A pinch of Compassion

0 60
Avatar for lagrapefruit
3 years ago

Compassion is like a teardrop of happiness that lands on a seed and enables it to sprout. Like waking someone up from a deep sleep.

Some say compassion is charity, others that it is mercy. I say it is a beautiful combination of both.

Compassion is to sympathize with those struck with misfortune.

War, greed and illnesses always multiply the number of the disadvantaged around us.

Sometimes I wonder if wars would cease all together if compassion was taught to all peoples from a young age. Who knows? Maybe not, though, for we all have free will, yet, even a decrease in the number of wars would be a remarkable improvement.

Considering that even a small decrease in wars would prevent thousands and thousands of unnecessary and futile deaths. Deaths that have brought sadness to many.

I dream about it all the time. I wish that compassion could bring back someone's brother, another's father, an aunt or uncle, a sister or a cousin. I mean it in the sense of those unnecessary deaths not having occurred at all, had compassion kicked in and prevented them.

But that's the thing about life. Is it not? It is so fragile and irreplaceable. I guess that is why it is so valuable.

Everyone has heard the golden rule: "Treat others the way you would like to be treated."

It is the long way of saying: Be compassionate.

Be merciful and charitable to those in unfortunate states of life, as you would wish them to be with you when in that same situation.

That is what love is.

But why is it, then, that compassion is so lacking in our day and age?

Well because of another rule: "You can not give what you do not have."

As I observe the world around me, I can see a lack of self compassion.

Many lack empathy for others because they themselves do not have compassion for themselves.

This probably sounds strange but hear me out.

There are two ways to not have compassion for yourself.

  1. You do everything for others and not yourself.

  2. You do everything for your own benefit and not for others.

In the first case, compassion for others is shortlived and does not reach it's full potential because by not caring for yourself, your body quickly deteriorates into illness and you can no longer care for yourself nor others but rather you will need someone to care for you.

In the second case, by concentrating compassion only for yourself and not for others, you are actually not being truly compassionate with yourself because it will push away those who love you, leading to an unhappy life.

Like this study on happiness shows:

Compassion starts with yourself, then towards others.

Sponsors of lagrapefruit
empty
empty
empty

Hey Saplings!

I hope you have been well! Because of St. Valentine's day, I thought it was fitting to write about compassion.

I'm in a busy season of my life right now, which has delayed some articles that I have lined up.

I guess it's the story of many grownups' lives. Busy. Busy. Busy. Hehe

Every once in a while, though, I'll go and read some of your articles. You will know I've passed by because I try to leave a meaningful and reciprocating comment or if I do not have time for a comment, I'll leave a tiny but meaningful tip.

On my part, I'll continue writing at my own pace. Since I appreciate being able to release my thoughts in article and freeing up space in my head. Lol.

Thanks for reading! @lagrapefruit

Join me on LBRY!

It's a decentralized video, audio and PDFs crypto platform, follow me there and you'll also get some free crypto.

https://lbry.tv/$/invite/@LaGrapefruit:3

3
$ 1.48
$ 1.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Purebeauty
$ 0.01 from @Loner
Sponsors of lagrapefruit
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for lagrapefruit
3 years ago

Comments