Man in the Church

16 52
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
3 years ago

I was notified by @Yen 's latest post about random act of kindness. Found out it was an entry to @LykeLyca 's giveaway entitled Random Act of Kindness Giveaway

While reading @Yen 's An Old Lady , I remember a time in my life when I was in college.

Every Friday, I visit church after my 5 p.m. class. I was with my friend that time and we were about to proceed to the side of the church to light up some candles and offer our prayers.

As we were halfway approaching that area, a man raised his hands at us. He was a foreigner wearing a hat seated on the ground in front of the church. We walked closer and asked what he wanted.

The man introduced himself as Jimmy. He's asking for some penny because he hasn't eaten for almost a week. Upon seeing his face I know he really needs help so I gave him my last 20 peso bill. He held my hand and thanked me, even almost knelt down. I told him to go and buy himself something to eat as we slowly left him. I was looking at him as if he has something to say.

I prayed like the usual and even said a little prayer for that foreign man, too. After that, I looked back to where he was seated and he already had some bread in his hands. I smiled silently and went with my friend at the back of the church where she resides.

We were on the back gate of the church when I suddenly stopped. I was bothered and really curious remembering what that man told me. I remember him saying he slept for more than a month on the kiosk in the middle of the park just right in front of the church. I thought, the weather is becoming really bad since there's a tropical storm coming and it's really cold there. I told my friend to go back but she warned me that the man might be a scammer.

I grabbed my friends hand and went back to where the man sits. He was still there, never did I hesitate to ask him why he was there. He said, he came to see his girlfriend from our place. The girlfriend took all of his belongings including his wallet while they were asleep. He lost everything except his phone but it's already dead. He already reported to the police and aired in the radio station about the incident. It's taking so long and he doesn't have money to pay the hotel so he was forced to stay on the streets.

My heart was pricked looking around and thinking what he could get in the streets. I almost cried listening to him. (Imagine it happens to you? Or your brother? Or anyone in your family? ) His clothes becoming dirty, and I just couldn't stand him in that state. I don't think he's lying. So the best thing I thought was to offer him a temporary shelter. Our home is full of people but there's plenty of room.

I told him to go with me but he refused. I insisted 'cause I thought he might haven't showered yet or slept well. At least he could rest while waiting for some help. But with great appreciation and gratitude he said he can't thank me enough for that good offer. I really wanted to help him but he chose to stay. So I just walked away but I took his name and his address is somewhere in Nevada in the U.S. so atleast I could post it or tell my cousin who lives there. She could report it and that maybe his family would be able know he was here and help him go back to his place.

I told my cousin but she said some foreigners pretend to be homeless to make some social experiment. She's married to a foreigner (not to mention the race) and most of her friends are. She said they are wise men, they keep their valuables in a safe and don't bring it with them so that man must have not accepted my offer is because if he's homeless he would definitely choose to come for shelter.

That was my experience and I feel good to realize that I kinda have a soft heart for the needy.

42
$ 2.43
$ 2.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @LykeLyca
Sponsors of kat2x
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Your act is very commendable and also risky, taking a beggar home is very dangerous, one does not know if they are really good people and are in need, or as your aimga told you, someone who takes advantage of the goodness of others to steal them

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's also true.. I realised that, too. I just thought we have a lot of boys at home as we are a good family and we have a free room there and maybe it's safe that was before but these days it's not easy to trust anymore you'll never know who the enemies are

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly, be very careful in the future, and people are not as respectful or grateful as before.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very admirable act. Even if he's a scammer or not what you did is great and I'm sure your angel was so happy at that time. God bless!🙏

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! I admire you, not just the kindness in you but your courage as well. We really don't know the real story of the foreigner, your cousin might be right. But, you just displayed humaneness in truest sense. God bless you, kat!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I didn't really know why I felt that way. Even with some street kids. But I see to it that these kids aren't scammers 🤣. I asked them about their parents and I like those kids who roam around not to beg for money but sell something. I would definitely buy to help them. Or sometimes I help them sell their goods.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We call it divine appointment in a Christian perspective, or intuition, gut feeling for some. Something that pushes you to reach out. Yeah, agree with you, especially these kids that works so hard despite of their age. All the best for you kat!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Church Connects Us with God

It gives us a physical space to connect and draw closer to God and to realize that there is something out there bigger than ourselves. Plus entering a house of worship, we're instantly elevated to a state where we're opening ourselves to God and trying to understand his message.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When i go Church i felt very fresh

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Share the blessing that we had to those who really needs our help, it doesn't matter if it is cash, food or anything that may support others.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's right. I always think or try to put myself in their situation. Things must be really hard for them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Where's the church located?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Near my school campus

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I thought the church is in Baclaran. I saw a foreigner there also he was holding a paper with a words on it " give me food " but that was a long time ago in pasay footbridge.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago