The Art of Letting Go

3 18
Avatar for lavieestbelle
3 years ago

Have you ever watched trapeze artists? They hold onto one bar, create momentum, and then just like that, they let go. In that moment the choice is made to either grab onto the next bar with both hands, or keep one hand holding on. If they choose to hold on, I assume one of two things would happen: either they would get stuck with one hand on each bar, stretched out, or just fall completely.

There comes a point in all of our lives where we need to let go. We need to let go of the past: the hurt, unmet expectations, loss, hopes, and dreams. It is a healthy way to move on. We cannot possibly continue to move forward in our own lives if we are constantly holding on to that bar from our past. Letting go is not giving up. Letting go is not quitting. Letting go does not mean you do not know what to do or how to do it. Letting go does not imply that you are unstable or inconsistent. Letting go simply means that you are aware that in order to experience anything new, better, or different you have to first let go.

   Things have been shaky for me this pandemic, not really that shaky though but on my career side. I ended my contract last April 30 but then was extended due to the COVID-19 quarantine that was conducted in our place, so, by June I continued to serve the school that I am working. My contract officially ended last June 30. I applied to be a public-school teacher and supposed to be April 5 is our English Proficiency Test but then due to the quarantine, it was cancelled. I waited 4 long months to take the English Proficiency Test and the good news came that it will finally be conduct on August 3 and 4, but that was just a taste of good news to me because I wasn’t really part of the takers for the reason that I am asthmatic and they will not allow me to be in the testing center. This is heartbreaking for me. I really want to be placed in the ranking this year but helplessly, I failed now because I will no longer have points for the English Proficiency Test. I cried a lot the moment I received the news and had lots of blamings and regrets to myself. I cannot imagine being stagnant or being unemployed for the rest of the year. I have pressures with me.

          Now, I am writing this one, as my way of letting go of this heartbreaking piece of my career because I cannot control this kind of thing and we are all struggling with this pandemic. Maybe this year is not for me yet, but I know my time will come. I loved teaching since I was a kid and I have told myself to be a public teacher is such a career fulfillment for me, but it is not for me yet, and I will be preparing for the best on my second try for the ranking.

This is me accepting my fate, this is me letting go of this unfortunate time, and this is me making peace with my own timeline.

 

Thank you for reading! God bless!

 

 

Always remember, La Vie est Belle (Life is Beautiful)

 

 

LIKE, COMMENT, SUBSCRIBE

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for lavieestbelle
3 years ago

Comments

You have written such a wonderful article. I totally felt the passion and heartbreak in this article. Let's be patient. Everything will happen in God's perfect time. I hope great things work out for you 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Every individual affected by this invisible menace I am sure has their own narrative of how they were so caught up in this mess so attached they don't even remember how it is to let go, we can't even imagine how worst others are going through right now just to make it tomorrow. So if you are able to write and read this article right now you should be thankful , you still have time to spare doing this things while others don't. Thanks nice article!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There is surely a time in our lives where we need to let go of past troubles and worries. If we continue to worry about the past, we waste our present instead of improving our present for a better tomorrow

$ 0.00
3 years ago