I Bought a New Phone

6 47
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago
Huawei P10 taken by Samsung S22+

I've been away for almost a month. I had drafted six (6) articles but never had the will to finish and post them. I had gone to different churches, places, and restaurants, and met my colleagues for the very first time, but I didn't have enough decent photos. Why? Well, my phone shut down every time I use the camera. And it easily heats up, especially when the weather is too hot. Well, I can't blame my phone. My Huawei P10 has been with me for five years already. Plus I'm a lazy potato when it comes to deleting and transferring photos.

Last December 2021, I received an unexpected bonus which made me realize maybe I should get a new one. I started checking the camera features and qualities of the iPhone 13 Pro and lastly, checked the price. However, I was planning to fix the kitchen and comfort room of our house, so I decided to postpone it for the meantime. It was postponed thrice, until such time I decided to buy a battery for my P10 instead. I had already changed its battery, so I'm thinking of replacing it again - three digits versus five digits.

For four months, I wasn't able to buy a new battery. I was so busy that it slipped through my mind. From the phone, I decided maybe I should buy a secondhand Fujifilm camera for blogging purposes. I asked for assistance regarding the markdown price, but the majority said no.

Samsung S22+, no filter

Last week of April, a spontaneous decision was made. Mark, my colleague, went to Manila for our first-ever get-together with the other members of the team. I already knew he bought a new phone two weeks prior to the said meet-up. After the event, he kept on telling me the camera features of his phone - his goal is to budol me. And I admit, I was impressed by the camera quality.

The next day, after the second meet-up with the PH Director, I bought a new phone - Samsung S22+. S22 size is good enough for me, except for the battery, while S22 Ultra is too big for me and its design is not compatible with my taste. With that, I had second thoughts on S22+ since it is also big enough to my liking, and the available color is pink gold only. As much as I want to buy iPhone 13 Pro, when I think of the price, Samsung S22+ is cheaper compared to iPhone 13 Pro. And that was the cue point. Also, iOS has too many restrictions, and I guess Android is much more compatible with me.

Camera

S22+ has a triple rear camera system: 50 MP main, 12 MP ultrawide, and 10MP 3x telephoto camera. The main camera is good, especially in the daylight, and the colors are vivid already. However, the low-light photo quality is not the best. The sharpness of the photo is lacking, giving it a softer quality; although the grainy part is still tolerable.

Main camera, daylight, no filter
Main camera, low-light, no filter

Just like the main, the ultrawide camera produces sharp images in daylight and not that crisp in low light. It might be a not-so flashy camera feature these days, telephoto, but I am pretty much impressed with this since my first phone doesn't have this one.

Ultra-wide angle, low-light, no filter
Telephoto, low-light, no filter

For a selfie, it offers a 10 MP selfie camera, resulting in detailed and sharp shots given that there's enough lighting. In other words, it is not a liar, and I am not happy with it. Okay, kidding aside, it has narrow and wide features, which is good enough for a groupie.

Narrow selfie, no filter, freckles are visible
Wide selfie, no filter

Even with a new phone, I still use my Huawei P10 most of the time - for texting, calling, and especially for crypto purposes.

I'm happy that after a year of convincing myself to buy a phone, I now have a new one. Though it is not the best phone with an outstanding camera features, I am still contented what this s22+ can offer to me, and I've yet to explore some of its features.


Bisaya • Books • Art • Poem • Anime • Travel • Food • Dogs

Connect with me: Noise • Steemit •  Hive • Blurt • Goodreads • Twitter • Instagram

8
$ 5.83
$ 5.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 4
Sponsors of keeneek
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago

Comments

Wow, ang ganda ng camera sis! I was an android user before then switched to IOS tas android ulit hehe! Congrats sa new phone sissy!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bat nagrevert back to android ka sis? Di mo ba bet ang iOS? Ako naman siguro after 5-6 years, gusto ko magka iPhone. Maganda kasi talaga ang camera eh.

Salamat, sis!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good for you sis, congratulations on your new phone. I hope it will serve you the best. I love your camera for the moon. May you have lots of captured photos with it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salamat, sis! :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice ang zoom ahh abot moon man... Congrats dai for the new phone....

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo dai. Naamaze ko saiya zoom jud pod ai. Salamat, dai. :) hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago