May Memory Dump

7 48
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago

My May 2022 was full of food and travels with friends, and I have yet to post these here on Read. I was able to bond with my high school classmates since I went home because of the election. I also had a fun adventure with some of my classmates in college and other schoolmates in college.


Sponsors of keeneek
empty
empty
empty

So I went to my hometown for the election. I was planning to stay there for a month but I, unexpectedly, had something to do after the election. Now, the first thing that I ate upon arriving in Iligan City was to eat Pater - a Muslim rice dish topped with shredded beef, tuna, or chicken, which is packed in a banana leaf.

The following day, Anthony and I, together with the closest guy classmate in high school, had lunch together in Papa Mai's Grill House. I've been craving their liempo (pork belly) for the longest time. And by the longest time, I mean two years and eight months. Sheim kept on persuading me to eat somewhere with an air conditioner, but my cravings were strong enough to say no to him.

In the evening, Sheim and I ambushed one of our classmates, Hazel. I told him not to mention I am with him, but he insisted on telling her so Hazel will have a sense of urgency. While waiting for Hazel, Sheim called Ella that we were coming. Ella mentioned calling me, but Sheim lied and told her that I didn't respond to his call. By the time we reached Ella's house, I was so excited to meet her two huggable and cute husky and her adorable baby.

Then we went to the cafe near Ella and Hazel's home. Thankful enough that Sheim has a car and is willing to drive us home. We talked about many things while waiting for our order. Just like in the old days, even though we are closer to each other, we still talk like we are 10 meters apart. Anyway, we ordered chicken with fries, and I paired it with Matcha Frappe. It was heavenly!

Aside from the food that I want to eat, I had been yearning to visit Paseo de Santiago, Timoga Cold Spring, and Tinago Falls. Everything was spontaneous. Hazel and one of our classmates, Ayen Yu, accompanied me to Paseo de Santiago. I was hoping to have an all-out dinner with them, but I had a meet-up with my team leader beforehand, and the supposed to be a snack, turned into an early dinner. And so, I only had three pieces of barbecue in Paseo de Santiago. And we did some catching up for three hours, and it was still not enough.

As mentioned, I also wanted to go to Timoga Cold Spring and Tinago Falls. And with that, Antoni and I went to Timoga at 7:00 AM to avoid the crowd. I wanted to go to Mimars because of the river (sapa), but Antoni wanted to swim in the Olympic size pool and jump on the jumping board of Dela Mar. I said yes to him since I'll be back in Iligan City in July. An hour later, Hazel arrived and we went to the 16-ft pool.

After Timoga, she called some of our classmates to meet us in Linamon. It was just a sudden decision of mine that we should go to Tinago Falls - Timoga was already crowded at 10:00 AM. And for more than two years, the same in Timoga, I have finally witnessed the majestic hidden gem of Iligan City; hence the name Tinago (hidden). Two of my classmates went with us, Ayen Yu and Abeth with his husband, my batchmate (officer) in ROTC.

The fun didn't stop in Tinago Falls, since we went to the private beach of Ayen's family and then filled our stomachs at her Uncle's restaurant - Bario Canton. Ah, the place is filled with our high school memories. I was able to eat again their Lomi and lumpia shanghai, and also, the well-known Buko Pie of Linamon. We ended our day strolling on the longest boardwalk in the region at Kauswagan - and that's where I live.

My parents arrived on the day of the election. They bought lots of mango from Zamboanga del Sur since Lolo's mangoes aren't ripe yet. And I had a feast with the mango plus the cassava cake they bought as well. Even though mango and cassava trigger my asthma, I still ate a lot, especially mangoes. Like, where can I find a mango as cheap as 25 PHP per kilo here in Cavite? Also, I realized my sisters and I are such good eaters. I'd love to eat with them in an unlimited buffet restaurant. I tell you, we have the same appetite, even the youngest. All thanks to father dear. Haha

After filling our stomachs, we went to the precinct and waited for two hours to cast our vote. Papa and I have the same precinct, second sis and Mama are also in the same precinct, and the third one has a different precinct. Nana (grandma) cast her vote early in the morning.

Since I'm a spoiled granddaughter, I requested her to cook a latik na saging (sweetened banana with coconut milk). She cooked it while Auntie Tina, the masseuse, massaged my extremely stiff body. Mama also cooked Spaghetti and Nilat-ang Baboy (Boiled Pork Soup).

When I went back to Cavite, I had spontaneous hiking in Mt. Batulao, with Anthony, some of our classmates and juniors in college, and then his colleague. It was exhausting but fulfilling. The panoramic view covered in lush green was breathtakingly beautiful. I was so proud of myself that my asthma didn't trigger from the 3.5-hour ascending hike and another 3-hour descending hike.

Antoni and I celebrated our 12 years in a relationship with the Lomi of Batangas. It was pouring on that day, so we decided to reschedule the dine out for the weekend in Manila. However, another spontaneous decision was made I told him we should have dinner in Ippon Yari, a Japanese restaurant in Dasmariñas City.

Lastly, I am so proud I'm back to exercising. Day 1 was hiking at Mt. Batulao, and until now, I've been doing it. I have already lost more than 2 kg, and it's already an achievement. I also have been eating green salad and strictly following 16:8 intermittent fasting.


As always, I still have a lot to share. It was definitely a jam-packed May 2022. I am grateful for all the blessings - my family, friends, my love, my career. May is a breather, and it also springs with a new beginning, a new journey for me.

Since I've been into this Memory Dump thing, I decided to create my own community for this kind of content.


May Articles:


Bisaya • Books • Art • Poem • Anime • Travel • Food • Dogs

Connect with me: Noise • Steemit •  Hive • Blurt • Goodreads • Twitter • Instagram

8
$ 3.22
$ 3.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jijisaur
$ 0.02 from @Micontingsabit
Sponsors of keeneek
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago

Comments

Jam packed ang May mo sis! Nacurious ako sa history ng mga places na nabanggit mo, tinago at linamon hihihi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dahil ba sa name sis? Yung Tinago meaning hidden. Kasi tinago ng sultan and wife niya ang kanilang anak na sinumpa ng enchantress. Sinumpa kasi na magiging pangit. Sa Linamon naman, galing sa salitang nilamon. Parang kinain ng buo. Bali si Lina nilamon siya. Nakalimutan ko ano yung story, pero yung nilamon, sure ako diyan. hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo dahil sa name. Hahahaha Linamon si Lina ng?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hala ang cute naman ni doggo! It is my first time voting kaya memorable ang May ko this year hehe!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo, super. Yung isa di ko napicture-ran kasi nakakulong. Super hyper kasi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakagutom naman nyang mga pino post moh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Craving for the foods you post. 🤤All foods seems yummy and delicious. Ang cute nung husky. Sarap yakapin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago