sure look tasty especially the fried garlic.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah yes, the fried garlic is yum. I love my garlic :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too. I can eat it with plain white rice and a pinch of salt.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yumm.. have you tried frying garlic with curry leaves? That is also divine :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I haven't tried that yet. Maybe you could share the recipe next week?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

:) A possibility

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😁 I can't wait for my house to be finished.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yay! And more recipes will come from your new kitchen :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I pray for that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago