How is Nonverbal Communication Essential to Every Communicative Situation?

19 36
Avatar for ladyhanabi
3 years ago
Non-Verbal Communication

How is nonverbal communication essential to every communicative situation?

Non-verbal communication is essential in communication in a way that the message cannot only be conveyed through words. For example, the traffic lights indicate different meanings; green for go, red for stop and yellow for proceed with caution. The same thing is true in Kinesics; nodding your head for yes and shaking your head for no. Without the universal understanding of these gestures, people would only be confused in communicating verbally.

Why is it necessary to be mindful of your nonverbal cues/ actions towards others?

It is necessary because your action might speak otherwise than the words you say. It manifest your interest towards the other person. It may be offensive to the person you're talking to, making him/her uncomfortable during the entire conversation. Your actions reflects your intentions, regardless of the absence of your words, it gives others the notion or message.

How can these nonverbal communication be helpful to allow you become better speakers?

With a vast disparity of languages, it is good to know that certain gestures and body movements would pave way for easier communication. These nonverbal communication can help in a way of delivering your speech/report effectively, for instance, your hand movement and the energy that the movement represents, it can help hold attention as well as help express the message. Every nonverbal gesture, no matter how seemingly insignificant, sends a signal to your audience. By using gestures, you are (also) literally or psychologically making your audience members feel closer to you while you are delivering.


Question to ponder:

Which of these nonverbal communication ( kinesics, haptics, vocalics, proxemics & chronemics ) you deemed to be unaware of and why?

For me, chronemics, because I always tend to procrastinate and therefore, arrives late on meetings, celebrations and classes. And I may not finish the job in time or as expected but I can still deliver what I think I need rather than what I asked for.

How about you? Share your thoughts in the comment section.

Learner's Community.

14
$ 0.04
$ 0.03 from @MisterWrite
$ 0.01 from @BilalCtn
Sponsors of ladyhanabi
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ladyhanabi
3 years ago

Comments

I learnt something new about non verbal communication. Haptics, vocalis, kinesics and so on. I am gradually thinking RC a good learning platform rather than earning.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you a student? Do you want to share the things that you've learned from school? Perhaps some term papers or working papers? You contribyte it to Learner's community. 🤓

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I actually have this what you call mannerism of rolling my eyes in a middle of conversation or part of my expression. People actually thought that I'm being mean or what but honestly, I can't help doing that during awkward situation,especially when it's my first time talking to them and they're teasing me i expressed that I'm getting annoyed then i follow it with a laugh. Of course i only roll my eyes if the situation includes teasing but I'm not really mad whenever i do it, but they said i should refrain from doing that especially to those whom i just met for the first time because they'll get scared at me or offended haha so yeah i tried my best not to react that way because i don't want to be misunderstood.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohhh, tbh when I first saw you.. I kind of got an impression that you're mean hahahahahhaha Idk you look very intimidating😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahhaha di ko na mabilang sino nagsabi sakin nyan haha it's either masungit or maarte. Ewan ko ba pero totoo naman yung masungit pero yung maarte di ko alam hahahha baka sa pag salita🤧🤧

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @BilalCtn for dropping by here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think every nonverbal gesture, no matter how seemingly insignificant, they need to sends a signal to their audience for things to work out fine. This was a hell of information passed out here 👌

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed. Glad you grasp the information accurately.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are most welcome my friend anytime 👌. Hope to read more of your beautiful articles because they are sure inspiring

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the commemdation. I'd actually love to share more of this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Would be looking forward to reading them all🤭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Glad to have you, lookibg forward to my future articles.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Definitely I will..... bye 🌹

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We have a problem, here with this, because non verbal communication, cannot be transmitted, here, so we have to take care, not to send the wrong message.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the upvote @MisterWrite

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome! Much deserved. ;)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For me it might be like a yellow light. Being careful not to offend others is more representative of my nature and behavior so far.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, we have to be sensitive enough.

$ 0.00
3 years ago