Dark Christmas

18 54
Avatar for leejhen
2 years ago

This is the first time I experienced a Christmas without a light. When typhoon Odette hit the Philippines on December 16, 2021 Thursday.

I did not expected that our City will be included on signal number 4.But I guess what I felt and heard is signal number 5.

The eye of the typhoon is located here in  Cebu, At Carcar City.

And since we are near the area we also experienced a deafening and nerve wracking typhoon.

Before the typhoon I prepared some foods, water, candles and butane for cooking.

But unluckily I did not able to withdraw and get the money that my husband has sent to me.

At exactly 7 pm we already experienced a strong wind. I already cooked and we eat early dinner. At 8 pm the wind blew angrily.

The sound of the roof flying up above the sky, the sound of the trees that are swaying.

It's a deafening sound that will hurt your ears. It's very noisy and loud. I don't know what exactly I felt.

My body became cold and my heart beats so fast. I'am about to panic and panic attack will surely came next.

My heart beats abnormally. I know that if I will not control my emotions. No one and nobody will rescue me.

Some of my friends in FB are already posting for rescue and help. Their roof was blown by the wind as well as their wall. They are crying for help and it added to the nervousness that I felt.

Feeling cold with a trembling hand, I slowly walked at the kitchen to boil a water.

I drink hot water to calmed down myself. And thanks God that my heart beat came back to normal and the feeling of warmness embrace me.

The wind is very strong that it managed to sway our window.

The wind threw us some water and leaves.

We cover the window with cardboard but it's not effective. The water will still enter our front. I immediately sweep the water back to the door and wipe it with rug.

I experienced Typhoon Ruping when I was a child and Typhoon Yolanda which is also a super typhoon.

But this Typhoon Odette is the scariest one that I experienced so far.

It lasted 2 to 3 hours, until electricity was cut off.

The typhoon did not stop and continue to spread her wrath.

Leaving the people homeless and suffering.

The typhoon hit so many houses, trees, establishments and telecommunication towers as well as the electric posts.

All are damaged. Sad to say there are some people who died too, during the typhoon.

The suffering of the people did not end after the typhoon. It is just only the beginning. Those people who are homeless and need some foods, clothes and shelter.

I'm still lucky that the apartment that I rented was okay and intact. No parts are damaged. But my poor green chair was blown by the wind and flew at our neighbor's apartment.

Imagine how strong the wind is, how noisy and scary it is. In this kind of situation if you will not conquer your fears. Nervousness will eat you alive that can cause into panic attack.

My front neighbors roof fly and my friend's house was gone. A the roofs and windows are damaged leaving them homeless.

Hoarding of foods started and there is lack of water supply in every Barangay and City.

People are panicked buying while me has nothing to buy as I did not get the money. I can only panicked during these times.

But still thankful that we are safe and still alive.

Foods became expensive as well as the water.

You will line if you need water. And there are many people waiting in line in order to have water to drink.

Some apartment has no water supply especially when taking a bath.

Still, thanks God that we have water supply in here. The apartment has a well for everyone for washing clothes and taking a bath. It's still a blessing that God didn't leave us.

But I also felt thirst because I'am budgeting our water and I need to think for the kids first.

The sad part is that it will take 4 weeks for our electricity to came back. Other places will also take 8 weeks and some already came back. Working place and area is the Government's priority in restoring the electricity.

There is no internet connection. But luckily there is a signal at kumpang salvage. This is a place near by the sea and in front of Cebu City and Mandaue City.

I'am located here in Lapu-Lapu City. We need to pass by the bridge if we like to go to Cebu or Mandaue.

And there electricity in there was back as well as the internet connection.

Christmas came...

But it's very different than before where we saw fireworks and noisy people partying.

This time, It is still noisy but there's no fireworks. Only those firecrackers. I only have spaghetti with bread for the kids.

We went outside waiting for fireworks but there's none.

The place is quiet and dark.

Celebrating a Dark Christmas with hope in our hearts. There's still light in. The middle of Darkness.

A light that will guide us to fight and hold on.

It's an experienced that already carved deep inside my heart. It will never be forgotten.

I decided to write as I miss readcash. No internet connection can't stop me from writing.

My one and only motto: Patience is a virtue...

Merry Christmas everyone and advance Happy New Year!

leejhen 💞

Sponsors of leejhen
empty
empty

17
$ 23.93
$ 21.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @MizLhaine
$ 0.50 from @PVMihalache
+ 13
Sponsors of leejhen
empty
empty
Avatar for leejhen
2 years ago

Comments

Hey! Glad you are safe and even if the experience was scary you stayed strong. I kept asking about you but they didn't knew much!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah thanks. We are all safe but there is poor internet connection. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatakot na experience yan. Naranasan ko rin yan. Pati yung nagpasko sa dilim. Sana maubutan ng tulong kaagad ang mga naapektohan ng bagyo.

For sure, me mga team ng electric companies galing sa ibat ibang probinsya na tutulong sa VECO na maibalik kaagad ang kuryente dyan.

Stay safe and Happy New Year

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes may ipinadala na dito na haha meralco. Pero ang sa amin madilim parin. Yong iba may ilaw na. Ang signal ay pahirapan talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am very worried sayo. I always checked your account kung nagpost ka na, Thanks God safe ka. I hope you and your kids are doing fine there, despite what happened. keep safe and keep going Jhen. Patience is always a virtue, thanks for teaching me that. praying for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even though I haven't experienced the rage of typhoon Odette, my heart broke upon seeing you and our fellowmen suffered from it. I hope you are all safe now and in good condition. Sending my prayers po... 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have to thank God that in spite of all the damage you are alive and without human losses. I am sorry for all the material damages that occurred and for the neighboring people that disappeared with the climatic event. Being in the dark and unprotected is not pleasant. I pray to God for you.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes very thankful that we are still alive. Thank you for the prayers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is your luck to be in a solid structure, it is a sad natural phenomenon, I hope you get rid of its effects as soon as possible.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can imagine the horror that you have experienced sis but the good thing is that you and your family are okay..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ramdam ko yong kaba habang nagbabasa,ang lakas pala talaga ng hangin diyan,kasi sa nakikita ko sa photos talagang nawasak ang mga bahay,good thing your safe ,I hope everything will be fine in the coming days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pray for you everything will be fine and doing well How about you and how are you ? This Christmas really sad for you hope it's never repeat again and you will enjoy happily Merry Christmas to you Happy new year

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakalungkot naman po ng mga articles niyo ate. Buti na lang po at walang nasira sa inyo pero sana po, bumalik na po sa dati ang lahat. Happy holiday ate hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakadurog ng puso🥺 I am so sorry that you experience this calamity during Christmas. Huwag ka magalala sis, makakabangon rin tayo. I hope safe kayong lahat ng family niyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The damages are really devastating, Ate. But glad that you and you're family are all safe, hoping that you'll cope up in no specific time. Fighting lang, Ate! 💫

Anyways, down pa ba mga banks sa inyo, Ate? Binabalita kasi 'yan eh na dapat may enough na laman ang mga banks para makapag-labas 'yung mga nasalanta. Pero sana is intact din ang mga banks and di nasira.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We felt the same, the dark christmas 🤗 but thankful that we are safe from the typhoon 😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really sad and painful Alhamdulillah anyway, may Allah protect you

$ 0.00
2 years ago