The Art Of My First-Time Voting Experience

19 40
Avatar for joydigitalsolutions
1 year ago

Finally, I voted for my chosen candidates today. I did not attend any rallies, but on election day, I did my part to support them. My heart is overjoyed but yet worried about the findings, which will be announced later or tomorrow. Now I understand the sense of accomplishment, as if you made a decision that you will never regret in the next six years. I was emphatic about who I would vote for, who are Bongbong Marcos and Inday Sara. I opted to vote in the upcoming election because I knew Bongbong would run for President, but I had no idea Inday Sara would run for Vice President. Even though I am not certain if they were allies, I still vote for both of them because I envision them working together for the good of our country, particularly the economy, without bickering. (You remember what happened to the last President and Vice President, don't you?) If the other party wins, I will still support and wish them well for the country. There is no use in shaming or vilifying them; instead, let us pray for their good intentions in our country.

May 8, 2022 Evening

When I asked my brother-in-law what time we would go to the voting place, he answered 6 a.m. since it would be warmer and there would be fewer people. I prepared everything in my bag for tomorrow. You may read my post about the election and certain procedures that will be very helpful to a first-time voter like myself here. Inside my bag, I have the paper they gave me when I registered, which has my precinct number, a valid ID, and a vaccination card in case they are needed. I also keep a ballpen, alcohol, and my phone. The rest are only for girls, you know. hehe. I prepped my kodigo for voting tomorrow so that I would not choose anyone on the ballot mistakenly. I also arrange what I'll wear tomorrow to save down on time spent getting ready.

My youngest cat

Before going to bed, I noticed my cat sleeping happily on my lap, so I seized the opportunity to photograph him. He dislikes having his photo taken when he is awake, but now I have the opportunity. Isn't he adorable?

May 9, 2022 Morning

I awoke at 5:30 a.m. and immediately prepared myself by brewing a cup of coffee. I was thinking that there would be a lot of people at our voting station, so I needed to hurry because my brother in law had already done everything. We arrived at the precinct at 6 a.m., and it took me about 15 minutes to find my room. I proceed to the queue after getting my number, which is number one as my surname begins with the letter A. There are two lines for voters aged 18 to 59, and another for senior citizens and maybe other PWD voters. The queue I was in was so sluggish that even though I was only 11 from the front, it took me years to come to grips. The reason for this is that some parents acquire their children's numbers and line up, and their children will follow them even if they arrive late. I just saw two parents like that here. Another reason is the senior citizen; I'm not sure how they handle it, but what I observe is that they get 5 senior citizens before receiving one from the 18-59 year old lines, which is why it took us so long. Lastly, I saw that even in the senior citizen queues, some of them head to the first line rather than the last line since they had just arrived. Sumisingit sila mga vebs, kawawa naman yung mga nakapilang ibang senior citizen din.I'm not attacking anyone; I'm only sharing my experience as my first voter.

If I'm not mistaken, there were five poll watchers in one room, four inside and one outside. The lines were not as clean since some people were ditching and not following the lines. The poll watcher is too hesitant to instruct them to line up. I believe it is just a question of self-discipline, even if no one tells you otherwise. When they called me inside, I merely gave them my number, they let me sign the record book as confirmation that I voted, and they handed me the ballot. Before I begin shading circles, I check my kodigo that I wrote the night before to prevent selecting erroneous choices. After shading and double-checking, I insert my ballot into the machine and wait for the receipt to ensure that I voted for the proper number and name. I exit the room after they have inked my finger and thank the watcher who has accommodated me. Following that, I walked to my brother-in-law, who had finished first and was waiting for me outside. We simply purchase bread from the nearest bakery and return home. We arrived home around 8 a.m. It took us two hours to vote, and I hope they win this battle. Fingers crossed.

What was my feelings as a first time voter?

I am happy, in fact, I am extremely happy. I am overjoyed to have voted in this election, which has received the most attention and generated the most commotion. I hope the hate dies down once new national and local positions are established. It's funny because my friends and I didn't discuss who we would vote for, yet we ended up voting almost similarly. We just give each other's candidates respect and honor without questioning them. I feel family and friends are more important to me than battling each other over other politicians. Six years is way too long, so I hope we all voted carefully. Thank you hugely!

What are your opinions on the election?

The lead image and the other images were taken by myself.

Sponsors of joydigitalsolutions
empty
empty
empty

Publishing Date: May 9, 2022

10
$ 1.66
$ 1.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
$ 0.02 from @yhanne
+ 2
Sponsors of joydigitalsolutions
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for joydigitalsolutions
1 year ago

Comments

I failed to vote for 2 consecutive elections na and I am happy that you exercised your right sis. Next time, aasikasuhin ko na ang transfer of precinct ko. God bless our country, let us help one another! And I value relationships more than politics so kung may mga nangaaway or something pinapabayaan ko na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Andami na ngang mas nangyayari sis eh. Akala ko pagkatapos ng election eh matutuldukan na ang lahat pero parang mas lumala. Nakakatakot. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wag ka maniwala sa mainstream media sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sis huwag talaga kasi madalas opposite ang pinapakita nila which is alarming minsan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uy parehas tayo sis! I took some pictures too para may remembrance ako hehe! Malapit na matapos bilangan sana irespect ng mga tao yung uupo. Para sa Pilipinas.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True po sis. May panalo na pero still respect din sa mga hindi nanalo at ginawa nila ang best nila. Iisa lang naman hangarin ng mga yan eh, ang umunlad ang pilipinas.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your youngest cat is the cute sleeper. Yes, sis, I noticed that she was sleeping happily. I also sis early I left home.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nagvote din po kayo sis?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish for the party came in to government to whom you have cast your precious vote. When I got my I'D card after that there are no elections held coz elections held here after every five year we will have elections next year i will cast my first vote of life. Hehehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. That's great to hear. In our country, freshly elected leaders will serve for a period of six years. Good luck with your vote next year.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope for a clean and peaceful one sis. At sana matigil na ang awayan dahil lang magkaiba ang kulay. Magkaisa para sa ikauunlad ng bayan:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True sis pero mukhang hindi ganon ang nangyayari. Mas lalong nag iinit ang mga tao sa social media. Hayst.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly sis, our family is what matters most and our differences in opinion and political leaders choices has nothing to do with our relationship with our families. We should embrace whoever wins and hope for the best leaders that is going to serve the people at their best.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree sis. I hope yun yung marealize nila. Na sana din huwag nadidisrespect ang mga magulang dahil lang sa magkaiba sila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! That's was quite fast with your voting. They didn't delayed time at all. If it were to be here they'd have started by 9:00am or so because it's kinda Normal to prolong or procastinate here

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We need to do it quickly because we want to know who the chosen candidate is or who wins the position. Hihi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Finally sis you cam call yourself a yrue citizen, yn sinsabi ng iba dibašŸ¤£

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha true sis. Feeling Filipino Citizen na me. Hhaa

$ 0.00
1 year ago