Modern Calligraphy Workshop Using Dip-Pen

4 38
Avatar for keeneek
2 years ago
Modern Calligraphy Workshop

In my elementary days, I remember that I got furious when my answer was marked as wrong because my teacher misread my letter C to letter E. I was still learning cursive at that time, and I wrote it in a fancy way. Of course, I defended that it was letter C and was reprimanded to write in a normal way.

I didn't know at that time that what I was doing is already Hand Lettering and Faux Calligraphy. I just know I wanted to write beautifully. It was in the year 2017, that I saw @Momentswithmatti calligraphy and lettering in one of the blogging platforms that I joined. I was mesmerized by how it was written and arranged beautifully. Also at that time, I bumped into a Lettering Challenge held by @crimsonowlkk on the same platform. I joined and enjoyed the said challenge.

I got curious, so I researched on the internet and tried to copy the words. I never learn how to do it the right way, and with that, I decided to enroll in a Calligraphy workshop. Fortunately, I found one in Iligan City. Unfortunately, it was already done two days ago. I left a comment saying I missed the workshop. It was a good decision that I commented on the post since the calligrapher replied that she will be conducting a year-end calligraphy workshop in December.

Calligraphy

Calligraphy is derived from a combination of the Greek word: 'Calli' or 'Kallos' meaning 'beauty' and 'graph' or 'graphien' meaning to write. When combined, it means beautiful writing. It is the art of beautiful handwriting. [Source]

Dip-Pen Calligraphy

Traditional and Modern Calligraphy

Calligraphy is not about how good your penmanship is. Calligraphy follows strokes in forming different letters. Traditional calligraphy scripts have their own specific and structured strokes. Examples of these are Copperplate and Spencerian Script. While on the other hand, Moden Calligraphy does not follow any structural strokes or rules. You can have your own style and techniques in modern calligraphy. Hence, you have the freedom to do it in your own way, but somehow follow some basic strokes or rules in calligraphy.

Brush Pen and Dip-Pen Calligraphy

Pressure is one of the factors you need to keep in mind when doing calligraphy. Brush Pen Calligraphy uses a brush wherein it acts as the flexible nib that allows you to create thick and thin strokes. The pressure that you apply will vary on what strokes will be written. People mostly in China, Korea, and Japan use a brush to write, as what we mostly see in Chinese and Korean drama and Anime.

Brush Pen Calligraphy

While Dip-Pen Calligraphy, sometimes called Pointed Pen, uses a nib that is attached to a nib holder. Then dip the nib to ink that would hold and control the flow of the ink as you write the letters. As mentioned, the stroke will depend on the pressure you exert on your hand.

Now, compared to brush pen, dip-pen calligraphy gives you elegant and beautiful words. And I like dip-pen more, even though it's harder than brush pen.

The Workshop

I remember I messaged Jean @Momentswithmatti and asked her what should I enroll in? Brush Pen or Dip-Pen? She replied it was best to enroll dip-pen, and as obedient as I am, I followed what the expert told me.

With thorough research, I found Write with Passion Facebook account. It was a one-on-one workshop. Even though I only enrolled in dip-pen calligraphy, Charlette (the calligrapher) was kind enough to teach me also how to use a brush pen.

Learning the Basic

Drills to make you better

The workshop started with the introduction of calligraphy, samples, and tools. I was asked if I am right-handed or left-handed, how do I hold a pen, and then, she asked me to write anything in a normal cursive way.

Since I am a beginner, I started using the pencil for the drills. This will help me to practice writing lightly and to familiarize the basic movements of the arm and wrist in writing the basic strokes. It was quite difficult for me since I don't write lightly most of the time. Yes, I can write lightly, but not all the time.

Materials Needed

  1. Nib - For beginners, it is highly recommended to use the G nibs like Nikko G, Zebra G, and Tachikawa G. Charlette brought Nikko G for me to use.

  2. Penholder - There are two kinds of penholders: Straight and Oblique. For me, the Oblique is way more convenient than the straight penholder.

  3. Ink - The ink is where you dip your nib. It's hard to control the ink, especially the thickness of the letter. But as I go on, I can now familiarize how dip-pen works.

  4. Paper - Paper is important in Calligraphy. It should be thick enough that the ink will not blot and smudge and smooth enough for the nib not to acquire fibers from the paper.

It's a Wrap

Even though the workshop didn't even last up to four hours, but still I learned a lot. I was able to write my name on the paper provided by Charlette.

Now, let me show you some of my artworks in the calligraphy department.

My first four attempts in dip-pen calligraphy
My recent Dip-Pen Calligraphy using Walnut Ink
My recent Brush Pen Calligraphy using Tombow Fudenosuke Soft Tip

I haven't mastered it yet, but I'm proud enough to say I evolve like a Pokemon. I'm planning to write the quotes or verses in a compressed and flourished manner since it looks aesthetic. Unfortunately, I have failed to do so in my shared artwork. But I will surely get there. Also, it would be great if I could write my poems and paint something on them. Not now, but soon.

And I guess that would be all. See you in my next post! :)


✍️ K E E N E E K


4
$ 0.20
$ 0.10 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.05 from @deedum
$ 0.05 from @crimsonowlkk
Sponsors of keeneek
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for keeneek
2 years ago

Comments

Your calligraphy is very nice. ☺I suddenly missed mine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was so many years ago but I’m glad joining my challenge on Steemit made you take a step to learning calligraphy. I wish I did for myself but it’s never too late I guess

$ 0.00
2 years ago

woot woot.. thank you for tagging me dai.. gimingaw ko ug calligraphy uy.. lisud man mag dip pen dre basin makaw at ni matti ang mga nibs.. nya gagmay man gud kaau ni sila basin makaon or what.. sunod nalng kun daku2 na sya...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always wanted to learn calligraphy!!!! Maybe I should enroll too 😬 I’ve been doing it a looooot ever since college!!!!

And your callig is niceeee ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago